We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday, basic clean 3* hotel with wonderful 5* staff”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I can't understand why anyone would complain about this hotel.

Myself and my husband stayed there at the end of October - beginning of November this year.

When we arrived at the hotel we were met with a smile and given a cold towel and a cocktail, much appreciated after a 2 hour delay. The staff introduced themselves and showed us to our room, which was light and airy and exceptionally clean. Cleaner that a lot of so called 4* hotels in Britain.

All the staff in the hotel were exceptionally friendly, Rakesh the young man that was our room valet ensured our room was spotless throughout our stay.

The hotel is small and intimate which means that getting to know other guests is fairly unavoidable, but that made our holiday all that much better as we made some very good friends. the first week we were there the hotel was very quiet, however, the second week it was full, I have got to admit I did prefer it quiet, but even when it got busy the service didn't suffer.

Why people complain about the cemetary is beyond me, it has no adverse affect on the hotel at all.

The food throughout the fortnight was varied. some nights were buffet service and other nights were table d'hote. You also had the option some nights of ordering lobster, which I did on a couple of occasions and I wasn't disappointed.

We did the trip to Ille de deux Cocos, that was a very relaxing day indeed and the buffet lunch was exceptional. Whilst on this trip there were some guest from the Legends hotel which is a 5* hotel, on returning to our hotel they were horrified to see that there was only 1 small pool and found it rather beneath them, however, whichever way you look at it you can only use one pool at any one time, so what's the problem?

The only thing that did leave a little to be desired was the entertainment at night, the singers tended to be average and a bit too loud making conversation difficult at times, however, the Sega nights were great fun.

If you want 5*, pay for it and go 5*, don't go to this lovely little intimate hotel and then come on here and rip shreds off it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loopyloo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

Once again we spent our holiday at this hotel, last year 3 weeks, this year 4 weeks.
We met several couples who come back year after year. This is not however a hotel for young children, as apart from a smallish swimming pool, there are no facilities.
The staff were wonderful and friendly, it says alot about the management, if i say that nearly all the staff were there last year.
Probably better weather if we had gone a little later in the year (Mid Nov to mid Dec).
Note weather tends to be very humid.
This year we took a speedboat trip to an exotic island near the airport, dont ask the price, i just remember a wonderfull day out!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnofbradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We had a fantstic holiday. nothing was too much trouble. If i didn't like any particular food the staff immediately offered an alternative, all with a big smile. i felt totally relaxed. the beach immediately by the hotel has a lot of coral so plastics shoes are a must, This applies to many beaches as a coral reef surrounds the island. This is the 2nd time we have been and we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We've been taking our children to this hotel since 2001 (clocking up 6 visits in total) and would have a riot on our hands if we tried to go back without them. It's where the younger two learnt to swim.

The staff have become great friends over that time and they are what makes this place very special indeed. It's a 3* hotel and (accommodation/facilities wise) that is what you get. If you want 5* then pay the extra for it and go elsewhere.

The service and welcome, on the other hand, are absolutely brilliant. After we've booked to go again we look forward to it all year because we know we'll be able to relax and really enjoy ourselves when we get there with no worries about whether it will live up to expectation or not.

The staff are fantastic with the children - when we first went our youngest was 3 years old and all the staff made it their business to see that she was OK. They offered to have something else made for her if she didn't want anything from the menu, they talked to her as if she was a human being rather than a nuisance, and generally made a fuss of her, which made us all more relaxed.

Our boys are now teenagers (the eldest having left school) and haven't ever complained about the lack of nightlife, but then they are bookworms and also condescend to play cards with us in the evenings. If they do get bored they just go and chat to someone more interesting - usually the bar staff.

Another reason we keep going back is for the island itself. There is plenty to do and explore - hire a car, get on a bus or book a taxi but get out and see some of it.

We know a few people who are returnees like ourselves and we all agree on why we keep going back - partly the island and partly the hotel (particularly the staff).

If you're one of those people that doesn't 'get' it then that's fine. By all means find somewhere you prefer so there'll be rooms free for us when we want to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busymumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

My goodness, reading some of the reviews of this hotel would make you think some of the guest had been in a POW camp. No doubt about it, this is a 3 star resort but the staff, location and cleanliness are 5 star by my reckoning. My husband and I never go on holiday to sit around for a fortnight. We went to Mauritius to discover all that it had to offer. We chose Le Tropical for the reasonable AI price as we knew we would then be able to explore all the wonderful places that make Mauritius what it is. We spent most days off the resort going deep sea fishing, catamaran trips, swimming with dolphins, visiting some of the small islands, visiting the wildlife parks, whale watching, seeing volcanos, watching the waves break on the southcoast, marveling at the sacred lake, the list goes on and on. On the days we staying in resort we relaxed a bit and enjoyed the pool, glassbottom boat and the shuttle to Ille aux cerf. The best free activity at the hotel was the snorkeling. You would never imagine such a variety and amount of underwater life to be seen just a few hundred yards from the hotel! The staff were always friendly and happy to do their best for you. Akbar always made sure our room was spotless, reception always had the answers we were looking for, and all the other guests were friendly without being OTT. Our only concern at the resort was the food. Although plentiful and creative we thought it lacked seasoning on most occassions, but there was always a salt shaker to be had. If you wanted to take food or drink back to your room, this wasn't a problem, they would take it for you.
So there you have it, decide whether you just want a sun lounger somewhere or whether you travel for 12 hours with a purpose to discover the world.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sevilla1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at Le Tropical recently and found it fine, I already knew from reviews that it would be ok but not fantastic , since I dont go on holiday to lie by a pool and not go anywhere this was ideal. Staff were very friendly, having read negative reviews they all seem to be from people who would be better off at Butlins or Cyprus where they can vegetate with the other moaners, mind you they would probably find fault there as well. I think 90% is how you approach the staff, all my requests were handled efficiently and in a very nice way. Who cares about a cemetery nearby for gods sake? If you want to pitpick then you can do it about any place you go. I would recommend it, the trips to the nearby island are great and although the food was not 'haute cuisine' I am not sure this exists in a place that imports almost everything. Rooms were fine. I would go back there if I went to Maurituis.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

being a local, i got this hotel free of charge with my air ticket. 2 nights stay in a hotel. why not? i read about it online and it was not that bad.
The moment we drove inside the alley towards the hotel, the first thing that you noticed was that it was next to a cemetry. (some of the rooms even oversee the tombs!!!) but that did not stop us.
Small reception with couple of staff: one of the ladies started to brief us about the stay in Le Tropical. She was like a robot to us, repeating series of words withut even looking at you. Then i did inquire to book another room for my sister who was accompanying me. but the reception could not respond for they had to call their HQ reservation!!!
The price came back to be so expensive that you would not even think that was a 3 star hotel!!! that was ok. we declined. i will stay on my own.
So let's go to my room - no guest is allowed inside the room or hotel premises!!!! you wonder whether this is a strict convent school?
the GM came out to talk but it did not help for he was rude and sacarstic. his constant statement was: it's the same in every hotel. "i beg to differ, Sir" i kept insisting. every good international hotel allows guests and visitors...
Even a cheap 2 star hotel in HangZhou, Orange hotel did so much better in terms of staff service and state!!!!
i am so disapointed that i am actually reviewing one of the hotels in my own hometown! a total disgrace!!! it was a free stay that i have turned down flatly!!! even if you pay me to stay, i would never even consider!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rinoalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
860 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,759 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,491 reviews
18.1 mi away
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: $72 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing