We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great feel good hotel and holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great feel good hotel and holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at the silver beach,the fact they had so many returning guests is testament to the popularity of this small hotel to be honest i can say its one ov the freindliest places i have had the pleasure to stay at,and the service and the willingness of everyone their to make your stay memorable is a refreshing change from more up market establishments,needless to say met some great people and thanx to you all for making our stay unforgetable,.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    265
    68
    29
    17
See reviews for
96
542
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our second stay at Silver Beach, we stayed there 2 years ago and it was the best holiday we had ever had. It was perfect.

We returned towards the end of 2010 with famly members and it was just not the same. The food was a real let down it was dreadful. The best meal of the day was breakfast. Some nights it was all spicy food and if any of your party wanted anything different we
told you had to let the restaurant know by 5pm. If it was a buffet night you did not know what was being served until you went down to eat at 7.30pm. We did not pack a crystal ball. I think this rule only applied to certain guests as we heard other people being told you only had to ask if you wanted something that was not on the menu.

The hotel was short staffed. The majority of the dining room staff were running around like headless chickens and were constantly apologising for the delays of food coming from the kitchen. They had a new chef and to be honest I think he was totally out of his depth. No imagination. Beef and Fish for lunch and Fish and Beef for dinner almost every day. I thnk what was left over went in to the curries. Two of our party had upset stomachs for days after the fish curry.

The other problem we had was that some people tipped every day, We like to tip at the end of the holiday to the people who make a difference to our holiday, which last time at the hotel was not a problem. This time because we did not tip as we went along the service was a times lacking (bar sevice). Needless to say the tips we gave reflected this, so the people concerned lost out. One of the head waiters was the worst culprit and he should have known better.

It was such a shame, because the hotel and the majority of the staff are excellent . The food problem has apparently happened before when they got rid of the chef. The complaints about the food rocketed and they had to entice him back. The same thing has happened again. I hope the management have the sense to yet again reinstate the excellent chef the have yet again got rid of. Shame on you. Get your hotel back on course.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbuddy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

After one week staying in the more traditional, less developed east side of Mauritius, where we based ourselves for exploration, we came here for a week of complete relaxation. It was a real pleasure from a friendly and unique check in through to our efficient check out. The Seven Colours wellness lounge became our second room! The massages were great. There was a lot of nice, varied food choices and the bar snacks (massive sandwiches) were also good. The aqua gym was fun and all the staff were very friendly, young crew. Our room was lovely, only down side was we looked out on a wall, but we were rarely there. We had a very fun night out in near by Grand Bay. I can't be certain but I think drinks may have been small measures or watered down in the hotel as they tasted mild but beer was good. Lots of fun cocktails to choose from. We were all inclusive standard.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touchatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

Friendy staff clean & well furnished although beds very hard. My only fault was that it is very windy on the east coast 10 to 15 wind speed every day. If like me you dont want a windy holiday go to the West coast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelcc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

The Silver Beach Hotel is only 3 star but the service and food were definetly 5 star! We had a garden view room which was lovely, clean and the staff were all very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. I would go back again and reccomend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolkearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed 7/11/2010 - 21/11/2010 after 2 Emirates flights from LHR. First on the A380 with seats 45E/45F loads of leg room. Meals and ICE entertainment were 1st class along with the service. Flight to Mauritius from Dubai was good but beware if catching the Sunday /Monday morning flight at 03.00 it is full of locals returning home with infants, noisy flight with loads of kids crying. Sleep nearly impossible. Arrived at hotel 12.00 noon and were given welcome drink and towels and showed to room immediately. (306 Sea-view, good view but so to were the Garden rooms). From the word go everything was first class. Staff, Accommodation, Food, Waiters and Bar Staff. No complaints at all. Everything has been said in previous entries about this hotel, great place to stay if you want a relaxing holiday with good food and service. Only complaint we had was with the resident singer 'Jude', he was to loud when you were eating in the evenings. Could not converse with people at the meal table. (Only fault we found with the 2 weeks we were there). Do the trips the boys at the beach hut recommend, they are cheaper and the trips are first class. Visit 'Flac' on the market days (Wednesday/Sunday) for bargains, take the bus from outside the hotel it costs 52 rupees each return, for a 25 minute journey. (Great experience). Do not take the taxis outside the hotel for this trip they charge too much. If you do use them barter first and try and get another couple to go with you to halve the costs, well worth it that way as you have then for as long as you want. (That is for all trips). Do the Dolphin trip, day boat trip (Get absolutely smashed on the Mauritian Coffee) whilst on the boat and the beach BBQ. The walking with Lions is a must but book before you arrive in Mauritius otherwise you won't get it. Bar shuts at 24.00 so quite evenings are the order of the day, would not suit young people but great for relaxing. No need to get up early to get the sun-beds, more than enough to go around. Beach is good but sharp pieces of coral about also need the shoes everyone else mentions. If you snorkel take your own gear. 2 weeks we were there had one bad day or should I say bad couple of hours, weather was brilliant in the 30's all the time. Forget the wind people mention, sure this is a breeze from the Indian Ocean but believe you me you need it, without it, is it baking. Average wage for the staff is £6 per day (200 rupees), so when you tip them they are over the moon. Change your money at the airport when you arrive much better rate than the UK and hotel, keep your receipt so any Rupees left at the end you can change back. Not a great Airport when you are going back home, very small and not enough amenities. All in all a great place to go for a quite relaxing holiday, great food, people and locals. If you are reading this Glen, Marlene, George and Margaret I trust you will agree. Could go on about this holiday/hotel but enough has been said on previous reviews. Flight back to Dubai on the 23.25 flight was horrendous, again families going to Dubai with small children, plane was like a 'creche', screaming kids all the way. Sleep was never on the agenda. A380 back to LHR again was great. Friends we met out there traveled by Air Mauritius and were not at all happy with the seats etc. Would go back to Mauritius again, not sure about this hotel though, would want to keep the good memories we had.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank barry618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Anyone who syas there isn't enough food selection is blind!! if you dont like the meals on the set menus day if you let them know early enough they will happily make you something else! The staff are brill Avie, Ravi & Kavi behind the bar and ZY on the breakfast shift noting is too much trouble.

Highlight of the holiday? WALKING WITH LIONS OUT OF THIS WORLD EXPERIENCE!! book as soon as you get tehre to avoid disappointment

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjovi5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: Royal (Coastal) Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing