We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ti me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
Flacq, Mauritius
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ti me”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I seriously had the best time at Le surcouf hotel. The staff was friendly, the food was great and what was more special was that my room was just in front of the beach. I seriously had the best time and definitely would come again to spend my holiday over there . The Food was really tasty . I simply loved the Breakfast ! The hotel had organized a trip on a speedy boat to go and see some fish and some of my family members went to dive which was just amazing . Hence, on a conclusive note if you need a relaxing place i would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ms Manaar,

We thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We look forward welcoming you again at the resort.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    54
    30
    32
See reviews for
70
165
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very cordial and friendly . The breakfast terrible, no choices at all only omelet & fruits saved us. The fruits too were limited. The bread served was stale. Birds used to be a frequent visitors in the restaurant & kitchen. The dinner menu limited and poor.
The room was clean & comfortable. Our room opened out to the beach front. But the beach was dirty and during our stay they had some digging done, so we would wake up each morning with the sound of the digging. We also had a problem with the shower, as they used cheap material and the shower holder was broken and so was the shower. Nobody bothered to attend to it.
They don't have any entertainment or live band in the evenings and their TV channels are limited for their own personal use of favorite programmers.
For the last week of our stay, there were only two rooms occupied, ours and another couple from India.
When we moved to the Hotel Veranda and experienced their services, facilities and food. We felt cheated by the rate we paid per night at Le Surcouf.
Even the hotel taxi driver was a very rude guy and cheated us of our money. He charges us high fare to go places.
I guess their business model is focused on single time customers only. Therefore cannot recommend this hotel Le Surcouf, because it makes a poor showing to that country.
It’s a nice property on the beach but they definitely need a Good General Manager to manage it.

Room Tip: We also stayed at the Veranda Hotel in Belle Mare, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius . And I would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_DSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs D'Silva,

Warm Greetings from Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We thank you for the comments posted. However we are quite surprised about these comments as you seemed to be happy at the hotel.

You initially booked 3 nights stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa (15 to 18 August 2013) but you finally stayed till the 25th August 2013 as you extended 7 further nights. That's Strange!!! If the hotel was so worst as you describe, you would not have stayed 7 nights more!!!

We met at the resort and you informed us as your companion Mr Faria is a Senior Reporter at Gulf Today and you request for 2 nights free at the hotel in exchange Mr Faria will write an article about the resort. We accepted your proposal and we offer you 2 nights stay Free at the hotel and at that time you were very happy because you were staying for FREE at the hotel.

Yes we had some works going on the beach; despite that you agreed to extend your stay for FREE. Because of these works, we did not take further bookings and that's why we had only 2 rooms occupied at the hotel and obviously with 2 rooms occupied there will be no entertainment or live band at night

On the 25th August, when we refused you provide you another couple of nights for FREE or even at a cheaper price; it was then that you were unhappy and you moved to Veranda Hotel.

It is understood that if you were unhappy with the food, services or the hotel you would not have stayed for 7 nights more!!!

We welcome critics, as from these critics we shall improve the quality at the hotel. However we feel that it is not good to write bad comments about a hotel because you did not get rooms at a cheaper price or for FREE.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trou d'eau Douce hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we had the best time here....the staff was very cordial and caring the food was delicious and the best thing abt the hotel was that it was right at the beach which made the whole experience wonderful.The rooms are quite comfortable and have a balcony for you to enjoy the early morning sunrise.Though the food was nice it wont be quite appreciated by indians,nonetheless we quite liked it.All in all its a total "worth for your money " kind of place to stay in.We hope to go back there again sometime soon....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank payal_pahuja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs payal,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We look forward welcoming you once again at the resort.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

- no services - nobody takes care of guests, nobody takes care of guests needs
- room - "mushrooms" in the room, door to bathroom did not work, doors out (2x) - did not work, they had to repair it
- spa - works max to 20:00 - not possible to visit it after trips (we did not want to stay inside during days)
- swiming pool - we did not tried it, looked not so clean
- floor cleaning and swimming pool cleaning - they did it during day - f.e. at 8:00 when guest went for brakfast
- official time for dinner - only up to 21:30, no choice, terrible food etc. etc. etc.
I love Mauritius. It is beautiful country with very friendly people. Therefore cannot recommend this hotel Le Surcouf, because it makes a poor showing to that country.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holina888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Make my trip actually almost ruined my trip to Mauritius. I guess their business model is focused on single time customers only, because I will never recommend Make-my-trip to anyone.
The sales person pushed me to book Le Surcouf hotel & spa, gave us free 30-mins massage but to our surprise, there is no SPA there at all. I call it cheating. Why should the name be SPA when there is none? The hotel management lacks courtesy. Hotel beach is so dirty, hotel rooms have faulty a/cs, faulty lights, faulty door locks, & the worst of all, hotel guys are not even available to help or at the minimum show interest to listen to problems. I had cockroaches & a lizard in my room & no one bothered the complaint.
Another couple with us had terrible time when hotel cancelled their candle light dinner & did not even take a responsibility to inform about the cancellation. GM of hotel arrogantly denied to take a complaint.

Snorkeling was supposed to be a free activity, even printed on the hotel brochure but they were charging exorbitantly high for this activity. Boat house will close at 4:00pm when you really are back to hotel & wana enjoy.

Food was literally worst, except for breakfast when some omelette & fruits saved us.

Also to mention, rats & birds used to be a frequent visitors in the restaurant & kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank anks_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The first point of attraction when we reached the resort was the long bed of algae on the hotel's private beach which was stinking badly. Surprisingly the hotel next to ours had absolutely clean beach. The room service was pathetic, the first word which every staff said was "NO"...There were only two people to attend the guests right from welcoming them to repairing the AC, refilling coffee/sugar.

The deception begins with name of the hotel itself the name is Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa but there was no Spa facility.The Manager Mr. Fazlullah was adamant that this information has been conveyed to the tour operators...

This list of disappointments would go on and on. Never the less I would like to summarize:
1. No water sports other than kayaking was free for the guests which are offered free by the other hotels.
2. They forgot to provide fruit skewer, bottle of wine as mentioned in the list of freebies.
3. The welcome gift was never given to us.
4. The candle dinner was badly messed up and there was neither an apology nor any effort from the management (including the manager Mr. Fazlullah).
5.The quality and taste of food was pathetic.
6. There is no restaurant at the hotel, once the kitchen closes you are left to starve.
7. The boat house at the hotel closes by 4.00 pm so you can not enjoy it as you would return from the day tour by 5.00 or 6.00 pm.

So, I would not recommend this hotel at all ....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Abhi2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Le Surcouf. The villas are spacious and well maintained. The food is decent. And when you are there, contact Ravi, he could take you out for a very good Snorkelling trip at a very good prize. Enjoy. The only thing I missed in this place was a Spa, I was told that it was under renovation work, sadly :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikramtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Vikram,

We thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We invite you to join our Facebook page and LIKE the page and SHARE your pictures that you had in our resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
1.6 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius 42214
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: A fully renovated picturesque, cottage-style 3-star hotel complex. Set in atropical garden on the beachfront and composed of 54 rooms, 1 suite, a bar, a spa and arestaurant with sea view around a swimming pool.Location: On the East coast of Mauritius not far from Ile aux Cerfs, 50 km from the capitalcity of Port- Louis. Situated only 40 km from the airport the transfer time is estimated only1½ hours drive from the airport.Accommodation: The hotel consists of 1 luxury suite and 54 rooms (27 on the ground floorand 27 on the first floor).• 1 luxury suite of 75m² with a large bedroom, an additional single bed and attachedbathroom with shower, 1 living room with sofa, a coffee corner and a large terrace overlookingthe beach. The suite is beautifully furnished with individual adjustable air conditioners, atelephone and a flat screen TV.• 29 classic rooms – 9 with twin beds (24 m²) and 19 with double beds (33m²). Six of theclassic rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate 4 adults and 2 teenagers agedbelow 15.• 15 superior rooms (38 m²) – which can accommodate 2 adults and 1 child aged below 12.• 10 deluxe rooms (54 m²) – ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers aged below 15.Six of the deluxe rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate a maximum of 4 adultsand 2 teenagers aged below 15.All the rooms have either a personal terrace or balcony with sea view. They are beautifullyfurnished and equipped with individual air conditioners, bathroom with shower, telephoneand flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Surcouf Village Resort
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing