We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Douar Samra
Nearby Hotels
$27
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Gite Atlas Mazik(Imlil)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Imlil(Imlil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Adrar(Imlil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
413
68
10
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
68
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricitythe main houseother gueststree housecommunal mealsdour samraberber villageatlas mountainsopen firea hot water bottlewaterfall walkmint tearoof terraceslovely guestslow tablesmountain retreatinteresting people
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 495 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's hard to believe a place so magical is only an hour outside of Marrakech. The location of Douar Samra is incredible. Snow capped mountains and valleys surround the property. The hike up can be a little tricky but well worth it. Upon arrival we were greeted with hot tea and snacks.

The location provides access to many hiking trails. Other than hiking we enjoyed our time on the top porch reading and taking pictures.

Dinner is served promptly at 6:00. Our food was delicious. Full bowls of soup, a tangier full of chicken and potatoes and really fresh bread! The lentil soup was incredible and I can't wait to try and replicate it back at home (would love to have the recipe).

I highly suggest staying in one of the rooms with no electricity. After dinner the staff lights a fire in the fireplace in each room and provides candles throughout. It makes the room so cozy. Each room also comes with full fleece suits to snuggle up in. The hot water bottles in the bed would a great touch as well.

I highly recommend staying here. We only had a night but wished that we had stayed there the majority of our trip to Morocco. I have done a lot of travelling and this is by far my most favorite place I've stayed in the world. Can't wait to go back and visit again some day!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with no electricity. It really sets the mood. We stayed in the main house and loved it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth3783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear nice friend, we are so happy you liked Douar Samra and the berber culture. All staff hope you'll come back to visit us in Morocco Very best wishes. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a hectic time in Marrakech, nothing could have been nicer than two nights at Douar Samra. How can staff be so kind when they were so busy making their visitors so welcome. The location is amazing - right in a community who mercifully ignored our tourist idleness - with breathtaking views down the green valley to Imlil and the mountains beyond.
What delicious food, breakfast lunch and tea. What a beautiful, warm, welcoming Berber-inspired environment, full of colour and candles. What comfortable, beautiful rooms. What lovely roof terraces and garden.
And what a stunning part of the world outside the door. And what starry skies!
Unmissable

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own sun terraces - but if you share one you meet more people
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Kerry, it's so kind of you. All staff wants to say thank you. We hope you'll come back to visit us in the berber country. Very best wishes Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Douar Samra is a truly beautiful place which is hidden in the centre of a small village in the Atlas mountains. It's very conscious of it location and does not feel like an intrusion into the village but part of it. It's location allows treks into the atlas mountains which Samra can organise with good trusted local guides. When you get there a donkey comes to meet you at the road and takes your bags down into the village into the Douar. It has it's own gardens which are secluded from the rest of the village and has sunbathing chairs on the roof tops and balconies

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the non electric rooms which you light by elaborate selections of candles. This was very special. There was also a fire and on the second night when it was a bit chilly we were pleasantly surprised that the staff had come and lit it for us earlier in the evening. You also get a hot water bottle placed into your bed for you each night.

The staff are truly wonderful. They seem to care for you like you are their family. Mohammed, who seems to be the main waiter/concierge, is a lovely man who cares so much for your well being. When leaving he watched us walk all the way to the road through the village from his rooftop to make sure we were safe.

The food is very good quality and you share the meal in the dining room with the rest of the guests. This as well as being put on treks with others means you make friends easily and gives a really nice atmosphere.

I would definitely come here again once my hiking skills improve so I can attempt one of the longer walks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear very nice friend, Mohamed Omar Rachida and Mina are very happy you'll wrtie so nice review about Douar SAMRA, you make them so pleased. Thank you and we hope you'll come back as soon as possible Very best wishes for the New Year. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

i stayed three times in the douar samra, and each time was a unique and beautiful experience. in the winter months i loved the warm cosy feelings i felt , its very simply elegant with berber touches.the dinners were very nice and the views from the roof terrace made me feel i was 10 000 kms from europe , but no ,just three hours from our very hectic lives .. i love it and highly recommend this place . thank you jacqueline and your lovely staff for having created such a haven.
rene-jean
next visit i will try the tree house in the spring with its white blossoms!

Room Tip: there are all different , but my favorite is the top floor one with its two little rooms-two fire places. in the cold months pack slippers and pajamas.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gany57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your kindness, we are waiting for your next stay in the Tree House. Lots of kisses from Morocco and Happy Xmas and New Year Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had an amazing stay here earlier this month. Samra is located just outside Imlil but the 3km walk is worth it for the views and lovely atmosphere! From the moment we arrived the hospitality was excellent. We had the Moussa room for the first 3 nights which was so charming. I felt like I was in a hobbit movie! We had the treehouse for the last night which while it is really nice and comfortable I much preferred the charm of the other rooms. At night dinner is served at communal tables in the main house. We were there for 4 nights and each night the food was excellent, fresh tomatoes picked from the garden, lentils, tajines etc etc. You could not ask for more! We loved it so much that we stayed for an extra 2 nights and when the time came we were both so so sad to leave Samra and of course Mohamed (the nicest man in the world!). I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pick the main house for more charm.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spuddybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much, dear friends, for your kindness. It helps us to make our best. You are lovely guests and all staff and Mohamed send you lots of love Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews