We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uphill all the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil | National Park of Toubkal, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$90*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Imlil Valley including Guided Hike and Lunch from...
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Uphill all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery is worth any discomfort to get there, We had a local guide to take us on a mornings walk and since this Morocco you get used to the unusual. In this case a shop selling all manner of touristy articles on the side of a track that couldn't have had more than 40 people passing it on a good day. As I say in the title, you seem to spend all your time walking uphill, but I am retired and not really the best person to discuss serious walking or climbing

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    77
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Rachid a brilliant guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great guide, good weather and food. Kind Berber people. Interesting and varied landscape.
Strong winds and cold in the mountains which did not affect too much on ascending Toubkal and Ouanoukrim.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MorfuddT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great 2-day trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great experience trekking up to the summit of Mt Toubkal and back. All handled very smoothly by Ahmed. Assan, our guide was very patient with us. Everyone involved was very friendly.
The trip was beautiful, the sky was blue, the hills were steep - rather steeper than expected, but it was great.
Our trip was arranged through Ahmed from Dar Tighoula in Imlil,
Would definitely recommend.
As I would recommend his beautiful guest house Dar Tighoula in Imlil. Thanks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mathieuT412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have now climbed Mt Toubkal to many times to remember, Toubkal has to be one of my favourate mountain treks in the world and most cetainly the best in Morocco, Personally I prefer winter or spring to trek.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccanAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Almost got there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Walked up to the foot of Toubkal in February 2013. Very hot and sunny, we took down jackets and lots of kit but only needed at night. Having said that people we spoke to had been in snow 1 week earlier. Fantastic walking, keep within your comfort zone probably great in the summer months but caution needed in winter months.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing