We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Book In Advance
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Imlil Valley including Guided Hike and Lunch from...
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My first high trek. Couldn't have done it without the help of our wonderful guide Ahmed. Very hard, tiring climb but well worth it. The views on route and at the top simply take your breath away. If you plan to stay at refuge it is advisable to take some earplugs if you want to get some sleep before your ascent to summit. Warm clothes and a hat are a necessity as it can be very windy. If you use walking poles, you may need gloves. There is ice as you get higher. Need care on descent, lots of loose stones and scree. Our chef (also called Ahemed) did a great job ensuring we were adequately fed throughout our trip. I must also give a mention to Monica, our mule. She like all the other mules on the mountain do a fantastic job!

Visited October 2013
1 Thank Eileen052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nice trek”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

the track rather stony with shrubs and short grasses.
at the start of the trek, there is a village Amed. behind Amed there is an orchard. at the back of the orchard on a small hillock, there is a gurgling brook and cascades over rocks and stones amidst trees and flowering bushes. great place to take a rest and have a meal.

Visited August 2013
1 Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very hard climb which knocks the spots off the stroll in the park that is Kilimanjaro. Tough but exhilarating when you reach the top.

Visited September 2013
Thank CardiffSkiMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard but worth it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a 3 day trek which included a climb to the top of toubkal. Our guide Brahim from trek toubkal / natur-atlas was great and the accommodation and meals served before during and after any of the trekking were perfect and actually as good if not better than some of the traditional morrocon meals we had eaten in the city.

The first day trekking was relatively ok but the surroundings were beautiful and the company good with the route taking us from Imlil up to the Toubkal retreat at around 3300m. The second day was hard as we walked from retreat, to summit, to retreat to Imlil but absolutely worth it when we reached the summit and the sun was shinning! There was a great atmosphere at the summit and one which i won't forget in a long time.

I would recommend climbing mount Toubkal to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness and a will to get to the top.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank Blyth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

thx for sharing ur experince , i want to go to this place at middle of october . i wonder if any one .
.went in this time of the year! how was the weather
also i kind of feel scared when i have to walk in a narrow high palce with an edge of high palce
so it will be like this??
and do i have to climb alot?

Visited September 2013
Thank shroukfahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing