We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.44*
and up
Small-Group Mount Toubkal Day Trip from Marrakech
More Info
$71.71*
and up
4x4 Day Trip to the Atlas Mountains from Marrakech
More Info
$143.42*
and up
Three-Valley Day Trip with Lunch from Marrakech
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very hard climb which knocks the spots off the stroll in the park that is Kilimanjaro. Tough but exhilarating when you reach the top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CardiffSkiMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    95
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard but worth it!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a 3 day trek which included a climb to the top of toubkal. Our guide Brahim from trek toubkal / natur-atlas was great and the accommodation and meals served before during and after any of the trekking were perfect and actually as good if not better than some of the traditional morrocon meals we had eaten in the city.

The first day trekking was relatively ok but the surroundings were beautiful and the company good with the route taking us from Imlil up to the Toubkal retreat at around 3300m. The second day was hard as we walked from retreat, to summit, to retreat to Imlil but absolutely worth it when we reached the summit and the sun was shinning! There was a great atmosphere at the summit and one which i won't forget in a long time.

I would recommend climbing mount Toubkal to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness and a will to get to the top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blyth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
1 review
“Q”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

thx for sharing ur experince , i want to go to this place at middle of october . i wonder if any one .
.went in this time of the year! how was the weather
also i kind of feel scared when i have to walk in a narrow high palce with an edge of high palce
so it will be like this??
and do i have to climb alot?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shroukfahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highest Mountain in North Africa”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The views from the top are incredible though the climb is a bit strenuous, especially for those who aren't in amazing shape. I wish the trails had been better marked from the refuge up to the top but otherwise the hike from Imlil to the refuge is beautiful and easy to follow.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VBMarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tough one day hike. Poorly signed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did the Toubkal hike in a day which is not what most people do. Above the refuge, there is poor signage to summit the mountain. I almost think it is punishment for not using a guide. If you have hiked in Colorado, it will feel much the same.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CountinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Ourika, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing