We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Silver Beach is a wonderful, very friendly and very clean hotel, well worth more than 3 stars.My daughter and her husband had their wedding vows renewed on the beach,and the staff accommodated their every wish. The food was very good and excellently presented,if my grandchildren wanted chips instead they were given them even if not on menu.
There was not much for the children to do, but ours were happy on the beach and pool.
My husband and myself have stayed in mauritius before and this hotel is one we certainly would go back to.
Thank you to all the staff
mrs josy dann

Room Tip: The garden rooms have no sea view but they are large and spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank josyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 842 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked our holiday with Mercury Direct, who we found previously had offered good value and service. Flights were direct from Heathrow by Air Mauritius Airbus A.340. Only grumble was in front of my seat was an electrical box, which restricted the width of the legroom. This was obviously unavoidable, but its plastic cover had either fallen off, or not been refitted properly by maintenance staff. I drew this to the attention of the cabin staff who said they would have it fixed, but actually just took the cover away, leaving assorted wires and electrical equipment in direct contact with my feet! The flight however was as comfortable as economy long hauls can be...
Once at Mauritius we were met by a Mercury rep, who guided us to a waiting taxi, via the money exchange, of which there is a vast choice to change your cash into Rupees. The transfer from the airport took about an hour, travelling along the eastern coast road, which winds though village after village, before reaching the hotel, which would easily be missed, blending in with the residential properties on the road. Opposite are cultivated fields and countryside.
We were warmly welcomed and taken to our 2nd floor room overlooking the sea. Well, mainly a palm tree, with sea beyond. The room was of average size, with wardrobes and safe. The en suite only lacked a bath, but the shower was efficient. The hotel only provide soaps, so all other toiletries need to be brought with you.
We booked on the basis of fully inclusive for the 1st week and room only for the 2nd, but having not found any restaurants in the vicinity, and being very impressed by the food served by the hotel anyway, we opted to pay extra to upgrade to fully inclusive for the 2nd week.
The hotel has it's own white sandy beach. Kayaks, snorkels and other water sports are free from the hotel "boat house", as are beach towels. There were no beach hawkers to hassle you, just one lady offering light shawls. You could walk along the beach in either direction, eventually reaching public beaches. These are dotted along the coast and have wooded areas at the back, allowing places to relax out of the sun. The locals come to these areas for picnics, or just to relax. They were virtually empty whenever we visited them. Contrary to at least one report I had read, the beaches aren't strewn with hyperdermic needles or dog mess. OK there is the usual bits of rubbish you find on any tidal beach, but certainly nothing to complain about.
We hired a car over the internet and found it was better value than renting once in Mauritius. The roads aren't great, with deep drainage ditches beside the road, ready to consume the unwary! Other interesting obstacles are vintage Bedford trucks hauling loads of sugar cane, which is the main crop of the island. These are interspersed with mopeds, taxis, stray dogs and colourful buses, and not forgetting the humped pedestrian crossings and police speed traps! The general speed limit on most roads is 60 kph, so it takes much longer than expected to get anywhere.
Returning to the hotel, most nights there is entertainment of some sort, ranging from discos, to folk nights, to the hotel singer Julex, doing his tribute (?) to Elvis, Tina Turner and Ray Charles! Not to be missed! As I hinted before the service and food were both top class at all times, though the fully inclusive drinks were rather limited in variety. Strangely the house wines were surprisingly good and part of the package.
As it was the Mauritian winter, temperatures were the low to mid 70's, which suited us, but you do get a constant easterly breeze off the sea, which often leads to the red flag being flown to warn of dangers in swimming in these conditions. Most days there is a shower, mainly during our dinner.
I was also rather concerned by kite surfers travelling at some speed off the beach. I'm sure they would cause considerable injury if not death to unsuspecting swimmers or snorkellers.
To summarise. Ideal place in the sun to relax and unwind, with many excursions available, if you are prepared to make an early start. Clothing we didn't find to be particularly cheap. Lots of colourful birds and plants.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room, try to get one on the top floor, otherwise you get more of a palm view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for 14 nights in March, and in general agree with most of the reviews. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the sea, everything that we needed and very clean.
We were all inclusive, and found the food very good, and the wine ok. We are early risers so never had a problem getting a sunbed on the beach, but have to say, they were the most uncomfortabel beds I have ever had,
We did the boat trip from the hotel over to Isle de Cerfs, all in all, a good day out, but feel that people should be warned about the waterfall climb, it was quite scary, especially if you were not wearing secure footwear, the beach bbq included was quite poor, but it was a great chance to make friends with the other guests. Indeed, everyone at the hotel was very friendly, the guests were mainly British or German whilst we were there.
not sure whether this is the right forum, but would never fly with air mauritius again, very uncomfortable seats, rubbish in flight entertainment, and poor food, the crew were also very reluctant to offer drinks. our flight back was cancelled at the last minute, so we were herded onto a bus and taken an hours journey to another hotel, where after yet another hours hanging around we were given a meal and a room for the night. Once back at the airport, we boarded the plane, only to be left on the runway for another 2 hours, whilst they replaced the planes computer! during this time, no refreshments were offered, so not an ideal end to our holiday. All in all, a great value holiday, and whilst we enjoyed it, we won't be returning as there are so many other places we would like to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Babs058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our first visit to the island and silver beach. Would agree with most of the reports are accurate. The food was pretty good although a little repetative at lunch time. The east coast is windy most of the time in june and sometimes too windy to stay on beach area so a rental car is recommended and cheap through the hotel at around £40 a day to go to the west and south where most of the attractions are. The beach area could do with raking/cleaning each day perhaps ? The stag/phoenix beer is good,the wines not so although the white not too bad. All in all a good base from which to see a beautiful island. The highlight for me was the walking with lions and the pictures from it. Would i recommend this hotel ? To older friends/family - yes, to younger friends, probably not because it was pretty quiet at that time of year.

Room Tip: Garden rooms or sea view rooms both similar with different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WalesGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent 13 nights at Silver Beach from late May to early June having booked through Virgin Holidays and flew direct with Air Mauritius. We hired our own car from the airport for the duration of the holiday and declined the transfers included as part of the Virgin package. Overall we were delighted with our stay.

Location:
The hotel is located on the quiet east coast, about an hour’s drive from the airport. It’s a nice and peaceful hotel to stay at although the remote location makes the main attractions of the island quite a lengthy drive away. Grand Bay for example is 1 hours drive, Port Louis 1.5 hours and Black River Gorges & the scenic southwest coast about 1.5 to 2 hours. The hotel is exposed to the south easterly trade winds, which blow their strongest in winter. The windy weather and rough seas during our stay led to a red flag warning on at least 4 days. We knew to expect some windy weather but with the car could travel to the calmer northern and western coasts.

Room:
We had booked the cheaper garden view room but to our delight were given a sea view room with balcony at no extra cost which was a nice treat – we assume this was because it was a quieter time of year for the hotel. The room had UK 3 pin sockets, had tea and coffee provided each day but only bars of soap instead of the usual complimentary toiletries. The fridge was kept stocked with 2 litre bottles of water and some soft drinks – free to all inclusive guests. As we were mostly out sightseeing by day, the room provided a comfortable base for resting overnight.

Food and drink:
Breakfast and Lunch are buffets and dinner alternates between a buffet and a set menu. Afternoon snacks are available, provided you sit down inside, and you can also have tea & cake in the bar area. The burgers in the afternoon were really good and substantial enough if you miss lunch. The food at meal times was mostly tasty and well presented. However we had a couple of bad experiences with gristly chicken and my veal stew had some sort of artery in it that put me right of food that night. The lack of prawns and shellfish, offered by 3* resorts in Europe, left my partner disappointed. The deserts looked enticing but were actually quite bland with nothing chocolaty on offer! We mostly missed lunches and did order a packed lunch one day; it was quite pricey for what was provided. Four cocktails were included in the all inclusive package but 3 of them were all very similar being rum based with pineapple and orange. Also note that you need to keep signing receipts after every meal and drink ordered, something that an all inclusive wristband would solve. I think our favourite part of the food service was the afternoon cake and coffee which was relaxing way to end to a busy day sightseeing!

Service:
As others have noted, this was one area that the hotel excelled in. All the staff are generally very attentive and helpful. The reception staff answered all our questions and did well in providing information on the island’s attractions. At dinner, the waiters go to such lengths as pulling your chair out for you, refolding your napkin when you go up for more food and re-filling your water or wine glass after practically each sip! Empty plates were cleared quickly and you were never waiting long between courses on set menu nights. The hotel band provided live instrumental renditions of songs while you dined, later joined by Jude the singer. There was a sega show on Saturdays but not much else. The cleaners did a fantastic job in the room each day although no towel art as mentioned by some other reviewers!

Amenities:
Bring enough clothes with you as the laundry expensive and there is no coin operated machines for guests to use themselves. A small load of washing cost us 1000 rupees. It’s washed to a very high standard (stains removed, ironed and packaged into cellophane like new) however isn’t really necessary for washing essentials. A number of water activates such as kayaks, pedalos and wind surfing equipment were available for free when the sea is calm. You can take a speed boat transfer to and from the Ile Aux Cerfs directly from the hotel beach for 300 rupees or combine the island with lunch and an excursion to a waterfall for 1500 rupees. There is free parking outside the front of the hotel that’s limited to about 10 spaces, the gate guard helps with telling you where to park at busy times. We made use of the free hotel bike hire and took a cycle north along the stunning Belle Mare coast – highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coladaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our first visit to the Silver Beach. Amazing hotel. Rooms clean and a glorious view of the sea. Staff polite and helpful, always a friendly word. Restaurant first class, plenty of choice with table service three times a week giving the chefs a chance to show what they could do, staff very professional, always with a smile and first class service. There was a wide international mix of guests and as the hotel is small, everyone was chatty. Gardens wonderful as was the beach with lovely walks along to a section of rocks where coral was washed in, such amazing shapes.
We would highly recommend this hotel and will definately be returning.
On the down side a little TLC is probably needed here and there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kathandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My review is going to be critical/frank both good and bad as majority of reviews below say that the service and food was excellent and the rooms clean. Well all this is quite true but I would like to go in to a little more depth to give reviewers more of an insight (not that the other reviews don't do this but I would just like to go a little further).

Entrance to the Silver Beach Hotel
Is extremely basic, it could easily be upgraded at a very little cost. They could make it look a little more "Pretty" for a hot country. However the front area is quite small, nothing extravagant but importantly it is manned with security, gates and it is clean.

Hotel Reception Area
Is very basic and I thought it would have been a little more "fancy" for a better word. This is supposed to be a three star hotel. It's quite sparse with not a lot of warmth. It needs to be more welcoming, again this would be at a very little cost.

Swimming Pool
My personal opinion is that it is there for a novelty factor. There is nothing out of the ordinary. Guests do not usually use the pool. In my two weeks stay it was used by three people, each for a maximum of 5 minutes. One who had broken his foot, therefore could not use the ocean, another for a quick dip and a child.

Gardens/Grounds
It's good. Very clean, well maintained. However it does not have any ambiance. There is no music at all in the gardens or by the pool. Background music would have been nice at times.

Beach
Is very clean. Sea shoes are a must as large amounts of dead coral are in the sand as well as getting washed up by the ocean. Sea shoes must also be worn in the water as there is a lot of dead coral and sea urchins. The sun loungers are very hard and they cannot change positions. However this did not bother me or other guests.

Food in General
This really deserves a mention - Overall first class, fantastic.

Breakfast
If you are a breakfast person and like lots of different varieties you may get a bit bored. For me it was just OK. Breakfast consisted mainly of eggs, fried, boiled and omelette which is normal. Cereal was not that great. Fruit, not a lot of choice. Bread was quite hard but fine when toasted. They really need to work on the pastries, they were quire limp, to me not fully baked. Tea and coffee ok. Juices, were a lot to be desired, they could have used something a little more expensive.

Lunch
These were very much the same daily but the taste of the food was good.

Snacks and Afternoon Tea
Unfortunately you are unable to eat the snacks in the garden and we had to use the restaurant for the cooked snacks and you could use the restaurant and bar area for the afternoon tea. The burgers are fantastic and most guests said the same. Cakes were a little dry but I didn't hear anyone complaining so I guess it could be just me.

Dinner
Overall first class, I didn't hear one guest saying anything negative. Three nights buffet, each of these nights were themed and we were spoilt for choice. Four nights set menu which consists of four courses.

Drinks
I think that the hotel really needs to rethink the drinks in the all inclusive and overall. The alcoholic drinks tasted very much the same. If you don't drink alcohol, I think you will really get board quickly. There were four alcoholic cocktails and only one which was non alcoholic. The juices used in the drinks were very cheap. There was no way of upgrading to pay for different cocktails as they didn't have the ingredients to do so. The drinks you can purchase at a cost are sambuca, red label whiskey and tequila. We got through the two weeks but did drink out on a couple of occasions which did help. I tried the wine at dinner which was quite bad but I would not have expected anything better.

Reception Staff
Upon arrival at the hotel the welcome was nonexistent, it was extremely poor and unprofessional. We were left sitting there waiting for someone to turn up and see us. However when they did finally arrive, they were courteous and explained the "Rules" of the hotel. For example the times for food and what's included in the all inclusive. We were then given a drink before we were escorted to our room by the porter.
If you are arranging a tour through the hotel ensure that they explain everything to you including the costs.
We had a situation where the hotel quoted a price saying it was cheaper to book through them (Walking with the lions). If you do book through the hotel, please ensure that everything is explained in advance to avoid any misunderstandings.
We booked another package with the hotel for parasailing and undersea walk which was a quoted price by the hotel in full. We booked a double for parasailing but when we arrived at the site we were told that the wind was not strong enough to take two people together even though a couple just finished before us. The parasailing person advised that we would have to parasail separately and we asked if it would be at the same price the hotel quoted, which they said yes. After we both completed the parasailing the person asked us for more money and already had the hotel reception staff on the phone. This was the second time we had a complaint with the hotel. We were asked to speak to the hotel reception staff on their mobile which we did. The hotel reception staff pleaded with us to pay the extra money otherwise he would lose his job. We did not pay anything extra and told the hotel to take it up directly with the parasailing company. I wonder if the additional charge was a money making attempt between the hotel reception person and the parasailing company. (Parasailing company is in Bel Mar which is about a ten minute taxi ride from the hotel).
Overall the reception staff were very good but we encountered a few problems throughout our stay. I will of course give the benefit of the doubt but please air on the side of caution. Please note that not all the reception staff get things wrong.

Room/Room Staff
We booked the sea view room. I would say the best sea view rooms are between 401 and 405. As other reviews mention rooms are very clean and the man who cleaned our room was great and went out of his way to help us. He designed things using the towels which is normal but he went that little bit extra and used a few bits of our clothing too!

Restaurant and Bar Staff
I would say 95% of the staff were exceptional. You will always get the odd 5% anywhere you go! I have not had such good service anywhere else and I have travelled quite a bit. The staff in this area are second to none and really made the holiday special. Even the chefs/cooks are extremely pleasant.

Taxis
All I can say is, expensive expensive, expensive and watch out! The taxis at the hotel are not employed by them so in theory they could have you over a barrel. The hotel list the prices for the taxi journeys (which can be negotiated) but get the hotel to agree the total price with the taxi driver first before accepting. I do realise that tourists can be charged a lot more but be careful. Three out of four incidences the taxi driver tried to get more money out of us. One taxi driver tried to charge us 100% extra! If you agree the price in advance, stick to it and never pay the taxi driver any money until you return back to the hotel.

Hotel Entertainment
It's very general, the same band five nights of the week. They have a sega show on Saturdays which was ok. The acoustic band on Thursdays in my opinion is quite bad but others may really like it. The main entertainment person has worked at the hotel for 20 years.

Summary
My review may sound a little on the negative side, but all in all, I had a great time and enjoyed my stay. Majority of the hotel staff were certainly well trained in customer service (minus a few which you get anywhere). It's a small friendly hotel where you can get to know other guests. I can understand why people return to the Silver Beach.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms 401 to 405 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#3 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
102 reviews
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
534 reviews
21.5 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: $145 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing