We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully Relaxed Attentive Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Relaxed Attentive Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our first experience of Mauritius and hopefully it won't be our last. First impressions were of a very special place and to be greeted by the manager on arrival was something special for us. We had a slight hiccup over the withdrawal of the sailing facility which our tour operator seemed incapable of resolving but which was quickly sorted after we spoke directly with the Manager. Our regret was that we didn't approach him directly earlier but tried to go through the formal channels. The boat house staff were great fun and very helpful. It is a shame that with such a perfect setting the sailing facility has been removed although as experienced sailors we can appreciate the problems in running it. Our room attendant was very accomodating and patient when I tried to learn how to make towel sculptures! Karen and Cristoff in particular need special mention in the dining room. As others have said, they learn your preferences and the service is attentive but inconspicuous. I can understand why people keep returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you don't want a long walk for cocktails choose 1-300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GERoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude including the boat house staff, Karen and Christophe, I would like to thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us.

We would be delighted to seeing you again at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    378
    121
    36
    24
See reviews for
159
1,136
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a superb honeymoon at the Tropical Attitude. The Tripadvisor reviews convinced us that this hotel should be our choice in Mauritius. From the outset, we were absolutely blown away with the gorgeous location of this property. What you see in the pictures, is exactly what you get! We were greeted by a courteous staff member and given a room (107) with a stunning view of the pier and the Mauritian coastline. We were however a bit unfortunate with the weather, (cyclone Dumile decided to play spoil sport!), but we felt safe and secure at the resort with their regular updates about Dumile. The Resort manager took time out to speak to us personally and suggest what we could/couldn't, should/should'nt do with the weather playing truant; advice which was very helpful.

The view from the room was so picture perfect, that we enjoyed a few mornings just lazing in bed watching the calm and blue waters. After the hectic wedding celebrations, lying down and relaxing with the serene view in front of us was just the ride remedy to recover from all the wedding madness! hahaha.....

We booked a boat trip to the beautiful Ile aux Cerfs island/s and were warmly greeted and taken there and back by Jean. The hotel provides this service free. Make sure you book a day earlier. Since I had my snorkelling gear with me, I jumped off the pier and snokelled around the area. I have had better experiences snorkelling elsewhere in the world as I was able to spot a variety of fish and life underwater compared to area I snorkelled at in Mauritius. We were a bit disappointed that the resort did not let out their snorkelling gear for swimming near the hotel citing safety concerns (wrt to speedboats in the vicinty). The hotel lets out well maintained cycles to explore areas near Trou d'Eau Douce. We had an enjoyable ride up the coast to Belle Mare and back. We cycled on the beach and the area with pine trees hugging the shore. The beauty of the area is absolutely breath-taking.

Most of our evenings were spent at the restaurant where they served different cuisines buffet/À la carte. We were pleasantly surprised when we were offered a honeymoon special dinner on account of the hotel. Sunil and Arvin who interacted with us regularly at the restaurant were friendly and very efficient. Look out for the lightning fast Yuvraj who conducts a very swift service with a smile for guests seated at the area of the restaurant facing the sea. Breakfast served here is a standard menu offering a full English breakfast every morning.

Every evening the resort arranged for musicians to serenade the guests. We particularly enjoyed the guitarist violinist duo who did fantastic renditions of known retro hits and folks songs. Also on most evenings a table near the pool/snooker area was arranged where local handicrafts were sold. Another interesting show was the local dance performed at pool side with percussionists showing off their skills.

All in all we had a very memorable and relaxing holiday at the Tropical Attitude and we would recommend this place to anyone who would like their honeymoon here.

Room Tip: 107 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rak027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to recommend Tropical Attitude to other travelers. Your warm appreciations of Tropical Attitude and its personnel have been shared with all the Family Members.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon at Tropical Attitude!

We have well noted your comments regarding the snorkelling gear. The safety of our customers is paramount and this procedure ensures that there are no accidents. The constant movements of boats in front of the beach is unfortunately uncontrollable. We do appreciate your understanding on this important issue.

Sunil and Arvin were very happy to meet you and they are honoured by your compliments.

It was a pleasure welcoming you to Tropical Attitude and we look forward to seeing you again in Mauritius,

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent holiday at this small hotel where all the rooms look over the sea, with probably the best view on the island. Everyone is so friendly - excellent staff. We were spoiled, but then it was our 17th visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Milner,

We are touched by your warm and kind words on your recent stay at Tropical Attitude and are truly grateful for your recommendation to other travelers. All the Family Members join me to thank you.

We would be pleased to welcome you once again for your 18th stay in Tropical Attitude next time you visit our island,

With kindest regards,

Jean-Paul Martin,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at this hotel.. We loved the fact that it was a small hotel and very international with everyone interacting. The staff are amazing it definitely has a family vibe, and the staff make you feel so welcome. Thanks to Karen and her smiles every morning as well as the excellent food, sorry we missed you to say goodbye. The room was lovely it felt as though you had your own private beach as you looked out. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax, eat well and enjoy good company. The village also offers great food if you want to go out for a change and a cycle ride to Belle Mare is a great option if its a bit cloudy. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Samantha,

I would like to thank you for your nice review and kind words on our hotel and personnel. It’s always a pleasure to read that the attentive service of our ‘Family Members’ helped make your stay more enjoyable.

We have passed on your warm appreciations to all the staff, including Karen.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just returned from our fourth time at the Tropical Attitude. The recent renovations have improved the hotel, but the one area that cannot be improved on is the staff - from the moment you arrive to your departure - nothing is too much trouble. It is the perfect place to relax and recharge. Thanks to at the hotel for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Singo3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Tropical Attitude on TripAdvisor.

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your fourth stay at Tropical Attitude and we are glad we met your expectations.

Your kind words on the staff have been shared with all Tropical Attitude Family Members.

We look forward to seeing you for a fifth time at Tropical Attitude,

My kindest regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have just returned from 17 nights at this hotel and we loved every minute of it.
The moment you step into the hotel you get a world class experience that you would never get at most 5 star hotels around the world. Our room was beautiful, we lay in bed looking at the sea every mornig and it is a memory that will last. The staff really listen to you and remember your personal preferences from drinks to meals and excursions and even the manager John Paul was the best manager we have experienced in a hotel. He knows so much of the island and history/ culture/ religion, he suggested excursions, which i must say made our holiday so much more and one we will never forget. we actually swam with humpback wales.
The staff that went beyond our expectations were Sonny and Cristoff, thankyou so much to them for making our holiday the best.
We will be returning to the hotel for our next holiday. x

Room Tip: All the rooms have the most amazing view, we were happy to be further away from the main building as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pullupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude, I would like to thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. Your warm words and recommendation to other travelers honor us.

Christophe and Sunny were happy to have been able to make your holiday enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

just returned from tropical attitude ,amazing people friendly attmosphere,value for money.hygenic rooms and pool .relaxing and stress free.good food and staff service is excellent .
a hotel i would return to again and again .no noise heard and my sister stayed in room 102 was perfect.thanks to all the staff for making our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation on Tropical Attitude.
We are especially grateful for your appreciations of the attentive service of our ‘Family Members’.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our ‘tropical paradise’,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
18.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing