We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toubkal Trek Morocco”

Toubkal Explorers Trekking - Private Day Tours
Ranked #17 of 35 Outdoor Activities in Imlil
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TOUBKAL EXPLORER TREKKING Ltd Lahouceine AIT ELMALEM LOCAL GUIDING COMPANY
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Toubkal Trek Morocco”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our tour with lahouceine and his stuff was a true highlight of our time in Morocco. As an official mountain & Desert Guide, he really made that "come alive" for us, because of his personal experience and knowledge of events. He took us everyplace we requested and then spent overtime with us, just exploring the cities. Lahouceine was a true professional; a knowledgeable and enthusiastic ambassador for Morocco!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Climb of Mount Toubkal”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lahouceine and his team were our Moroccan guides for a hugely enjoyable and successful trip organised through KE Adventure to climb Mount Toubkal. He is a vastly experienced and knowledgeable guide, very professional and speaks fluent English (and Spanish and several other languages). Lahouceine led the ascent of Toubkal with great skill and at a good pace, and took very good care of the group on the trickier sections of the climb. Lahouceine even invited the group to his family home for an unexpected but very welcome afternoon tea at the end of a warm-up walk. I would highly recommend Lahouceine for any trekking or climbing trips in Morocco and will personally seek him out for my next trip to the Atlas mountains.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Arranged a decent 2 day trek for us”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Unlike many of the other reviews, Lahouceine was not our guide. Instead he arranged for us to have a cook and a mule, because he recognised that we had a small budget (this option is cheaper). Mohammed (our cook) had decent French and a very little bit of English and was keen to explain things to us en route. We had huge amounts of delicious food, but one of us did get quite ill immediately after our trek (which might not be to do with the food, but probably was).

He helped us out as the guide book had suggested that April was a good time to trek from Imlil to to Setti Fatima, but in reality it was too cold and we were under-prepared. Lahouceine gave us a different option which suited us well. But, while we would recommend Lahouceine and his company do make sure that you are very clear about what he is offering you and at what price and remember that haggling is something that EVERYONE does in Morocco (even if they tell you they don't).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Toubkal ascent trekking Morocco”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lahouceine who manage TDM is an outstanding guide! In addition to being knowledgeable, his English is perfect, and he is exceedingly friendly, polite and flexible. Most importantly, he's very streetwise.. I recommend Lahocueine to anyone who wants to trek the Atlas mountains,and will absolutely hire his services again the next time I come to Morocco.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnerton, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three 4000m peaks in winter”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lahouceine was our local guide for a recent KE adventure trip to Jbel Toubkal and Ras and Timesguida peaks this December 2012. We (my wife and I) have been planning this trip for a while and weren't disappointed by the excellent service and guidance we received from Lahouceine. We are novice winter mountaineers, so hired crampons and ice axes through KW: good quality Grivel 12 points and Petzl axes.

The trip itself was superb. Fantastic food cooked by the local chef who trekked up to the refuge with us (omelettes every morning, a variety of tagines at night: all food brought up by mules to 3200m - what's not to like?), stunning weather, 3 summits (at least I did), and extremely well paced hiking. One of Lahouceine's strengths is his ability to gauge fitness and adjust pace appropriately. My wife and another companion are not the triathlete/marathon/Body Pump instructor type, so our pace up Jbel Toubkal (4167m) was completely appropriate, which meant everyone summited without exhaustion. The following day, I summited Ras (4089m) and Timesguida (4086m) at a much quicker pace, again without succumbing to exhaustion, whilst my wife and our other companion had a relative rest day.

Lahouceine was also good at spotting emotions and reassuring those in our group who were unsure of their crampon abilities/risk of slipping on the ice (we were practicing self arrests)/chances of making it up the mountain. Not everyone is able to pick up on the subtleties of emotional stress.

In short, we had a fantastic trip: informative, safe and enjoyable. We'll be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toubkal Explorers Trekking - Private Day Tours also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Toubkal Explorers Trekking - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing