We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Dar Imlil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Imlil
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived with no booking, and the price given was really reasonable.
The staff were welcoming and generous, and had endless time to discuss trekking options & lend us maps.
The room was clean & spacious & there was plenty of hot water.
The food was great - huge varied breakfasts, with never-ending tea and freshly-squeezed orange juice. Evening meals were simple - the choice was evening meal or no evening meal - but delicious, home cooked, traditional and plentiful.
Abdul was great, and the rugs we bought through him are fantastic back in our home.
I would recommend this riad, it really was the high spot (literally) in our honeymoon in Morocco. A fantastic place to walk/trek/run/bike from. Or just take in the views!
I really hope we return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

A very friendly place with gorgeous rooms looking out on the mountains. We were upgraded to a superior room as the place was almost empty, meaning we had an enormous room with a very comfortable bed, a fridge, a kettle, free drinks and an enormous balcony. The place is very peaceful and very welcoming. The food is also very nice. As there isn't much to do in Imlil in the evenings, having a nice place to stay makes all the difference.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a great place to visit.

I visited with my boyfriend in late August as part of our trek to Toubkal. The rooms we stayed in were lovely, clean, airy, with great views of the mountains and big, clean bathrooms with lots of hot water. We had been upgraded twice to a lovely suite with balconies! I'm confident that the standard rooms would also be of great quality.

The food was tasty and plentiful - really great local cooking with lots of fresh vegetables - the best tagine we had in Morocco and lovely soup and fresh fruit. Breakfast was also plentiful with lots of fresh orange juice. I arrived from Marrakesh with a dodgy tummy and was given some lovely thyme tea, which really helped!

All of the staff, particularly Abdu and Hassan, were especially friendly and helpful, providing lots of information about the surrounding area and generally went out of their way to make our stay special.

Really also enjoyed playing scrabble and chess on the terrace which overlooks the mountains...

A bit of a problem when we were leaving with the card machine meant that my boyfriend had to run up to the Kasbah to pay by card - he's very capable and fit, but someone else might have struggled so it could be useful to bring cash to pay.

Otherwise, can't recommend this place highly enough. A lovely and relaxing place to arrive at from the busy city or returning from the trek to Toubkal. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouflonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here in the village of Imlil and have to say that absolutely everything was great about this place. Very warm and welcoming, clean and comfortable, with great staff and great views. We had a great view from our balcony and the rooms were a nice size. The food here was sooo good that I wish I could be there right now for another delicious meal. They were very helpful throughout our stay there and helped to organize our luggage transfer up to the Kasbah where we stayed afterwards.

Nothing negative to say here, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huttz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived at Dar Imlil, waiting to be checked in to our 'standard room', only to be told we'd been upgraded to a 'Suite'! We had got an internet rate of £40 pounds for the standard room, and when I checked online, once in the room from my iphone, the cost of the the Suite was £143, so you can imagine our delight at such an upgrade. Although the guesthouse was lovely, and we had benefited a free upgrade, I couldn't help but feel how they could really justify that amount for the room. I'm not sure I think it was really worth that amount. However, saying that, we had a lovely one night break at the guesthouse, before we began our 3 day trek the following day.
The staff were very pleasant, and once we were shown to our room, we were offered free tea and coffee with a bowl of nuts/sweet biscuits and dates. We arrived late in the afternoon, but were still asked if we wanted an evening meal at the guesthouse for 150 Dirhams each. Although we had heard the food was lovely here, this was slightly beyond our budget, and when we saw others eating here the food smelt and looked delicious. (We ventured down into the village and ate at another guesthouse). Breakfast however, was more than sufficient with an abundance of fruit, pastries, jams, teas/coffee/fresh juice - just what we needed to stock up for our mountain trek!
The suite we were given was lovely and spacious, with a huge double bed and a gorgeous, oversized mirror on the wall next to it. We had a lovely seating area, with a couple of sofas, as well as a long, thin balcony, overlooking some trees, which was nice to sit and drink our mint tea at. The bathroom was also clean and spacious, with hot running water, and shampoos & a hairdryer provided etc. The room also had a kettle so you could make tea/coffee, which was also provided. There was a lovely communal terrace, with some interestingly desgined chairs made of wood/tree branches, where we sat reading in the late afternoon sun, overlooking the village of Imlil, and watching young local children play in the river. They also had a communal roftop terrace which again gave amazing views as you sat relaxing from here. I would def recommend taking a warm jumper for the eve's, as once the sun sets, it is very cold! However, if you are cold, there were ponchos etc provided for you to wear, as well as additional blankets for the bed. I would def stay at this guesthouse again if I was passing through here, although be aware that if you are not here to trek, there is nothing else for Imlil to really offer as a place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mareofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We drove into the village until we found the guardian for the parking in the centre of the village (where the bridge crosses the stream). Almost instantly our luggage was transported upto the hotel which perches above the stream. We had a family of four of us in one deluxe suite- and that worked perfectly for us. The room was large with lovely views up towards the mountains, and a pair of sliding doors onto a covered balcony area. The room, and the rest of the hotel is well decorated and clean and the views from the terraces are brilliant. I thoroughly recommend that you go to the upper terrace after dark and look at the mountains and stars. We ate in the restaurant two nights- the food was traditional and very tasty. Breakfasts were excellent too. The wifi worked throughout the hotel- not always the case in Morocco. A fantastic hotel, staff and location- we are really keen to come back and Dar Imlil will definitely be our first choice of hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ed_French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This really is the place to stay in Imlil, especially if you have the ginormous second-floor room with large bedroom and bathroom, and massive sitting area, with two balconies looking on the high peak of Jbel Toubkal, and with its own, lovely shaded verandah; in total, about 40 square metres of living space and immaculately clean! Excellent relaxation after a hard-day's trekking. The food is excellent: first-rate breakfasts and evening meals with four, sometimes five courses of superior quality and endless quantity! Free hot and cold drinks are available all day long.The staff are perfect and cannot do enough to look after you; they are naturally warm. A 'must' place to stay!

Room Tip: The massive, de-luxe, second-floor room is definitely the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlil
0.2 mi away
Hotel Etoil Du Toubkal
9.8 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
126 reviews
9.6 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jnane Imlil
Riad Jnane Imlil
#1 of 41 in Imlil
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Atlas Prestige
Riad Atlas Prestige
#2 of 41 in Imlil
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Imlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Imlil

Address: Centre Village, Imlil 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Imlil 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Imlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing