We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $82 - $105
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Unique Restaurant galerie d' Art situe dans l'ancienne usine de canne a sucre Victoria 1840 a Trou d'Eau Douce - abrite la Fondation Maniglier derniere eleve de Matisse - gastronomie francaise faisant belle part aux prodruits frais de l'ile tels que langoustes entieres , filet de bar ou de bourgeois, poissons en croute de sel ,coeurs de palmistes frais braises ou en tartare accompagnes de Gambas geants poeles au Sauvignon Blanc ou d'un carpaccio de Dorade Coriphene, Chateaubriand Black Angus d'Australie, confit de Canard de Madagascar ect sauces servies a part - A la carte et sur reservation a partir de 19 hr 30. Possibilite de dejeuner sur reservation 24 hr a l'avance. Nous sommes specialises dans l'organisation de soirees privees et evenementielles haut de gamme eg : General Electric, Thomson Reuters , Canal Plus ect . .. Soirees Jazz a la demande. Boen a vous, Jocelyn Gonzalez
Aughton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I were very much looking forward to eating at this restaurant. The restaurant itself is situated in an old mill, very quirky with lots of art all around. We went on a Saturday evening and were the only people there. Although the staff were very nice it is very off putting being the only table in the restaurant. The food was very expensive and really not that special. Last time we ate there were at least one other couple, the owner told us to book at a weekend next time as it was busier, perhaps if it was less expensive they would do better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, I am so sad that you feel disappointed at Le Cafe des Arts,
If one day you come back to Mauritius, I will be pleased to welcome you and make with my team everything to provide you a beautiful evening.
Best regards,
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    9
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omsk, Russia
1 review
“Great Le Cafe des Arts!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

During a trip to Mauritius we visited Le Café des Arts Mautitius and were very pleased.
As my review you can read my letter to the owner of the restaurant:


"Dear Jocelyn!
It was very unexpectedly pleasantly to visit your restaurant!
From possible 10 points I would give everything 10: Great meeting of guests, the interior with ancient furniture and fantastic accessories, amazing pictures. We were pleasantly surprised by combination of high level of service and east hospitality. We felt that we were not in the restaurant and sit in a pleasant atmosphere at home. The meal was delicious and deserves an appreciation. Also I would like to note artfully selected music.
Our visit of your restaurant is one more occasion to return to Mauritius.
…"

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you so much taking time to post a great comment, it s all the time a great pleasure to welcome you at Cafe des arts for a memorable evening,
See you soon,
Kind regards,
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful memorable evening”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review on trip advisor but having enjoyed such a memorable evening at Le Cafe des Arts, I wanted to see what others had written.

Wow, I couldn't recommend enough. Wonderful food, wonderful staff, wonderful art and wonderful host. How lovely to meet such a charming man with so much love and pride in his mothers work, and quite rightly so.

This is a unique experience that is a must for all those who enjoy great food, excellent wine and are tired of their hotel restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review, even for us it s always a pleasure to welcome people who try to discover such special places for a nice experience.
All the team thank you,
With kind regards,
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

fantastic little cafe ideal for a coffee and meal and certainly a beautiful place to share a conversation with family and friends

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lily-Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and sharing this spécial evening with you,
Loking forward to see you very soon,
With kind regards,
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a brilliant evening with fantastic food and lovely staff, topped off with a great local band who played live music. The barn was covered in lovely paintings and the atmosphere was wonderful. Can thoroughly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
Google Translation
Cher client,
Merci pour votre délicat message, c est toujours avec grand plaisir que lisons vos appréciations et vous en remercions.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir prochainement au Café des Arts,
Bien a vous,
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing