We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Mauritius”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvelous Mauritius”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just back from a wonderful holiday at the Tropical Attitude in Mauritius. Having read many reviews about this hotel we selected this for our two week stay and I must say what a great choice, The staff without doubt made our stay a most enjoyable one and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were constantly asked if everything was OK and did we have any problems of which we had none. The rooms were spacious and were very clean with a view to die for. This hotel has only 60 rooms all sea view and one of the main reasons we choose it as you do not just become a room number but someone who endeavors to make your holiday a special one. The hotel manager Jean-Paul was always available for a chat and advice on where to visit. A special thank you to Karen who cooked some wonderful breakfasts and lunches and also Sunil our waiter who looked after us with his utmost attention. , Having traveled to many corners of the world this small hotel was one of the best and we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goanlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you were totally satisfied with the hotel facilities as well as the attentive service of our staff, the Family Members and we would like to thank you for your wonderful review.

Your post has been shared with all the members of the staff including Karen and Sunil who were deeply touched by your kind words.

I was personally very happy to meet you and I really hope that you will give me the opportunity to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude for more chats!

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    387
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
163
1,170
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Tropical Attitude for a week in May 2013. Rooms and sea views are lovely - could never tire of the sea view from the balcony. Drink is great - they certainly don't let you sit with an empty glass. Food is good, although choice is a little limited, which I've never really experienced at an All Inclusive resort. There are buffett nights and a la carte nights, which mostly comprised of either a chicken/pork dish or malin fish dish, so hopefully you like the malin fish. I liked the malin fish, but had hoped to try different fresh fish most nights.

If you're a sun worshipper like myself, it's not the best spot for sunbathing. The pool is constantly in the shade and you have to move sunbeds along the beach to chase the sun. We lay on the jetty to catch the last couple of hours of sun, but it was worth it for the beautiful views. The beach at front of the hotel isn't a sunbathing beach but if you walk along to the left of the hotel, the beaches are lovely. The hotel takes you over in the boat to Ie Aux Cerfs island, which is a much nicer beach to sunbathe at. Simply book at the boat house the day before and order packed lunch from bar and spend the day in the sunshine. Be careful of the sea urchins though, but the water is so clear you can see them.

We had a massage at the hotel - would highly recommend. It was a little price - approximately £75 for 90 minutes but it was worth every penny. We also done the catamaran trip to the west of the island to see the dolphins, which was amazing. We booked this with the boat house at the hotel directly as it was much cheaper than booking with the rep (about £20 for full day trip which included drink and bbq'd food on the boat). Saw hundreds of dolphins. Would highly recommend. We also done the Walking with Lions excursion, which we did book through the rep for about £120. Again, would highly recommend this excursion.

All in all, had a lovely week at the Tropical Attitude. The rooms, staff and sea views were amazing. Some of the evening singing entertainers had the X-Factor too!

Room Tip: Request upper landing for better views (although trees do block view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlasgowChellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Tropical Attitude.

We are happy that you have spent great holidays with us and that you have enjoyed our free boat transfers to Ile aux Cerfs island.

We take good note of your remarks.

We hope to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got back to the uk on 23 May 2013 after spending 12 nights at Le Tropical, just the two of us. We couldn't have booked a better place to have got married and spend our honeymoon. We were totally spoilt from the moment we arrived to the moment we left and nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. This is one of the reasons why we booked this hotel. After reading so many excellent reviews, and not expecting 5 star luxury, we knew this would be the perfect hotel and location for us. I cannot thank the staff enough for everything they did for us, especially Benedicte who was my guardian angel! Every time I was worried about something to do with the wedding arrangements it was as if she read my mind and waved her magic wand. Big thank you to Sandra and Louise for being our 'spontaneous' witnesses, you made the day very special for us with your hubby's and friends. We had such an amazing special holiday. It may not be 5 star overall but it is definitely 5 star service, views from the rooms, helpfulness of staff and so much more. We've got the holiday blues and want to go back already!

Room Tip: The best views are from the first floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel, Tropical Attitude, for your wedding and your honeymoon. You nice review has been shared with all the staff, the Family Members, including Benedicte who was really touched by your kinds words.

We are really delighted to read that the hotel facilities as well as the attentive service of the staff were up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude… to celebrate together your first wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,
Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Informal hotel in beautiful setting. Relaxing. Lovely food.Chilled atmosphere, warm and friendly. Nothing too much trouble - want to go back!! Paradise. Felt at home.Surrounding beaches beautiful. Hotel very clean. Pool lovely. Shop a little expensive.

Room Tip: Sea View - divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you felt at home when staying at Tropical Attitude.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in “your home”.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I have recently stayed at the Tropical Attitude for ten nights and I have to say that we had a wonderful holiday albeit not without problems. The view from our room was stunning one of the best we have experienced. The service we received from the staff was pleasant, friendly and cordial; however, five stars it is not and if anyone has experienced five star service they would soon notice the difference. We unfortunately got off to a bad start with both electrical and hot water problems, which were eventually sorted by maintenance but let down by reception who failed to pass on our problems that resulted in a lost opportunity to resolve our issues earlier. The management team made up for our poor start and we were very grateful.
The hotel lies on the East Coast of Mauritius opposite the Il aux cerfs and operates a free shuttle boat daily to and from the island from where you can Para sail, water ski, sunbathe and many other activities. Before you go you can order a packed lunch which the hotel will make up for you. Although the hotel does not have its own beach you can walk to an excellent one within five minutes. From the hotel you can explore on bicycles, you can play table tennis or book a day trip on a catamaran, those who went on the catamaran raved about it.
The food is excellently prepared and cooked, although sometimes limited in choice but if there is something you prefer the chefs were flexible enough to put themselves out to accommodate you. We would like to take this opportunity to thank the management for turning our holiday around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel Tropical Attitude.

We are delighted to read that the view from your room was “one of the best” you have experienced and that you spent a great holiday with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in “our home”.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tropical Attitude Mauritius All Inclusive
This place has such a lovely warm welcoming feeling. We met some fantastic folk who made the holiday very special including locals who were very hospitable and kind.

Reception

All the reception staff is very informative and helpful. On arrival your greeted with a drink and sat in a relaxed environment near the pool while they sort your check-in details. Everything is explained clearly. You are guided to your room which all have sea views.

Rooms

The rooms are basic but more than acceptable for a 3 star facility, the air conditioning was very good in our room. The fridge was filled daily with water, cola and beer. Should you require an alternative I’m sure the request would have been met. The bathrooms are a little tired but more than fine. We did have a leaky toilet situation but that was rectified by maintenance relatively quickly.
The bed was fantastic, very large and comfortable and the bed decorations are stunning as you return from your day you wonder what you will be greeted with, our variation were elephants, swans and heart made up from your spare beach or bathroom towels and sarong’s.
The TV (although we rarely watched it) except for BBC world service was mainly in French, 3 channels with an occasional movie played in from DVD not a very good signal for BBC.

Surroundings

The surrounding areas are kept meticulously clean the ground staffs are out as early as 6am cleaning the small sandy area and water line and path ways. The beach area directly out of the rooms is very small and not great for sunbathing but fine for splodging and paddling but a short walk brings you to an alternately space with attractive sands and views and swimming for the stronger swimmers.

Restaurant

The All Inclusive offers a good selection of meals; the staff is wonderful in their attention and run special evenings with an a la carte type arrangement keeping it interesting. Breakfast was always fun with Karen the omelette egg lady. Should you wish to venture out to eat there are several good restaurants, Tino’s especially great quality food and value for money. It’s worth taking a cab at night to visit.

Excursions

Lots of good trips on offer. The free boat trip to the island is a good day out and the local catamaran trip is a must offering a day’s sailing (R1000 P/P), parasailing (R1800 per couple) snorkelling, great food and drinks provided in with your (R1000 P/P) and a visit to the island or if you want stay on the catamaran and swim in the Indian Ocean that’s fine too, again the crew are fantastic and keep the party going. We travelled as a group of 8 in a mini bus with couples we met at the hotel, a great deal negotiated by Kenny for the minibus and driver for the day got us around the south of the Island hitting the main sights including seven colours of soil, Hindu temples, Volcano creator (dormant thankfully) Waterfalls and Black river Gauge and national park. A very good day and relatively inexpensive the hotel provides a pack lunch upon request and they even filled a cooler box with water, beers and soft drink for our day out.
The Market at Flacq is a must visit with fresh fruit and veg in abundance along with all the clothing you could imagine R700 gets you a cab there and back and the driver waits up to 3 hours for you.
All in All we loved the experience at this accommodation and look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on your stay at Tropical Attitude which has been shared with all the members of the staff, including Karen.

We are delighted to read that you liked the hotel and its staff, the Family Members and we are glad to see that you have enjoyed your trip to Mauritius.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we have just returned home from this hotel and we had a fab time,we met great people and the staff well where do i start they are lovely friendly people and they do there job fantastic nothing is too much trouble for them,a special thanks to Ackbar who looked after our room the flower arrangements that he left were lovely and the towel animals were nice as well our room was always spotlessly clean thank you ackbar.The only fault we could find was the amount of palm trees outside rooms as the sun couldnt always get through and you were always moving your sunbed,but you could go across to the island which is only a small boat journey away and it is free it was lovely there nice beach.We would also recommend going on a Mauritius nght which we did and we were one of the first to do this at this hotel we went to one of the staffs house and met his wife,daughter and his mum they made dinner for us [there was us and another couple] and let us help with the cooking their hospitality was fantastic as it was their first time doing this as well.Thanks to all staff and new friends for making our holiday a great holiday.Gerry&Linda.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Gerry & Linda,

Thank you very much for your heartfelt review and your appreciations towards our hotel and staff, the Family Members.

We are delighted to read that you made the most of your holidays while staying at the Tropical Attitude.

We take good note of your comment regarding the palm trees, however please note that these trees are necessary during the summer season as they provide some shade and our summer can be very hot.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
18.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing