We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views and service”
Review of Imlil Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imlil Lodge
Ranked #4 of 39 Imlil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Views and service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Splendid views from balcony and delightful location to experience Berber villages and local life.
A great drive through mountains to get there. Charming village and super walks in local area.. Stay a minimum of two or three days. Service was great and Abdul really wanted to please and make you very welcome. Breakfast and the view was a feast for the eye. A great start for a day. Thank you both for lovely dinner and hospitality.
from Australia

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
51
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were so well looked after by Jamal and his staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they help with walks, treks and taxis to and from Imlil too. From the roof terrace the view is stunning, and the rooms are lovely with very comfy beds. It's not quite in Imlil itself, so be prepared for a 15 minute walk up and down the hill. Also the weather can be unpredictable, so take warm clothes and waterproofs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robincatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Imlil Lodge is a little way outside the village of Imlil, higher up the hillside, so is very well placed for walking and viewing the mountains. (It is important however to get your taxi to take you right up to the Lodge in Tamatert rather than dropping you in imlil as ours did!) The food and hospitality was excellent and Abdoul cooked some of the best food we had in Morocco - it is certainly worth eating in the Lodge, especially as the alternatives available in Imlil are pretty dismal. The Lodge is a perhaps rather rapidly built new build, which did feel a little like staying in a set from 'Changing Rooms' when someone was doing a Moroccan makeover in a weekend, but it was spacious and comfortable. Jamal was really helpful and interesting to talk to, and organised a fantastic half day walk with a mule, which was a highlight of the holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Imlil Lodge - its run by Jamal Imerhane who also runs Toubkhal guides. They haven't been open for long, but focus on providing a good service. Jamal met with us each night to explain our hiking routes and check on our experience - I can't imagine he can do this all the time but it was extremely considerate. We arranged transportation to and from the Imlil Lodge with them, which was both reasonably priced and a good stroke of luck. My girlfriend left our camera in the car on our return to Marrakech, we called Jamal and had it returned to us in an hour by our driver. Fantastic service.

The meals are excellent. Dinner is reasonably priced at 10 euro for a generous traditional Moroccan dinner - lemon, olive chicken tangine one night and a couscous lamb dinner on the 2nd night (with delicious local squashes).

The view is nice and if you're ambitious I recommend both staying up late to watch the milky way/stars and getting up early to catch sunrise on the peaks (you have to do a bit of a hike to get to a great view).

Oh and if you want a massage/hammam experience, then arrange it in advance. They have an arrangement with a neighboring resort which is adjacent to their lodge.

Oh and I accidentally clicked on fitness center/swimming pool in my ratings below. They do not have these (to my knowledge) and I don't know how to un-click them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Jamal is very efficient and very helpful. He will organise anything you want. The lodge is comfortable and the staff lovely. We had a three hour trek with a donkey for the kids which was wonderful. The views from the roof terrace are wonderful and I could of happily chilled out there for a few days after the mini trek. However we had snow and hail at the beginning of April and imlil itself is pretty uninspiring so apart from trek there was nothing much to do. Also be warned lodge is a good mile from imlil up a steep incline. Take lots of warm clothes and waterproofs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoginiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a great time at Imlil Lodge for 3 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was great and there was lots of it! The lodge is in a great location, with lovely views to the mountains and back down into Imlil. I preferred being up here, it's quieter than down in the village. Jamal English is very good and he offered very good advice on local matters, he also recommended me an excellent Riad in Marrakech which I used on my return to the city. The rooms are very pretty and of traditional Berber design, certainly no problems with anything in my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a really nice relaxing and quiet evening at the Imlil Lodge prior to our trek to the summit of Mount Toubkal. More food than we could eat and on the morning of the trek, a nice breakfast to start. Many thanks for your hospitality Jamal

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imlil hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auberge Atlas Tichka
Auberge Atlas Tichka
#1 of 1 in Aroumd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Jnane Imlil
Riad Jnane Imlil
#1 of 39 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Atlas Prestige
Riad Atlas Prestige
#2 of 39 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Atlas Toubkal
Riad Atlas Toubkal
#9 of 39 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Oussagou
Riad Oussagou
#5 of 39 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlil Lodge

Property: Imlil Lodge
Address: Douar Tamaterte, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To enter Imlil Lodge is to step into a fanciful and enchanting dreamscape. Newly opened,Imlil lodge makes use of a fabulous array of locally sourced materials to create an eclectic and yet overwhelmingly restful and welcoming atmosphere. Here guests will encounter the true spirit of Berber mountain hospitality. Diners will be delighted to find a scintillatingly complex and yet refreshingly lighter interpretation of traditional Moroccan fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Imlil Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing