We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Country Outing”

Brown's Berry Patch
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Waterport
Attraction details
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute Country Outing”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I haven't been here in a little bit but I love this place! It's cute and lot's of fun for kids (and grown ups). This is a great place to visit in the fall!

Helpful?
Thank hoodswigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ehhh...There are others that are better!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As with David P I agree weighing and ice cream cone is absolutely ridiculous. I remember the days the lines were long and you received a substantially larger "small" cone...people were happy! Not much of that anymore. The are over priced and have gotten greedy over the years.

The petting zoo and kids play area are nice, but they too are a bit pricey. It's a great experience for younger children.

Overall I can think of 5 other places to take my kids in the Rochester area that have fruit picking, petting zoos, and much more that cost a whole heck of a lot less and provide much more. If you want to take a drive out to the country it's a pretty drive along the lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PunkyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long Lines”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Weighing a ice cream cones... Are you kidding me. I had to wait almost a half hour and even then the lines were not that long. Causing huge lines... How cheap!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brown's Berry Patch has been berry good to me”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Though it's becoming more and more touristy (more gift shop, toys, jams, fudge and less produce) and now pricey for the Barnyard Adventure for the little ones (is it due to insurance/litigation??) Browns still offer the best in pick-your-own berries. I can return to my rural roots for an afternoon of picking blueberries or cherries. My family has been coming to Brown's since I was a little tyke buying cherries and strawberries at the Brown house. How things have changed! After strolling through the orchards or boating in the nearby Oak Orchard Creek/River (used to be called a creek but got an image upgrade) it's nice to sit in the rocking chairs enjoying ice-cream. It's a well-run farm with things to see and do, have a lunch, etc. Located half-way between Rochester and Niagara Falls on Rt. 18 it is a nice stop on your way home from a daytrip. By the way Route 18 is the scenic drive to Niagara Falls so get off the Thruway and enjoy the lakeside scenery. You may even see an Amish horse & buggy along the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdvelVairak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Family goodness”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We typically go to Brown's 3 or 4 times a year and it's always a good time. First stop is in June to pick strawberries, then we usually stop by around July 4 for cherries and raspberries and blueberries then in the fall for apples and pumpkins. The pick your own prices are reasonable, the farm is setup so that everything is close at hand. Even grandma likes to come to pick her own fruit. There is a play area (small fee involved) for the kids with a sanbox, a jumping pillow (think large trampoline), a rop maze and a small petting zoo. My kids always enjoy themselves here, both picking and playing. In the summer there is a grill and top notch ice cream. Of course the farm has a store so if you don't want to pick your own you can always pick up freshly picked baskets here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank danrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Berry Patch also viewed

Been to Brown's Berry Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing