We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a battery re-charge”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Susssex UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place for a battery re-charge”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Located on the breach with a gorgeous view over the lagoon and reef, this is a good value 3 star hotel.Spotlessly clean and comfortable.The menus offer a good selection of fresh fruit and vegetables with not a chip in sight! Buffet dinner 3 nights per week and table d'hote four nights with a mix of cuisine styles but the curries were lovely.The staff are delightful and do their very best to help. The only downside for us was the very limited a wine list .
The hotel does look as though it needs a little TLC but we did hear ,from another guest,that it is about to change hands so that might explain a lot,
Located about 1 hour from the airport.The trip to Isle aux Cerf is fun but take beach shoes as there are lots of sea urchins in the lagoon and on the beach.Lovely temperature(30C) with a seemingly prevailing easterly breeze coming off the water so very sufferable !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    276
    70
    29
    18
See reviews for
100
554
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

situated on a quiet and unspoilt beach. the staff are just the BEST.the room 222 big roomy nice garden view very quiet.day trip to ile aux cerfs well worth it.had a car for 3 days NOT for the feint hearted !!! the food was fresh and delicious lunchtime could have been better .wifi only in reception bit of a pain .casala park was really worth the effort to visit and walking with lions was expensive but different ! apparently the catamaran trip up north to see the islands is great we did the west coast dolphins also very good but the island visited just not worth seeing unless you like being pestered !! 20 min walk to the local village well worth the effort ...once ....my dream of snorkelling in the indian ocean not at all like the maldives ....sorry....lovely 17 nights tho !!!

Room Tip: garden rooms quiet and nice ....ocean view smaller and 100 pounds each extra not worth it to us ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephenhelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Situated on a beautiful and idyllic quiet beach, this hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather. For snorkeling fans, there are plenty of tropical fish to see and the location is fantastic for visiting Ile aux Cerfs and the nearby cascades which are not to be missed (the hotel organises a daily trip by boat).
The food is fresh and delicious with a Mauritian touch and the staff are definitely the most attentive I have ever experienced in a hotel.
In addition, unlike some other hotels, wifi is free at the reception.
Overall, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrinainlondon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just back from another stay at this hotel. There have been a few minor changes since last year, but none that affected our stay. The hotel is still in need of some TLC and could do with the odd bit of maitenance, but it is kept immaculately clean. They washed the whole of the restaurant out twice while we were there, the chairs, tables work surfaces, floors everything. They even washed the stair banisters and rails across the bridge and on each floor.
The staff are still very attentive and the service was fantastic. Special thanks to Ziad, Hevin, Retish, Rikki, Lammi, Melani and Malini.
The weather was mixed this year, we had alot more cloud and two days of rain, but overall it was
Good.
The food was splendid with lots of choice n the buffets. Again they did me proud with my gluten free requirements cooking special things for me if the menu was not to my needs.
Thre were lots of the same repeaters there with us again, testamony to the hotels standards.the beach and the sea were as lovely to walk and swim in as they ever were.
Overall...a great place to relax and enjoy Mauritian hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudiandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The building itself is pretty ordinary but what makes this place special are 3 things - 1. the beach: best snorkeling on the island; 2. the food: not a chip to be seen - all fresh and all healthy and 3. the service: the team of staff are just so courteous and attentive.
We found the whole experience made for a great informative holiday and we made new friends from many countries - people just talk to each other all the time.
The island is quite interesting and it was worth hiring a car for a few days.
Pointers: they like cash - and rupees not £ or $. Beware of the usual gang of profiteers - guides at Pamplemousse who ask for more than they should/ oiks who charge you for roadside parking etc.
We went all-inclusive (first time) and think it was the right thing to do as eating out looked pricey - but again we struck lucky with the hotel.
My only gripe was the legroom on Air Mauritius outbound - very cramped for an overnight flight; those who went Emirates seemed to have a better experience.
My wife loved the walking with lions - I thought it was a bit contrived - and not worth the money; friends who did the drive-through seemed to have just as good an experience.
Definitely going back....

Room Tip: Level 3 was quiet and had good views. Ignore those who whinge about the noise of the ocean - made m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 2 week stay at The Silver Beach. We generally opt for self-catering accommodation and this was the first time we’d tried all-inclusive.

The hotel is very clean and has everything you need for a great holiday. It is bright and airy and seems to have recently been repainted and spruced up. The rooms are a good size and well maintained with a regular maid service and plenty of space for all our clothes and belongings. There is an easy to use electronic safe, mini-bar (you pay extra for this), hairdryer, TV/radio and telephone in the room and an iron is available on request if required.

The hotel sits right on a very clean white sandy beach with crystal clear water which is perfect for swimming/snorkelling/diving etc. The sun-beds are a bit uncomfortable after a while as they are not adjustable but there are plenty to go around. The hotel provides kayaks, pedalos and a glass bottomed boat trip as well as life jackets and can take you over to the nearby Ile aux Cerfs on it’s speedboat for 500 rupees (about £10.00) return. This island is well worth a trip if you love tranquil deserted beaches (you have to walk about 100 metres from the jetty past the busier beach to find them).

The hotel gardens are beautiful, have a nice display of tropical plants and trees as well as harbouring a pretty variety of friendly birds and geckos.

The food is excellent and there is a good enough variety to have something different at each mealtime. There is a mix of buffet dinners and set menus which works well (we think about 4 buffets and 3 set menus a week).

The local beer (Phoenix) is very good as are the cocktails, albeit not a huge range (all rum based with sweet fruit juice mixers) but nice enough. The wine is a little indifferent. We did not like the red at all but the white and rose are drinkable - just a little on the sweet side. It would be good if wine was served by the glass rather than the bottle as sometimes we'd only want a glass but had to order a bottle but this is merely a small gripe.

The entertainment was good, a mixture of live music and the odd disco night. There was one Sega Dance show during our stay which happened to be on our last night there. This was a real spectacle and the dancers had us all dancing around at the end of the show which was a great way to finish our trip.

The one thing that sets this hotel apart from others we have stayed at is the staff. We arrived in the early hours of Sunday morning (about 01.30) due to a 12 hour flight delay. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn’t do enough for us. The security guard took our cases to our room for us and gave us a very brief tour of the hotel on the way. They had arranged a tray of food and drink in our room for us due to the late hour of our arrival which was a lovely touch.
Throughout our stay the staff were fantastic, they never let our drink run dry (unless we asked!!) and always greeted us with a huge smile and friendly manner. A few guests celebrated birthdays/anniversaries etc during our stay and they were all treated to a chorus of Happy Birthday to You or Congratulations which we're sure made them feel special.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mauritius for a chilled out relaxing holiday. The location on the East coast makes it a little difficult to explore the island but we managed it with a car for 4 days and a couple of bus trips to Centre de Flacq and Port Louis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_Gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned back from Silver Beach and have to agree with all the previous good comments. We were a little concerned about the 3* rating but thought we would take a chance after reading all the positive reports. The staff are absolutly fantastic and genuinely friendly, they cannot do enough to make your stay as good as it can be. I asked for extra pillows and they arrived promptly, we couldn't operate the TV and once again someone was sent within minutes and on the last day we were even given another room until our departure time which meant we could soak up the last bit of sunshine before our journey home. We were totally taken by surprise on the day of our wedding anniversary when we arrived at breakfast to a table set up with flowers and it didn't stop there. When we arrived back in our room later that day the towels had been made into swans in the shape of a heart and our cards placed by them. In the evening we were allocated a special table again with flowers and presented with a cake with the waiters ensuring we had a good time. We enjoyed the food especially the set menus and the fact you didn't have to leave the table for the entertainment was a bonus. The entertainment is low key and there isn't much else to do but this suited us as we just wanted to chill out. We had a seaview room which was great and we hardly used the airconditioning as the breeze and sound of the waves rolling in was something you never experience in the UK.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth it as you get more of a breeze which in the hotter months would be an advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HughiUK_MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
4.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: Royal (Coastal) Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing