We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$292
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samara Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Palmeiras Lodge(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mamma Mia Complexo(Vilanculos)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Jules(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
$83
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
405
84
28
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
84
28
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanantara bazarutoindigo bayhorse ridingdune boardingour honeymoonsand dunesisland resortfamily holidayscuba divingseafoodevery mealspent nightsdeep sea fishingwater skiingoutdoor showermile reefprawns
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 539 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2016 via mobile

My initial experience of this beautiful resort was a little mixed. However, the responsiveness and personalized care of the staff - especially the GM, Franco - turned my retreat into an amazing holiday.

Perfect location, luxury rooms, stunning beach, and a heavenly spa. I enjoyed dinner on the beach daily, with the chef offering the best of Mozambique. The visit to Paradise Island is a must!!

Highly recommended, and definitely worth a repeat visit.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
Thank ArchbishopP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bazaruto!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.

We are very glad to hear that even if the start of your vacation was not really well our staff have been able to recover and you enjoyed your vacation.

We really appreciate your comment about the SPA, the food and the service provided by our staff, to which we will convey your appreciation.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback, hoping to see you soon, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort.

Warm Regards,

Franco R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

It's heaven ... If you looking to relax neutral beauty .. Best place ever best holiday nice people delicious food great service lots of activities lots of fun coconut trees every ware amazing view up in the spa we did enjoy every moment there... Definitely we coming back

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank remosh0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bazaruto!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed your family vacation with us and we really appreciate your comment about the activities, the food and the service provided by our staff, to which we will convey your appreciation.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback, hoping to see you soon for more fishing, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort.

Warm Regards,

Franco R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Africa has a raw magic about it; it truly is a destination like no other, and Bazaruto seems to posses much of the magic that Africa has to offer: Turquoise Ocean, light golden, powder-soft beaches; which stretch for miles and are fringed with rugged vegetation; which provides much needed shade from the intense African sun. Ruby red and deep orange bougainvillea flowers are like little jewels amongst the vegetation and the Frangipani blossoms perfume the air. Mozambicans are superb hosts; they are gentle, friendly and genuine. Traits, which seem in complete contrast to what one experiences elsewhere in the world.

Anantara has taken this raw and rugged environment and refined it without losing the charm or soul; which is an impressive accomplishment. The beach-villas have timber frames, palm-leaf thatched roofs and outside showers. However, hidden beneath this exterior are western comforts, enabling one to escape the elements when they get too much. Also, linking the Villas to each other and to the main buildings is a web of well-maintained, wide, timber walkways, elevating one above the hard, spiky grass and inevitable nipping insects. It’s as if the Architects of this little peace of paradise listed all the possible negatives and incorporated the best solutions into their design.

Each night is a culinary delight. The tables are ladened with salads and vegetables, olives and breads, and chefs cook fresh seafood before you. The choices are endless. The flavour’s robust. The wine cold. Expect to spend the evenings sitting under the ceiling fans on the patio, or on the beach, chatting and eating the night away.

I inevitably seek out the Spa no matter where I go and Anantara Spa does not disappoint. It’s perched at the top of a hill and overlooks the resort, the beach and expansive ocean. I personally found the Thai theme a tad disappointing as it plays no part in the islands history and it just seemed completely out of context on an Island off the East Coast of Africa. This aside, I thoroughly enjoyed my treatment and above all I reveled in the surroundings. On New Years Eve we came to the spa to enjoy the view and watch the sunset - it was truly magnificent!

The negatives of Anantara are minimal but I believe need to be noted. The trip to Paradise Island is lovely however, the snorkeling was disappointing and we saw absolutely nothing in terms of marine life, other than a Jellyfish larger than my head which floated by, within inches of my face. The staff were wonderful and provided a memorable picnic of freshly cooked seafood and salad, which ended up being the highlight of our outing. Also, the internet; it boggles the mind at how slow it is.

Our whole family loved this holiday and would happily return to it again.

Tip: Getting there is an extremely long and laborious trip. Next time, I would fly directly from JHB to the island.

Room Tip: Choose a beach villa on the far end of the resort.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheSmithTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Smith Family,

Greetings from Bazaruto!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed your family vacation with us and we really appreciate your comment about the location, the food and the service provided by our staff, to which we will convey your appreciation.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback, hoping to see you soon for more fishing, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort.

Warm Regards,

Franco R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Came with very high expectations , but sadly disapointed. No lobster , lots of overcooked prawns. No dolphins, no turtles on paradise island trip. Trip cut short due to bad weather so we landed up getting 5 hours instead of 6 . Yes what can I say? Staff seem very demotivated. No pool service. Guys standing behind the club navel bar building on their cell phones while patrons are thirsty and sweating for a drink. Pool at club navel disgustingly dirty. Manager just looks on and no interaction with guests. Stunning location but wont be back in a hurry. I dont understand how they can achieve a 5 star rating. Sorry but this is all only my opinion.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
7  Thank Monses L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Dear Monses,

Greetings from Bazaruto!

Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time and effort to convey your impressions of your stay.

We apologize for not being able to meet your expectation this time. We are very sorry to read that you did not experienced the same warm and friendly service that many other guests have witnessed.

Please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and we have enforced the trainings in order to improve.

We are also sorry that you did not see turtles and dolphins during you trip to Paradise Island and that the weather during the last hour was bad but unfortunately we have no control on the marine fauna and the weather.

We apologize if management did not interact with you on daily basis due to the large number of guests present during the very busy period but we remember with pleasure the times that our managers has been in touch with you, such as during the special cheese & wine night.

We do hope to be honored with your return visit and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Franco R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Anantara. There are lots big positives and one small negatives and it really is small but worth noting.
Positives:
Absolutely beautiful spotlessly clean beach and warm clean water
The staff are fabulous. Professional, yet personal and just delightful
The rooms are large, spotless and have everything (and more) that you could want.
It is really big and although there were 96 people staying there when we were there, we hardly ever saw anyone unless it was a meal time.
The spa is world class.

Negative
There is an adults pool with an area to eat lunch and a kids pool on the other side of the resort. The adult pool was always full of kids and generally boisterous very noisy kids. Don't get me wrong, we love kids it's just that it completely changes the peaceful vibe of the area. As a result we spent all our time outside our room.

We hope to return one day and left with very fond and happy memories of the the country and the people.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VReuvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco R, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Dear Vic,

Greetings from Bazaruto!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed your vacation with us and we really appreciate your comment about the SPA and the service provided by our staff, to which we will convey your appreciation.

Please be assured that your comment about the adult pool has been duly noted and we will reinforce the controls and communication of the pool rules.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort.

Warm Regards,

Franco R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews