We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing, do not miss out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safran

Safran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing, do not miss out!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent a wonderful evening here whilst staying at le tousserok.

It was fairly busy but even so, having only booked a couple of days in advance, we got a table with a view of the lovely calm waters of the Indian Ocean.

The decor and staff are first class as you would expect, with authentic touches to really make it a special experience.

We ordered the tasting menu, and can honestly say it is the finest Indian themed cuisine I have had. The chef served each dish exquisitely presented. Fantastic tandoori lobster was a highlight, each dish having its own modern twist.

Yes it was pricey, but for me worth every penny. I must try if staying at le tousserok, and even worth a journey if you're not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aughton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely Indian restaurant, fantastic food and service, you really should give this one a try! The lobster is fantastic!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stellar”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My experience of Indian food is quite limited, but my wife has worked in India. This place is truly exceptional.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se Qld
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable Indian food ever.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was my wife's description of the meal we enjoyed recently. Considering we had traveled through India late last year, we were very happy with the food and service offered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Mauritius”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have had great curries in London and Delhi and yes this is very good but just short of the best around. The setting in the Tousserock is fantastic, food flavoursome but lacked a bit of spice for my palate, wine list could do with more varietal choices, the staff excellent and perhaps a bit on the expensive side.
Nice touches, like dividing our appetisers, chicken kebabs, samosa and pakoda, onto three separate plates nice attention to detail. Mains; Manglorean prawn, Thankgdi Murgh and Palak paneer all enjoyable. The staff are a highlight, attentive and helpful without being over bearing. All said and done, if the opportunity arises I would return here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noirien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safran also viewed

Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 

Been to Safran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing