We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with a terrific spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A fifteen minute flight from Vilanculos and you`ll be in this lovely resort.

The staff - especially Roger - are really great, always smiling, polite and will go out of their way to help you. The accommodation is pretty cool too with a sunken bath, a lovely powerful shower, deck, hammock (on the edge of the beach) and very comfy bed.

The food was excellent, especially in the evening, with the BBQ`s on the beach making even more special.

There are plenty of activities available if you can pull yourself away from the two infinity pools or the warm sea, which is also quite shallow for a good way out. Definitely recommend a trip out to play on the sand dunes......you`ll soon find out how fit you're not whilst having a lot of fun!

Be prepared to leave here VERY relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthamptonSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a beautiful property right at Bazaruto Island. Lots of activities available and the food was great. We went scuba diving at Neptune's and 2-mile reef and both were spectacular! Anel, our dive master, was knowledgeable and Diogo was a great boat captain. Overall, after a whirlwind tour through Africa to Madagascar, South African safari, Victoria Falls, and Botswana, Indigo Bay was a great way to wind down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoGatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

An amazing location beautiful accommodation a really relaxing experience very highly recommended location. The beach lodges are fantastic and provide a private beach experience. We had 3 days here before a safari in Sabi Sabi. A great combination ... We will be back to Mozambique....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I visited Indigo Bay for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. The room was beautiful with a huge bath, outdoor shower (an indoor option as well), very comfortable super king size bed and well, everything you need and more. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool sampling the bar's different cocktails but there was also plenty of activities for when we wanted to be a bit more active. We particularly enjoyed the sunset dhow cruise (booze and chatter with other couples) and the paradise island day trip - I was fascinated by the tour of the derelict hotel there and I probably took more photos there than on the rest of our honeymoon! Snorkelling was also good fun - an awful lot of beautiful fish. We spent a lot of time (and money!) up at the spa and very much enjoyed a small sample of the vast range of treatments available. The meals were excellent, although I would have preferred a few more a la carte services rather than buffet and some variety at breakfast but still, a very good standard. Finally the service was exemplary throughout - no-one could ever do enough for us.

A once in a lifetime experience as part of our once in a lifetime honeymoon. Highly recommended to any other couples planning their special trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This has to be one of the best Hotels we have ever stayed at. Staff & facilities were top notch. It seems at this time of year it is not fully booked. Yes, we have experienced some rain but unless you want searing temperatures, many Mosquitos & many people then go for this time of year after your Safari. The all inclusive package includes many drinks (alcoholic) branded, variations on top quality food. The size of the Crayfish stunning soars the prawns & the beef. The staff could not be more helpful. At this time of year the ratio to guests & staff is roughly 7 to 1 ! The spa is brilliant & the out door activities whether on land or water were amazing, even horse riding was enjoyable! A real gem of a hotel & island. A likely return beckons 5 out of 5

Room Tip: Two bedroom room has wonderful views & a jacuzzi
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

About everything was perfect during our 5 day visit.The staff is well trained,food was perfect,chalets private and very looked after, the scenery beautifull,activitys nice to fill in your stay and everything well managed.We will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Beach Chalets to south more quiet but further to walk to main area.More south more private.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kougadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am not a big fan of big resorts - so Indigo Bay was a real delight as its small enough to feel personal and big enough to find spaces to be alone. Beautiful beyond words, cleverly laid out with incredible staff who always know what you are doing for the day - its an example of great management and a perfect location. You feel asif you have landed in a postcard of palms and warm blue ocean, and with your feet in the sand, you dine on prawns and crayfish with the lap of the ocean. Its ideal for honeymooners and kids- and not many resorts can say that! A highlight of our 3 week Moz experience and one we are already saving up to do again!

Room Tip: I love the casitas down on the beach rather than the villas high up on the hill.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bazaruto Island
19.1 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
216 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
79 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
92 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge All Inclusive
9.2 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort

Address: Inhambane Province, Mozambique (Formerly Indigo Bay Island Resort and Spa)
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Bazaruto Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Price Range: $824 - $1,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Bay Island Hotel Bazaruto Island
Indigo Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing