We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise...!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea front penthouse apartment with pool on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea front penthouse apartment with pool on the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sea front penthouse apartment with pool on the beach
fishing and island trips organised at good rates.
fishing trips organised
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Trou aux Biches

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
anuprb
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise...!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I and my wife visited Mauritius for our honeymoon and stayed at Black Reef Mini penthouse and I must say the apartment is a paradise on its own. The setup is awesome with fully equipped kitchen, huge terrace and a huge double bed with 2 big wardrobe. But the highlight of our stay was magnificent sunset view from the terrace which is hard to miss. The apartment is located just at the end of 'S' bend of the road and all the local shops and restaurants are within a couple of minutes reach. But above all our stay was made memorable by Guy and Gabrielle with their prompt service and polite nature who we can't thank enough.Not only the rooms and property were cleaned on daily basis but Gabrielle helped to prepare breakfast and dinner as well all for a nominal charge. Guy also helped us to arrange for a scooter rental within couple of hours of our arrival. Once again we thank you Glenn for providing us a chance to stay at your apartment and enjoy the best moments of our life. Will definitely recommend stay at your apartment and would certainly love to come back soon. Thanks a lot and god bless.

Regards,
Anup

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2017
"Thank you for your stunning review Anup. The staff do make the stay even more pleasant and enjoyable. They try to make every guest feel at home and to relax and enjoy their holiday and go the extra mile to do this. I'm blessed to have such wonderful staff. As you say we pride ourselves with clean, neat well presented and furnished apartments which we own in Paris and Mauritius. Bon Voyage and until next time Kind Regards Glenn and the Team "Récif Noir Appartements / Black reef Apartments""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardmo...
Elsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful penthouse apartment with a large deck set in a canopy of trees overlooking the beach and the sea. The one bedroomed apartment is well equipped and furnished. The shared garden and pool are beautifully manicured and maintained and the premises are extremely secure and serviced daily by Gabrielle and her team.
The location is towards the southern end of Trou aux Biches which has some excellent restaurants and a good supermarket. The sea at the house is rocky so not ideal for swimming but great for snorkelling. The main sandy beach is just a short walk away but the next beach a shot distance to the north, Mont Choisy, is one of the best on the island. A hire car is recommended to allow exploration of Grand Baie, the Botanical Gardens, Ile aux Cerfs, the Black River Gorge and the Trou aux Cerfs volcanic crater.
A wonderful place to stay on an amazing island paradise!

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment and stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us. Welcome back anytime in the future here again or in Paris where we also have apartments. Until next time Bon Voyage.
Glenn and the TEAM, “Black Reef apartments” / “Récif Noir Appartements”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Huge Balcony on the Penthouse!”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Good location, great for sunsets. Clean, modern apartment, stairs can take some getting used to; I recommend the lower floors if you have trouble negotiating stairs. Also very private and secure apartment

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanking you for the review and using Black Reef Apartments. Welcome to try any of the other 2 lower apartments next time.
Kind regards
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ezis
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped and placed apartment. 10 minutes from main beach, but outside touristic area. Upper floor terrace was magnificent!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you for the review and it was a pleasure to host you and welcome back anytime !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobC77
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstandingly perfect ”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in the First Floor apartment, which in our view represents a far better experience than the photos show (these were either first or second floor). Either way, the location is quite perfect- right in the beach which although not a straight up sandy beach it offers brilliant snorkelling and the best sunset views in the world. Bar none. The pool is impeccably maintained on s daily basis, as are the gardens. The flat itself was unbelievably luxurious and ridiculously comfortable (the pillows are just insanely good?!?!?!!). The place is cleaned every day to a very high standard. Best bits: the incredible three-burner BBQ, the walk-in showers, the beds (did I mention the pillows?!?), the balcony and its huge relaxing/entertaining area WITH sunset views, the pool, the security (locked gate and cameras everywhere... not that you need them at all!), the pillows and the pillows. We couldn't recommend this place enough.

Anne was delightfully on hand to organise a deep sea fishing trip one morning: three Bonitos and four Dorados. And an early start!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thanks so much for being absolute wonderful guests ! Ahh the pillows are simply heaven and thanks to Glenn for sourcing such amazing comforts for the guests. Next time you must stay longer. An absolute pleasure for the fishing trip just so happy you enjoyed. Safe travels and blessings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
565lynn
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable apartment, pool and garden”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a month at black reef and was very pleased with the apartment. The pool, sunbeds and garden were kept immaculately and staff were very helpful.

Its a stroll into the village with a supermarket, fruit stalls and a few restaurants.

The only slightly annoying thing we had was a barking dog from a house behind which woke us up a few nights not that we could expect our apartment owners to do anything about though.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large balcony over the beach
Liked least: Dog noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
Thank you for your review and hope that you both are having a great stay in Cape Town. Wishing you well with your journeys!
Kind regards,
Glenn and Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendaliv...
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious top floor unit on the beach. Large fully equipped kitchen. Glen will advise you on the best street food stalls in the area. If you don't feel like the 10min walk to shezpopo and main beach take the bus(18rs).Go fishing on Glens boat Namlamer witch is equipped to catch marlin and game fish.
Book early. Don't miss out on this gem

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2015
Hi Brenda,

Have a great New Year and it was great to host you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing