We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to fish and golf lovers!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Mbour
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to fish and golf lovers!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I visited Senegal with a couple of friends who adore both fishing and play golf. The Rhino is the place to stay for different reasons. For starters, it's strategic location. It is under 1km away from the golf course. An 18 hole golf course perfectly maintained!!

Second, the beach is walking distance and gives you the possibility to see the village at the same time. Fishing in Saly is great. Depends on the season, but you can fish +1meter marlins, tuna, and many others, and can even try bottom fishing.

Also did some jet skiing too. The hotel's reception, with Soda as the main reference, organized everything for us, which was a great relief since we didn't know anyone nor The French language.

To sum, great trip to a wonderful country and best stay at this daydream hotel!!

Room Tip: All of them are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael jr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    44
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
107
198
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Been there for just a few days but did enjoy the place and service. Staffs are incredibly friendly and professionals. The restaurant is so nice, it has a variety of Asian, African and Western cuisines. The bedroom was so amazing, it has a very good theme and decoration. The space is a plus. The spa is undoubtly spectacular, no wonder they say it's the best spa in Africa. Will definitely come back when got the chance! ....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaparou, Senegal
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Rhino is a superb small luxurious and most attractive Hotel with an outstanding Spa, which is admittedly rather more expensive than most of Saly's other hotel offerings - but it's worth it and the staff in all departments of the hotel are extremely professional and welcoming.
It's set in delightful spacious ultra-modern and well maintained aquatic courtyard and gardens and boasts its own little conference centre sited in a separate courtyard at the back adjacent to the restaurant.
The rooms are beautiful and each has its own original design theme.
I've eaten several times in the restaurant which features an open-plan visible kitchen and generally eaten pretty well (although I've once had one mediocre meal there and that was naturally a disappointment as it's not cheap).
I'd characterise the Rhino as an ideal "grown-ups" hotel. As the Rhino's location is downtown - and consequently not particularly close to Saly's beaches, it's perhaps not ideal for families with kids for a seaside holiday unless the kids are just happy by the hotel pool.
The Spa is one of the best I've ever visited and well deserves the awards it's been given.
For my money, all in all, the best place to stay and relax in Saly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa is relatively new and reasonably close to other places. It is a lovely, modern hotel with exceptional security. The staffs are very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of variety both hot, cold, Asian and western. The rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. Our bathroom was just more than words could tell and was quite a spacious bathroom space.

We were only there for 4 nights but would definitely recommend to others and stay there again ourselves if ever back in Senegal.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel the Rhino Resort & Spa Saly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clasiedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I, my husband and our 10 yr old kid enjoyed the splendid hospitality of The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa Saly. The rooms were beautiful and well kept. The Hotel is located close to the Bank, Arts Centre and quiet during the night. On our last night we enjoyed an incredible message from the management, there even arranged a wonderful Birthday Cake for my kid. OOOh Rhino just the best. The staffs are extremely professional and happy to help in any way possible. You can feel the genuine desire they have to make your experience positive and welcoming. We can't recommend this enough.

Room Tip: A truly fantastic experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreasladylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visited this hotel beginning of March while being on a promotion trip for accessible accommodation. This resort is marked at tripadvisor to be wheelchair accessible and as we found the reviews very positive we decided to treat us for a couple of days to this resort. So we called and made a reservation for an accessible room. However, once we arrived and checked into the room we were shocked: The toilet is not accessible for a wheelchair user! It is separate from teh bathroom in a separate room, where it is impossible to place a wheelchair next to, for easy transfer. As a five star resort we really think this is NOT ACCEPTABLE! Also the staff at front desk where pretty slow in assisting us to find another accommodation and once one room in a very badly rated hotel was found they thought their task done with. Unfortunately this is not the first time we find that wheelchair accessible signposted hotels are actually not and we also appeal to tripadvisor to try to find a solution for this problem as to a wheelchair user it is utmost important.

had phoned before to check in regards to the room availablity and made a reservation.

Room Tip: The room facing the pools seem nicest.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelchairtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just came back from Senegal and from the Rhino Resort after a week half holidays half business conference. My first plan was to spend 3 days in Saly because our company organized a meeting there, but after i saw the place i decided to take more 4 days for me to relax in such quiet place. I really enjoyed the SPA, the quality of the masages and the quality of the people there. The facilities are the best in Africa!! The restaurant is open in front of the swimming pool and the food is excelent and the prices resonable for a 5 stars hotel. The rooms are quiet and well decorated. The staff always smiling and they remember your name since you do the check in even the hotel was full. I'll come again for holidays as soon as i have the chance.

Room Tip: My room was 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbour hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#3 of 24 in Mbour
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royam Hotel
Royam Hotel
#4 of 24 in Mbour
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Saly Hotel
Le Saly Hotel
#9 of 24 in Mbour
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Keparanga
Hotel Keparanga
#10 of 24 in Mbour
80 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Keur Marrakis
Hotel Keur Marrakis
#11 of 24 in Mbour
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Flamboyants
Les Flamboyants
#22 of 24 in Mbour
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Rue du Karting s/n - Saly Tapee, Mbour 499, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mbour
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mbour
#2 Spa Hotel in Mbour
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa ***** is located in Saly (Senegal), a peaceful and friendly city full of tradition and exoticism. This five-star hotel has a highly trained staff that focuses on giving the guest the best experience possible. There are a total of 41 rooms, including 6 suites, spacious and elegantly and ethnically decorated. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, mini-bar, safe, telephone, free Wi-Fi Internet access and bathroom. The facilities include 2 stylish outdoor pools, a large terrace where to sit and relax, two gastronomic outdoor restaurants with buffet breakfast and a la carte meals, a cafe/bar with a large variety of drinks, a beauty salon with hairdressers, a state-of-the-art fitness center, a children's entertainment area, a tropical beach pool, and 2 highly equipped conference rooms with capacity for 250 people. Also, we are introducing a new Spa, the largest in West Africa, which offers a waterfall that throws 200,000 liters of water per hour, a hammam, Jacuzzis, and all kind of body and therapeutic massages and treatments. Nearby you can also reach many adventures such as tours on motor quads or buggies to the Reserve of Somone, Brousse, or the Exotic Bird's Park, ride horses on the beach, Jet Ski, play golf at Le Golf of Saly, or visit the wild fauna of the Reserve of Bandia. The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa is a distinguished hotel that is a relaxing paradise while allowing you to experience the adventure of authentic Africa and its culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa Senegal/Mbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing