We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“trek on Mount Toubkal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Book In Advance
$92*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Imlil Valley including Guided Hike and Lunch from...
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“trek on Mount Toubkal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we went with a group called Exodus, and they arranged that all guides and all the camping equipment were provided.our main guide and tour manager was Mohamed Maachou from active treks Morocco who was excellent.the views were magnificent as we checked around and up the mountain and we were favoured with beautiful sunny days for all the days we were on our holiday. You should be aware that on the mountain it gets cold at night even in May. A grade 4 sleeping bag is a must.you must also realise that toilet facilities are very basic basically a small hole in the ground.the final 1300 m up the mountain is over rocky scree that is done slowly though one needs to be reasonably fit you don't need to be a real carrying mountaineer

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 415andy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    78
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My first ascent after knee surgery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great non-technical trek with some snow slopes, crampons up, slide down. Very professional guide provided by the local tourist office, but if you are healthy and experienced you can do without. Refuge is clean and comfortable, just don't get stuck in the dorm room with school kids (we were lucky)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience with " Trekaumaroc.Net"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best Place to stay in Morocco and His Berber Villages
My husband and I spent 6 days in the Atlas mountains, including an ascent of Toubkal,
We arranged the whole trip via email with Ahmed, who was very quick to respond to all my questions.
at the start of our trip in Imlil, Ahmed gave us plenty of excellent advice and assistance (arranging mules, muleteers & porters etc
I would really recommend trekkinginmorocco.net and would certainly use them if we go back to Morocco - thanks guys!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“one of the easiest 4000m hike you can find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You almost can climb till the top without special equipment and guide. The path from Imlil is an easy 4-5hrs walk till the refuge. From the refuge it takes another 3-4 hours to the top through the small glacier. Spikes are needed to climb the last 800m to the peak. Better to climb the last part early in the morning before the sun rise up so to be in the shadow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Uphill all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery is worth any discomfort to get there, We had a local guide to take us on a mornings walk and since this Morocco you get used to the unusual. In this case a shop selling all manner of touristy articles on the side of a track that couldn't have had more than 40 people passing it on a good day. As I say in the title, you seem to spend all your time walking uphill, but I am retired and not really the best person to discuss serious walking or climbing

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Boumalne Dades, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing