We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azura Benguerra Island
Certificate of Excellence
witley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical, Perfection!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have never had such a perfect experience on holiday. Azura have got everything right, total luxury, the best service we have received anywhere in the world, michelin starred food every night - including a 7 course tasting menu and whole lobster for lunch (all as part of the all inclusive, not a buffet in sight!) Our host, Bela, looked after us so well catering for everything we needed and finding the perfect balance between friendly, personal and professional service. The island is so beautiful, the sand dunes, the blue sea, the amazing patterns and ever changing landscape caused by the tide going in and out and all the wildlife it brings down to the shore, the idyllic surrounding islands, the beautiful fish under the sea, the people who are so friendly and open and welcoming of all these strangers on their island. We even went to watch the Azura team play football against a team of locals and to visit the local school, Azura have worked so hard to integrate themselves into the Benguerra family and they are to be applauded for their charitable work and their ongoing plans to improve the standard of living - so for us living in such total luxury for a few days was balanced by knowing we had contributed to the charity.
All the rooms are private and well placed, it doesn't matter which one you get, the excursions are varied and perfectly thought out, we arrived on a deserted island to find a beautiful two course lunch, complete with sun loungers, umbrella, towels and a little garden built for us in the sand! Your host will make sure you have whatever drinks you want on all the trips and will set up breakfast, lunch or dinner for you pretty much anywhere you want, we never ate dinner in the same location and had breakfast brought to our terrace every morning. They provide everything you need so you can limit your packing, towels, hairdryers, cotton wool, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner etc.
I could talk forever about this place but I think the best thing I can say for people who are trying to choose where to go is that I spent a good few months deciding between islands and lodges and reading 100's of reviews and eventually I settled on Azura and we could not have been happier, it is total perfection - GO!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and very private, if you don't want a soul to pass your door and by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jo K,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Azura, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Azura wow experiences as we call them, the dining in a different location every night and the special picnic on the deserted beaches. Thank you for your support for the Azura football team too, although it is a small competition on the island it is taken very seriously by all players and our supporting guests are such a treat for the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future at Azura.

Warm regards,
Krista North
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    33
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
290
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed: Early August 2013
Reason: Honeymoon
Would I go back? Of course!! Maybe the hotter Spring or Summer months
In 2 words: Authentic. Adventure.

Azura is a bit of a paradox, in the most special, magical sense. It's a luxury Mozambican beach retreat where the sand and turquoise-tinged water offer a tempting place to lounge, relax and exhale, but it's when you step away from your private beach this amazing archipelago really opens up to you. When you finally leave, the land and locals will have charmed you to the point where all that's left to say is "obrigado."

When I decided to add a beach portion to the end of a 2-week African holiday, I thought, "I'm going to sit on the beach and do nothing..." I quickly learned that if you decided to do just that, you'd miss out on an incredible amount of authentic Mozambican experiences -- from the enormous dunes with jaw-dropping views, to the pristine coral reefs loaded with sea life. From the romantic dhow cruses with a sherbet-sunset backdrop, to the village excursions which educate you about the history of this magnificent island and the hard-working people. The less you do the more than you miss out on. The less people you interact with, the less you learn about the locals. You dive and dine, fly and float, climb, explore or just count the constellations... Let's be honest, you can sit a beach anywhere there is sand. It's easy to do, especially here in this tranquil and secluded setting. Azura's magic lies in the adventure.

Practice your Portuguese, and learn the game of "chuba" which you'll love playing in the Star Bar before or after a romantic and delicious dinner. Brush up on your astronomy because the Milky Way, Scorpio, and the Southern Cross will be waiting above you in the sky at midnight. Pack your map to decide which island to hop to next. Click-away with your camera when you reach the top of the dunes and soak in the 360-degree view of the archipelago. Take a deep breath to free-dive between a gap in the reef to get a closer look at the octopus.

And, when you're done exploring for the day, you can always retreat to your modern-yet-Mozambican villa.

I'd especially like to thank Faizel, Collette, Eric our island guide, and Prosper our host for making sure we had a fantastic trip every step of the way! Cheers to everyone at Azura, the staff and the locals... "obrigado"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEN_90291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista N, Director of Sales at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ben_90291,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Benguerra Island and the Bazaruto Archipelago are indeed magical places and there is so much to do and see, it is good to hear you have experienced it to the fullest!

We totally agree that you should come back in the near future and sincerely hope that you will. And on behalf of Faizel, Colette, Eric, Prosper and the rest of the team "de nada"!

Warm regards,

Krista North
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A beautiful location, lovely team, great food...I could go on. We stayed for 5 nights and were lucky with the weather for the most part given it was winter season. We booked a villa with an infinity pool - spacious, well laid out, outdoor shower, great maid service. The Azura team really make this place special. Ronaldo in particular ensured we had a wonderful and relaxing break but all the staff are genuinely warm and thoughtful. Do go to Paradise Island - apart from a great beach picnic, it was brilliant wandering around the abandoned hotel which was a magnet in the 50's/60's and frequented by Bob Dylan. You can almost hear the chink of champagne glasses as you walk through what was the restaurant.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edamame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Edamame

Thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Archipelago. Paradise Island is absolutely as magical as you described it and a place for the romantic at heart. We love it there too!

Ronaldo sends a big friendly hello. We all hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 4 days at Azura in May 2013 as a final leg of our African honeymoon, after tracking gorillas in Uganda and spending a few days at Serengeti in Tanzania. Our original plan was to stay at Benguerra Lodge nearby but after having spent there two or three days, we felt that it didn't live up to our expectations and we decided to move to Azura. It was definitely the right decision! Several days at Azura were by far the best beach holiday we've ever had (and we have traveled a lot!). Several things that are worth mentioning:
1. First and foremost - excellent service and superb staff. All the staff were exceptionally attentive and friendly. As it's such a small resort, you get to know the staff quite quickly and the atmosphere is great. Resort General Manager, Thomas, is a legend. He made us feel very welcome and made our experience at Azura simply unforgettable. Our host, Ronaldo, was also very friendly and professional.
2. Setting and accommodation - Azura has the most beautiful and exclusive setting. Although you see locals walking down the beach now and then (which makes the experience authentic), Azura setting definitely has that desert island feel to it. Accommodation is excellent - super comfortable and luxury. We stayed in an infinity beach villa which was fantastic and it felt very private. Huge and comfortable bed, luxury bathroom and wonderful outdoor showers.
3. Food - the choice for lunch and dinner is not big but that's what we liked about it - no need to waste time on making decisions. The quality of the food was outstanding. Beautiful seafood and superb French wine (the family that owns Azura has a vineyard in France). Even more importantly, the kitchen were very flexible and accommodating if we wanted to mix and match the menu choices. No horrible buffets - all super exclusive and personal.
4. Diving - my husband did a couple of dives and he was very impressed. The diving facilities were excellent and the dive master called Jason - very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRJardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MRJardine

How wonderful to hear from you and thank you for your kind review.

It was wonderful meeting you. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the end of your adventurous and romantic honeymoon with us.

We hope that the memories will last a lifetime. A mermaid on a dive – how special and even luckier that he has one at home.

Warm regards from all of us on the island!

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After a week's safari landed at Azura Benguerra Island and thrilled with the location, azura water of shades that I've never experienced and the beautiful white beaches. The villa and my sweet host, Sergio, made the locale idyllic. Island hopping, climbing sand dunes, hunting giant sand dollars called Pansies and a gorgeous picnic on a deserted beach created days to be rated in the top 10! Snorkeling was exquisite and the whale watching provided a show that shared too many whales to count.
The staff did everything to make all of us guests comfortable and well taken care of - truly lovely management team and supporting staff. The spa was to the highest standard with services to renew and revive and outdoor shower under the beautiful sky. Precious provided wonderful care at the spa.
Fantastic trip! Loved the location and the water, might try it during summer rather than winter, next time! Food was creative and beautifully presented - fabulous chef!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creatingjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Creatingjoy

Greetings from sunny Mozambique!

Thank you for this lovely review and for your time. It was wonderful to have you on the island with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Take care and Sergio says hello!

Warm Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have just spent 7 amazing days on this magnificent resort. Stunning surroundings and amazing staff. Everything you would want on your first visit to Mozambique. Every second night a surprise dinner and the food on the whole is amazing!!

Went out fishing and caught and amazing fish which the chef cooked to perfection. I'm sure the entire resort eat well that night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and if you are travelling with friend I would recommend the large villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Grant T

Thank you so much for the time taken to write this review.

It was super meeting you and hearing of all the wonderful places you have traveled. Remember you can always come and relax with us on the island after your next Southern Africa trip.

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 6 days on Benguerra Island and the location is absolutely stunning-crystal clear warm waters, empty beaches and relaxed beachfront villas complete with your own butler service. The helicopter flight to the hotel is breathtaking. The Presidential Villa offers complete privacy. The boat excursion to the neighbouring island was well worth doing-dolphins, sand dunes and a picnic all set up in adavance of you getting there. Only downside would be the overall standard of the cuisine which was perhpas not to the standard you would expect. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benguerra Island
11.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
19.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
22.9 mi away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azura Benguerra Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azura Benguerra Island

Property: Azura Benguerra Island
Address: Benguerra Island | Bazaruto Archipelago, Inhambane Province 1304, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Benguerra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azura Benguerra Island 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azura Benguerra, was built entirely by hand in partnership with the local community, it has just 20 villas, each sporting a personal infinity swimming pool, and spectacular beachside location, Azura offers an enchanting seaside escape. Spend sun-drenched days fishing, snorkelling or diving in protected reefs; watch the migrating whales and dolphins that ply these waters. Or relax on the beach and indulge in African spa treatments while a Mozambican Butler-host looks after your every need. The island's local people make for fascinating cultural encounters, and the starry night sky is magnificent to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Azura Benguerra Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azura Hotel Benguerra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing