We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable anniversary”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“memorable anniversary”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Chose Mauritius for our Ruby Wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We prefer smaller hotels and in the case of the Tropical Attitude hit the jackpot as all the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The welcome by Mohan was good giving plenty of information and also enquiring of any special needs in relation to food etc. He was aware of anniversary and on the day the hotel provided fruit, sparkling wine etc in our room. Sammy also put together a special menu for our dinner that night. The rooms were kept spotless, the food and service in the restaurant were excellent and the menu provided a good variety of meals. When reading some reviews I thought we were at a different hotel as the staff were brilliant with nothing too much trouble and quite happy to chat with us. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a relaxing holiday, thanks to all concerned. Dave & Jen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Dave and Jen,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Tropical Attitude for your Wedding Anniversary.

It was our pleasure welcoming you in our Hotel and we are happy that you keep a great souvenir of your Holiday with us.

Your warm appreciations have been shared with all the team members.

We hope to have the opportunity to seeing you again at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    389
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
163
1,178
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We travelled here after just picking out the holiday off the internet and weren't disappointed at all. It's not the most luxurious of places, however we had an amazing time. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble and the food was lovely for the price we paid. the hotel is being renovated but it didn't spoil our time away at all.
The weather dipped a little during our stay, but it was the onset of winter and we both managed to come away with a tan anyway.
I would recommend the resort to anyone and suggest a trip to the west of the island on a catamaran organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Stephen,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude I would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel to other travellers.

We are happy to read you had a great time in Mauritius and that the customized service of our Family Members helped to make your Holiday a memorable one.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude,

Warm regards,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have recently returned from our holiday in Mauritius and found that the hotel was everything we hoped for. We found the staff and management to be extremely accommodating and friendly, going the extra mile to accommodate choice. An overall excellent holiday, good food, very clean pleasant accommodation. Thank you for a lovely experience of Mauritius

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view and appear to have the same high standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Linda,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay at Tropical Attitude with other travelers: it is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their Holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We would be happy to welcome you again at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned yesterday from 14 days at this hotel. We have had a lovely relaxing 14 days and cannot praise the hotel enough. The rooms were spot loss, with beautiful sea views. The staff were very friendly. The food was very good, my brother in law is a very fussy eater, who wont try anything different, and when we asked if it was possible for him to have an alternative, this was never a problem. The bar staff were always on hand with a drink when it was needed (never had to go to the bar). I have never reviewed a hotel before, but we all felt that this hotel had gone that extra mile to make our holiday extra special. Thank you to all staff. Having the free shuttle to the island was a major bonus (visit the island it is beautiful). Southall/Pringle

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilasouthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sheila,

All the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude joins me to thank you for your positive review on Tropical Attitude: we feel privileged that you took the time to share your feedback on your stay (especially if you’ve never done it before).

I am pleased that our Hotel and the personalized service of our personnel met your expectations.

We would be delighted to seeing you back at Tropical Attitude,

All the best,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Been at the hotel for one week, I think I am now ready to submit my opinion of this hotel. You must remember that this is only a 3 star hotel and you only get what you pay for.
These are the good points:
Staff very friendly and polite in most cases. Rooms kept clean every day. Free boat to the local island. Free use of bikes, WIFI. Daily trip with the glass bottom boat, however not yet used this facility.

The bad points:
The general quality of the food is poor and normally only warm.
Lack of choice, even though e menu changes each day it is mainly chicken, fish doen in a different way. We had a Chinese last night, requested soya sauce to add to the taste, didn't know what this was. Chinese chicken tasted like chicken soup. If part of your holiday is to sit and enjoy a well cooked meal then I suggest you think twice about coming to this location.
There is no beach that you can sunbath, however, a short walk will take you to a quiet spot where you can relax and swim. The other factor to note is the wind. The East part of the island is always windy.
In summary not a bad place to stay, bit run down and lacks the small touches that makes any hotel rin smooth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quartermaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at Tropical Attitude.

We have very positively taken note of your remark regarding the food and although we offer a different themed culinary program every night (Indian, European, Mauritian, Chinese...), we understand that it may sometimes not be to your liking. We would like to encourage future guests to reach out to us as our Chef can prepare something a bit different, better suited to your taste.

The East coast is blessed by the winds during the winter season, making it a favorite playground for Kitesurf and Windsurf. However as mentioned in your post, we offer free daily trips to Ile aux Cerfs, one of the most beautiful islands (and beaches) in Mauritius and guests can also enjoy the nearby beach situated 150 meters from the Hotel. Those offer good alternatives and sheltered spots.

Please rest assured that we will bring the corrective actions to maintain Tropical Attitude as a 3 star Sup hotel and ensure the best service for our valued guests.

Yours sincerely,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I am currently staying at the Tropical Attitude (Le Tropical on booking sites such as icelolly).
I am a few days in and just thought that I would share some stuff. I will update you if anything changes.
I love the location though as described in other posts, the east side of the island is windy. Tropical Attitude is located in a nice spot overlooking a bay. True the beach is no a beach as such but there is one a few minutes walk. I have not yet been to Ile aux cerfs so I cannot comment. see later post.
Staff - friendly but not attentuve at all. The easiest way to get a drink is to go to the bar and order and they will bring it to your table. (although getting their attention at the bar is easier said than done if they are having a particularly interesting conversation)
Food - Good but....for some reason they have set menu most nights which means little choice. No vegetarian option shown though if you ask them (every night) for one they will provide you with what they have. I try to avoid carbs but that is a no no. I have tried for two days and was just so hungry that I had to give in. Just a little sad and saved me rom actually becoming annoyed.
TV - dont bank on it. On the best day there is 3 channels. Bbc, 1 french and one sport. Today there is only one and it isnt BBC news sadly.
Will update again later

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_loves_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Clifford Kwok at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your post and would be happy to get your feedback on your entire stay at Tropical Attitude (as you mentioned in your review).

We look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beach looks lovely in photos, but you cannot sit on it, as it is covered in large pieces of broken coral. Very limited food choice in restaurant and generally food of a poor standard with very little flavour. Staff generally reserved, not friendly and welcoming. Told by restaurant staff that I was late going to dinner and restaurant was really closed now, however hotel information stated it was open for another half an hour! Saw a mouse running around in restaurant one night at dinner! Went on a tour of the island organised by the hotel and although we visited some interesting places, we made several stops of no interest, where we were encouraged to spend money on expensive tat we didnt want! Such places were a carpet shop, jewellery shop, and gift shop specialising in minature model boats in a bottle. we spent approx 40 minutes at each of these locations and were harassed by the vendors. Complete waste of our time and considering we paid £80 each for the day tour, we were very disappointed by this!!! My advice don't go!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,

It is with great disappointment that we read negative comments on our property and we regret that you did not enjoy your Mauritian week with us.

We note that your review is being posted after 4 months (you stayed at the hotel in May 2012) and rest assured that we have taken good note on your comments about the service you have experienced.

I would nevertheless like to bring some precisions:

• Tropical Attitude offers several options as regards to the beach: we organize free daily shuttles to Ile aux Cerfs (one of the main attractions of Mauritius, loved for its white sandy beaches and its relaxed atmosphere) several times a day so that our guests can freely hop –in hop-off as many times as they wish during their stay. There is also a nice, long beach located 150 m from the hotel accessible by foot which is general popular with our clients. Previous pictures of Tropical Attitude have been removed by our Marketing team (almost a year ago) but however some of our partners may not have updated our Hotel page and we regret the inconvenience this may have been caused.

• We try to cater to the different tastes of our clientele by offering a different theme buffet every night (from Gala dinner with 5 courses to Indian, Mauritian or Chinese and the set menus) however we understand that it may not be to your liking. Once again, we would like to encourage future guests to reach out to us as our Chef can prepare something a bit different, better suited to your taste.

• Being on a tropical island and surrounded by gardens, small shrew mice are part of the local natural environment and can sometimes be found on our premises – despite the rigorous pest control procedures carried out in our Hotel (standard in all Hotels in Mauritius).

• Lastly please note that we do regret that you did not enjoy your excursion however we are not whatsoever involved directly in their organization (this is taken care of by taxis and local agencies).

Tropical Attitude may have been different from other hotels you have experienced in the past ; it remains a good 3-star sup and value for money property in the Mauritian environment.

Yours sincerely,

Clifford Kwok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
768 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,325 reviews
22.0 mi away
Recif Attitude
Recif Attitude
#4 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,419 reviews
18.1 mi away
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing