We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special hotel in the mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Du Toubkal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imlil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Du Toubkal
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
331 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very special hotel in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two night and had a magical time. Hotel picked us up in Casablanca and drive us to Imlil. We were met by a guide who walked us the hill to the hotel (with our luggage on a mule!). The staffing was charming and very helpful. The food was good and the common space was lovely. The hotel room was simple but very nice. Our view of the mountain was amazing. The hotel provided a free guide on the mountain for the morning. We had a great time that was very unique! Worth the trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nycfamilyt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    125
    37
    22
    9
See reviews for
96
300
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We started our trip to Morroco with a 3 night stay at the Kasbah du Toubkal.
Although only 40 miles from Marrakech it felt like anothe world. Everything that we needed was provided - down to straw hats and warm shawls to wear in the evening. Our room was very comfortable and attractively furnished - beautiful wooden chairs and granite surround bath/ basins with fossils in them. Fantastic views from our balcony and from everywhere in the Kasbah.
The staff were, without exception welcoming, very helpful and hospitable. Our transfer from Marrakech and guides for trekking were all arranged and everything ran smoothly.
The whole philosophy behind the Kasbah and the connection with the local community really seems to work.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHelen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We did a day trip organized directly through the Kasbah and it was one of the highlights of our Moroccan vacation. Everything was perfect, great driver, excellent trek guide and superb food in the Kasbah, our finest tagine during the Morocco trip and perhaps the most spectacular (setting) meal. The Berber villages were spectacular and the local people very friendly.
The folks running the Kasbah are extremely hospitable and nice. They are really running a charity and it shows- money and selling stuff is not on their minds.
Strongly recommended.
See my trip report in the Morocco forum.

Room Tip: We did not stay here and the sleep quality rating above was accidental. However, we toured the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We have been here three times now and every time has been really great. The people who run it are wonderfully welcoming and it is a great place to disconnect from the outside world. Food and accommodation are decent quality but simple - no TVs, no bar (you can bring your own alcohol if you want). There are some great walks around the mountains surrounding the Kasbah of different lengths from an hour to five days, including of course the trek to the top of Toubkal itself (4100m altitude starting from 1500m and staying over one night). It is also a great place to relax and enjoy the views of the snow capped mountains. Only an hour and a half from Marrakech so can be visited on a day trip but it is well worth a couple of nights to enjoy the walking and scenery.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a two night stay as part of our tour. Access is by mule or a hike up an uneven(in parts) track with luggage by mule. An experience depending on your taste.The hotel has developed in size over a number of years with all sorts of odd rooms. Our de luxe room was down steps and although large it was spartan and very gloomy. It was cold and heating was by a single electric radiator. None in the bathroom. Bed was uncomfortable. Meals were served at very low tables and tiny stools were provided for those unlucky enough to miss out on the padded benches. Food was Moroccan and very average.Staff were efficient but there are no frills here if you exclude the hot water bottles! Some people will find this place charming but it was not to our taste notwithstanding its cultural ambitions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Spectacular location. Highlights, however, were the people running the Kasbah and the trek to the lodge in the next valley. The Berbers are friendly and welcoming and like to have fun. Special mentions to Lahcen, Abdul, Mohamed and Omar at the Kasbah along with Mohamed at the trekking lodge. The guide we had, a young guy called Abdul (Abdeslam Maachou), was a fantastic source of information and a great advert for the Berber culture of friendship and hospitality. We visited 5 years ago for a couple of nights, 6 nights this time and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianAardvark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great views, friendly staff, and excellent story. Please read about what they are doing for the community. It will make you feel good for staying there. They have the right formula of rustic and luxury for the area. Having to load your bags onto a mule for the short walk to the Kasbah added to the adventure. We went for a great hike, the staff packed a lunch for us, and pointed us in the right direction. Don't forget to bring your own wine from a city if choose; they are BYOB.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlil
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.6 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.2 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riad Jnane Imlil
Riad Jnane Imlil
#1 of 38 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Atlas Prestige
Riad Atlas Prestige
#2 of 38 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Du Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Du Toubkal

Property: Kasbah Du Toubkal
Address: Toubkal National Park | Archain, Imlil 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasbah Du Toubkal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Toubkal National Park, in true Berber country, there exists a sublime haven of peace, nestling in the imposing mountain scenery. Located in a stunning natural environment, Kasbah Du Toubkal is truly unique. Formerly the summer house of a feudal caïd (local baron), it has been restored using traditional Berber techniques by the inhabitants of the surrounding villages and is now Morocco's premier mountain retreat. It has 12 en-suite rooms and 2 suites. There is also some group / family accommodation. In 2015 the Kasbah Du Toubkal became a founding member of the National Geographic Unique Lodges of the World. The Kasbah Du Toubkal does not serve alcohol but guests may bring their own. There is no road access to the Kasbah Du Toubkal the journey is about 15 minutes either on foot or by mule. The Village Reception is in the centre of Imlil ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Du Toubkal Imlil
Kasbah Du Toubkal Hotel Imlil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing