We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We came here as part of an organised tour, for a few hours.

We were made to feel very welcome, shown around the lodge and then relaxed on the balcony whilst lunch was being prepared.
We got to experience the tea ceremony which was good, we ate lunch indoors which was very nice, then had fruit back out on the terrace whilst chatting and taking in the amazing views!
As we made our way back down to the car, we even got to pick our own fresh cherries to take away with us.

It's great to be able to do something like this and escape the 'city' madness for a while and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAX1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
32
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Lachen & Houssain, and little Youssef were our hosts for the day, at the foot of the High Atlas mountains in the Berber village of Imlil...they were going to teach my husband (a chef de cusine) how to cook an authentic tagine and couscous...as well as teach me to make real mint moroccan tea...all of it exceeded our expectations because they are so friendly and accessible that we thought we were amongst family! They treated us like family and that is the best thing I can say about anyone whenever we travel. Morocco is a wonderful place for tourists because they understand what tourists want and they try very hard to make sure all of us are pleased. The cooking went splendidly well, and the food was amazing! Perhaps the best tagine we've tasted in Morocco. It's the hospitality that makes the difference and Lachen understands this, so does his brother Houssain, and even little Youssef, with whom we fell in love! We went with our little daughter 6yrs old and she LOVED IT...would do it again in a heartbeat, and plan on staying there overnight!

Room Tip: Any room at Lachen's house is fine. Ask to see their animals downstairs...we did, and we tried t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a good time with lacen and everything seemed really authentic. Great food (the best we had in marroko) and nice & clean rooms. It was one of our best days in Morocco. Hopefully we will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyuss_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were a group of three and really enjoyed our night at the Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge. Within 15 minutes walking distance to the center of Imlil the lodge is located at the Southern foot of the mountains (which means sun as long as possible, considered the location in the valley). Our sleeping room was comfy and clean as well as the living room. The toilet was one of the most comfortable ones we saw during our whole 3-week-trip, so no worries about that. And then there was this amazing terrace with a nice view to the town of Imlil and the 4000ers.
What makes your experience really authentic and special is the original neighborhood. By chance we even could use a really simple and small but authentic Hammam (=public bathroom) within some 50 metres walking distance... an experience I'll never forget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr-mezzoshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

One of our best nights on our 10 day tour of morocco was with lahcen and his brother in their house in imlil. Really enjoyed the berber tea demonstration, ate far too much food for dinner as it was so delicious and the breakfast on the terrace outside in the morning was great too. Only wished we could have stayed longer. Will certanily recommend you to our friends who are visiting next week! Thanks so much for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in their double room which was very comfortable and had good view over mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteadyEddieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited the Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge during a day trip to the High Atlas from Marrakesh. We were greeted by Lahcen Igdem and warmly welcomed into his home. On the terrace, in blazing sunshine, we enjoyed the stunning view of the village, mountains and valley. With a great sense of humour we were shown the traditional way to greet a visitor and make mint tea.

The meal of a beautiful salad, bread and the tastiest tagine of chicken, vegetables and couscous was the best we had the whole of our holiday. It was served in Lahcen's beautifully decorated guest lounge and his hospitality was second to none.

I was invited to sit with the ladies of the household where we teased wool, 'chatted', sang and watched the children playing - a real privilege.

Before leaving Lahcen showed us the very comfortable rooms he has available for guests to stay in. For a longer stay in the mountains it would be hard to find a more accommodating and genial host.

It was a memorable visit and we are very grateful to Lahcan and his family for their warmth and generosity.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay overnight we were shown the guest rooms and accommodation which looked v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

One of the best parts of our trip in Morroco. Igdem's hospitality made us feel like home. Amazing view of Imlil and cosy atmosphere in the house. Excelent dinner near the fireplace. Recommended if you want to relax and enjoy the nature!
http://www.authentictoubkallodge.com/

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evaberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlilauthentic t, Owner at Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Beri,
Thank you so much for your great review & i appreciate your efforts posting such a wonderful review ..
You are more than welcome to Morocco again and hope to see you again in another memorable experience & You are more invited to our home stay in high atlas mountains whenever you would like to come back ..

Lahcen Igdem & all family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlil
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
6.4 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jnane Imlil
Riad Jnane Imlil
#1 of 39 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Atlas Prestige
Riad Atlas Prestige
#2 of 39 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge

Property: Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge
Address: Village Arghen Imlil BP 43, Poste Asni Par Marrakech, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge is a traditional Berber house situated in the heart of the village Arghan, perched above Imlil. The Lodge has four dormitories decorated in the style of the region. We provide an ample breakfast on the balcony that looks south towards the Toubkal Massif. Hot showers and mint tea will restore you after your excursions and in the evenings. The Lodge is ideally located for hiking in the surrounding valleys and summiting mountain peaks including the famous Jebel Toubkal. We do not have sherpas here in Morocco, but muleteers with their mules will take care of your heavy rucksacks. Whether you want to rest and relax during your stay or discover the mountains by foot, we are here to provide you with all the information you need and welcome you with our Berber hospitality. Are you looking for: An authentic mountain home stay? Explore the really Moroccan Berber hospitality with local Berbers? Learn how to make Moroccan food (tea ceremony + main dishes, etc..)? Learn how traditional rugs are made? Meet local Berbers? Bread making? Wishing you a very good trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imlil Authentic Toubkal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing