We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Douar Samra
Nearby Hotels
Dar Imlil(Imlil)
$136
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Coq Hardi(Marrakech)
$21
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kasbah Illy(Demnate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widiane Suites & Spa(Bine el Ouidane)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bin el Ouidane(Bine el Ouidane)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
407
69
10
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
69
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricitythe main houseother gueststree housecommunal mealsdour samraberber villageatlas mountainsopen firea hot water bottlewaterfall walkmint tearoof terraceslovely guestslow tablesmountain retreatinteresting people
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 490 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 1 night here as part of a cycle tour. It is perched quite high above Imlil, and has a number of superb terraces which give terrfific views of the mountains above and valley below. All of the rooms are thoughtfully decorated and organised - it is an authentic mountain retreat with comfort enough but not at the expense of suffocating its originality. The dining room was quite atmospheric, and the food served in candlelight was excellent. Overall, a wonderful and singular corner of peace in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

What a pleasure to welcome you at Douar SAMRA, cannot wait to see you again. Very kind regards Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

At the risk of repeating the previous few reviews it really is necessary to reinforce to prospective clients how lovely Douar Samra is. I will certainly be recommending it to friends and family. We felt very welcome as soon as we arrived and yes the views are stunning and the air fresh and the rooms cosy and equally beautiful. The roof terraces are perfect for relaxing, reading and watching village life go by or if you're like our kids for drawing and playing and mucking about on.
Jacqueline was very responsive and always very helpful in the arrangement of our stay, transfers etc. Rachida was just lovely and accomodating and the very best cook. Our most favourite food out of our entire trip to Morocco was the food we ate at Douar Samra. Just delicious.
Overall in our minds a very special and beautiful place to stay in the High Atlas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielleamsterdam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you in the Berber Mountains, Douar SAMRA is very special for special kind guests like you. Thank you for your kindness. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Douar Samra took our breath away as soon as we arrived. We were welcomed with mint tea on the roof top terrace with its stunning views over the terraced valley below and to high snow covered mountains above. Simply furnished with great style this house is right in the middle of a Berber village; you can sit on the terraces and watch life going on around you; I am not entirely sure what the villagers think of this! This is a wonderful place to stay with walks on the doorstep, good hearty meals and cosy welcoming fires.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We are happy that you have a nice time to relax at Douar SAMRA, we hope you'll come back asap. Very best wishes. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It is not often that I take the time to write a review, but this is my way of "paying it forward." I hope that others will read this and get to experience the paradise I experienced at Douar Samra. This authentic yet modern style accommodation truly offers everything you could need and more. It is a cozy atmosphere where Rachida will cook the best tagine and meal you could imagine - cooked with love, creativity and Moroccan flair. Mohammed and Omar are very attentive to your needs, ensuring that you are always comfortable and satisfied. Every night when you return to your room a fire is lit and there is a warm water bottle tucked inside your bed. The accommodation is very clean, very safe and very stylish! Jacqueline is the most attentive person running the business side of things. She provided me with various options on transport to arrive and depart and within minutes of my inquiry I had a response from her. This place is sitting atop a beautiful valley overlooking stunning mountains and you are in the hands of real, caring and honest Moroccan people. Please don't pass up an opportunity to stay here, it seriously changed me. I have never been able to unwind more in my life than I did at Douar Samra.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Promise, young Lady, we'll do our best to make you happy !!! we hope to see you again in the mountains. Very kind regards Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Douar Samra. It was easy to get to from Marrakesh - about an hour and a half drive. The property is a restored berber home right in the middle of an otherwise completely berber village. Not sure what the rest of the village makes of the foreigners staying in their midst. The accommodation is tasteful and in synch with the locale, the rooms are beautifully decorated, you return to your room at night to a fire in your fireplace by your bed, a hot water bottle under the thick duvets and candles lit all round the room. Dinner is eaten communally upstairs with the other guests at a long table in a beautiful and cosy room. The views are spectacular. There may be other more luxurious properties in the area but none could hold a flame to the simplicity and beauty of Douar Samra. Jaqueline has done a fabulous job - though it is locals who run the property for her. Mohammed, the guide they found for us, was fabulous as well!

Room Tip: We had the Kran room which has an annexe where our son slept. it was great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

What a so nice review, all staff wants to tell you thank you so much for your kindness. Very kind regards and best wishes for the New Year. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews