We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azura Benguerra Island
Nearby Hotels
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sentidos Beach Retreat(Praia da Barra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barra Lodge(Inhambane Province)
Jeff's Palm Resort(Inhambane Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
394
35
18
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
35
18
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsazura benguerraour honeymoonprivate poolattention to detailpresidential villalocal communityhelicopter flightrainbow fundsunset cocktailsprivate butlerfishinfinity beachperfect endspecial experiencethe managersvilanculos airportbeautiful lodge
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 461 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The fabulous location, serenity and service make Azura incredibly special. It's a soothing place. The sea and stars surround you. We also headed out in a boat to see the reef and had the world's best picnic on a beach. All the staff are helpful and made every interaction a joy. We also really enjoyed visiting the school and soccer Azura supports on the island to promote the island community. We left utterly relaxed, awaiting a chance to return and feeling a good sense of connection to a most incredible part of Mozambique.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Sunny Greetings from Mozambique

Thank you for taking the time to review Azura Benguerra.

It’s wonderful that you enjoyed and experienced the magic of this beautiful island as much as we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our white sandy beaches in the near future or perhaps to gorgeous Quilalea Private Island.

Until we meet again!

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra Island
Bazaruto Archipelago
Mozambique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We began our honeymoon at azura and couldn't have asked for a better experience. From the moment we exited the helicopter which brought us to the island, we were greeted by the most helpful, attentive, and genuinely happy staff. The service, food, and resort accommodations were top class. The island hop tour is a must as you will dine on a private island, snorkel where you will see the most colorful fish and coral reef, and climb the most beautiful sand dunes. The local villagers who live on the island are some of the happiest people we have met in the world always smiling and saying hello. All of the staff from managers like faizel, jayson, and collette to our hosts Paulino and proper to Paulo who drove the boat and Barbara the massage therapist were the nicest individuals and a main contributor to the joy we had on the island. We would highly recommend this resort to anybody looking to relax and be pampered.
Stephen and Julie fox

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfoxny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Julie and Stephen

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Enjoy the rest of your honeymoon in Southern Africa. We trust you will have many beautiful memories to take home with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties in the near future!

Sunny Island Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In april 2013 we visited Azura for a stay of 4 nights, together with a group of friends. We had the pleasure to enjoy the hospitality of the staff of the presidential villa as well as the generall staff. They made us feel at home in a very personal way, so we left Azura with a lot of good memories. It was a memorable stay in which we have done a lot of activities, besides relaxing at our private plunge pool. We especially enjoyed diving & snorkeling at 2 Mile Reef whilst a few of our friends went deep sea fishing catching 4 big tuna. So that night we had sushi, sashimmi and tuna steak for dinner! In short, we went back to basics on bare feet in a luxury and hospitable lodge enjoying good food & fine wines. We will always remember the pristine white beaches, the diamond clear waters and the solid gold weather!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveluxurytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

For the second time in three years enjoyed a fantastic holiday at Azura on Benguerra island with a group of friends. We stayed in the PV of Azura. Absolutely fantastic! Extensive use is made of the possibilities Azura offers, such as snorkeling, a trip around the island, enjoyed a lunch at a luxury island, diving, dhow cruise and deep sea fishing for men.The host (Greg) was there when you needed him. Throughout Azura team made ​​sure you were actually on the most beautiful paradise on earth. feeling the azure blue sea. Food absoluty top and once again one after another surprise. In short, highly recommended for groups, but also a great romantic destination to visit for two!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalouIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After staying at Singita, we chose Azura for the last 4 days of our African holiday to relax. This involved a 4.30 am start for a 2 hour drive, flight from Nelspruit to Johannesburg, on to Vilanculos and a short helipcopter flight to Azura. Hopefully Thomas General Manager at Azura, will be successful in lobbying for the reintroduction of direct flights from Nelspruit to Vilanculos to cut down travel time after visiting Kruger. We had also been told a short time before we left home we needed a visa before entering Mozambique but found they are still issued to tourists at Vilanculos airport.
Surrounded by beautiful turquoise waters, this resort is gorgeous with very private villas, your own swimming pool and large indoor and outdoor showers. You have the choice of doing nothing or undertaking a number of activities including visits around the island and water activities. Our host/butler Greg looked after our every need, often appearing at our villa with the lunch menu and choosing a variety of lovely locations for dining. He provided great service and got to know our likes and dislikes very quickly. We both enjoyed a massage in the spa from Precious and Barbara. Thanks to Fazel the Guest Relations Manager, our flights were changed at the last minute to travel direct to Johannesburg rather than via Maputo. This resort was exactly what we needed after a busy month in Africa and we would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa No 15 which was very private
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdmknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Ben_90291

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review!

It warms my heart to know that you loved Mozambique so much and really saw the true beauty both in the people and in nature.

It was amazing to share this paradise with you. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews