We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time of my life!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best time of my life!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was at Bazaruto Lodge last week at the same time as Megan and cant understand Megan's anger/ dissatisfaction..... The lodge was wonderful as always and service as impeccable - food was divine (could eat myself to death) and beaches were heavenly!

The weather played up a bit - but as always, weather is an 'act of God' and beyond the control of any human being or hotel staff member - but nothing in our holiday fell short because of this
I love the fact that the lodge has now gone AI on its meal plan - what value for money! The pristine beaches and prime location on the archipelago, for all types of water sports make Bazaruto Lodge THE spot to be on.
My husband caught quite a few good fish even though the weather wasnt too good, and we thoroughly enjoyed the excursions to Paradise island - and the pampering at the Spa!

Loved every minute, regret not booking a longer stay!!
Definely back for Xmas and New Year - cant wait !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I looked so forward to a romantic getaway...but boy were we dissappointed. This is no exaggeration and understandibly unbelievable to most people, but this is our experience and we are hoping that no one ever has to have the same.
This hotel has been neglected in every area. From stained bed linen and towels all with holes in. Broken furniture in our room and throughout hotel. Broken toilet and tap in our room. The bar ran out of drinks to make certain cocktails, beer was warm daily, coffee machine broken. The food was pure army food. From biltong dry prawns to sand in rice and puddings. Steak as tough as leather, old veges in salads...there speciality is recycling the previous days food for the next day! Used sanitary pads and rubbish not even 20 metres from hotel..never mind the SMELL. The beaches had so much litter, we saw more washed up plastic than shells. Hasseled daily by locals while lying on beach. I cannot explain the sadness we feel and dissappointment of spending over R60 000 on this holiday. 4 other couples that we met on this trip had exactly the same experience with us and we will all be making formal complaints. The only highlight was our trip to Paradise Island to go snorkeing-it was amazing and the sand strip to fish from, where we found pansy shells in abundance. 4 Star hotel? 2 Star is more like it!

Room Tip: Pictures are deceiving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank megan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Back to Bazaruto Lodge again, I found the lodge and setting continues to live up to my expectations.Staff wonderfully attentive as always. A special treat at this time of year is the presence of hundreds of flamingos in the bay in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Near to the reception area with a sea view gives good access to the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although regular travelers to Mozambique, this was our first trip to Bazaruto Lodge, staying on the island for 5 nights. When arriving at Vilanculous, my wife got onto the "funny looking" little plane (ZS-BLV) with some reservation, but all this was forgotten the minute we took off and headed over the Indian Ocean toward Bazaruto Island. The view and deap blue ocean is hard to describe to those that have not undertaken this trip.

From the moment we landed on the airstrip close to the lodge, we sensed that this was going to be an awesome trip. The staff were magnificent and Tony (General Manager) needs to be complimented in the way the resort is managed, which is also manifested through the friendly and helpful staff team. It is difficult to single out anybody in particular as, from top management down to the cleaning/service staff, we were made to feel very special at all times.

The food was incredible and, being seafood fanatics, my wife and I could not get enough of the (always fresh) stuff. Having said that, there was alway sufficient variation to cater for those that preferred beef, chicken, pasta, vegetarian, etc.

The weather was perfect except for the last day when it became a bit windy, but still did not deter me from going out to sea with one of the lodge boats.

Some of the highlights for us:

* Charter flight from Vilanculous to the lodge
* Fishing - thanks to the expert assistance of Alex and Patricio, I was able to land a rather large King Mackerel which almost won the fight!
* Victoria and Jose, who made us feel so special during dinner time.
* Tranqulity of the island and ample opportunity to go for walks. The walk up to the light house is a must, tests your energy levels somewhat, but just be sure to take some water along, as it is about a 2-hour round trip.

It was with sadness that we left the island yesterday and my wife and I arrived home in South Africa feeling that part of us was left behind on Bazaruto. We are already planning our next trip to coincide with our 35th wedding anniversary!

Lastly, being the type of person that I am, I did look at most of the trip reviews submitted by travelers before we departed to Bazaruto, mainly to understand what to prepare for (positively or negatively). Without referring to any specific negative responses, all I can say is that during the 5 days we were at Pestana Bazaruto, none of these were evident to us.

Room Tip: Superior suites with direct beach/bay access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spend four days in the Pestana Bazaruto Lodge. The beach cabins are wonderful: close to the beach, very clean, beautiful outdoor shower, our own beach chairs...
The staff was excellent: everything you ask, is done with a smile.
The food was excellent too: a wide variety for breakfast (cereals, pancakes, waffles, yoghurt, toast...) and a choice for lunch and dinner.
If you look for peace and quiet, this is the place to be. Recommended are a trip to Paradise Island, snorkling, a day of sunbathing in Dolphin Bay (only 10 minutes walking from the resort).
We had a great (romantic) time on the island.

Room Tip: Take a room close to the beach !!!!! It will cost more, but it is definitely worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FBrackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Bazaruto island is a magical paradise, away from the crowds. The location is absolute paradise, not to mention the amazing flight to get there. Unfortunately the hotel itself is a bit disappointing in terms of value for money. You don’t get better rooms in terms of location. However the food is average to not great. Buffet meals that are very bland. In terms of activities there is not much to do. At the price of the hotel you would think they would add some hobbycats, windsurfing etc. They only provide two paddles. If you are keen for snorkelling and diving the area has the most amazing coral reefs. A good holiday to get away from the crowds just don’t have big expectations.

Room Tip: Chose a bungalow on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is on the wonderful Bazaruto paradise islands. If you have the time and money, this is a real treat.

Expect a spacious and luxurious room, large 4 poster bed (and mosquito net) with an outdoor shower and indoor bath. The room is very clean and high quality and the maids prepare the room every morning and evening.

The hotel has a non-pretentious feel to it. Staff are friendly and polite but sometimes struggled with English which led to a few incidences of miscommunication.

A variety of good (but not amazing) food is available on the buffet. The hotel chef was very good at catering for dietary requirements which did not fit into the original buffet menu. The chef discussed my requirements with me and prepared a special dish for me every day, which I really appreciated.

I would definitely recommend a full all inclusive option as there are no alternative eating/ drinking options on the island.

By staying at this resort, you have access to endless secluded beaches. There is a lot of space within and around the resort to relax and it is very safe to explore around. The hotel has a good relationship with the communities nearby and works with them on specific development projects (although they do very little to communicate this to the guests).

The hotel offers a few excursions. I strongly recommend hiring a boat for at least a few hours, to visit Paradise Island for snorkelling and to swim with dolphins and watch the sunset. If you can afford to hire your own boat, the experience is even more magical.

Finally, the flight into the resort is priceless. A true realisation of the surreal beauty of the Bazaruto Islands.

A wonderful treat for a family/couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bazaruto Island
13.8 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
447 reviews
22.9 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
416 reviews
23.5 mi away
andBeyond Benguerra Island
andBeyond Benguerra Island
#2 of 2 in Benguerra Island
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Jules
Casa Jules
#2 of 9 in Vilanculos
75 reviews
23.6 mi away
Marimba Secret Gardens
Marimba Secret Gardens
#6 of 25 in Vilanculos
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Bazaruto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bazaruto Lodge

Property: Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Address: Bazaruto Archipelago | Bazaruto Island, Inhambane Province 4376, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Bazaruto Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bazaruto Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Bazaruto Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bazaruto Hotel Bazaruto Island
Pestana Bazaruto Island Hotel
Pestana Hotel Bazaruto Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing