We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
169
86
10
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
86
10
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak restaurantperfect place to enjoyboutique hotelgas burnercooking facilitiesquiet weekbeach frontresident managerwhite sand beachspecial thanksseafoodclear waterwhole weekrooms are biglarge hotelfantastic locationhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 283 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

It is a nice and quiet place with very helpful staff offering a good quality of service. Wish we could have stayed longer but we were obliged to shorten our stay. The sunset view and the beach are just wow.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pravesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DigitalMHP, Communication Team at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Pravesh,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience. We are delighted to read that the service of our dedicated team members and the location of our property pleased you. We would love to welcome you back soon for another amazing stay.
With warm regards,
Le Sakoa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Initially, we selected Le Sakoa because of its location - North/West side of the island. It was a perfect spot - sandy beaches, little to no wind. The hotel itself was very nice, tidy rooms, nice, big bathroom, wifi coverage was good, the restaurant was really good; service was good (accommodating team).

Two of the main highlights: we had a ground floor room, with a beautiful big terrasse. From there we could immediately see the beach (we were literally 30 sec away from the beach chairs). This was amazing because we really felt that we are in paradise on vacation - we wake up and we see the ocean; we sit on the terrasse in the evening and we smell the ocean. Really beautiful!

The other highlight would be the fact that the hotel is located very close by to a supermarket, little shopping area, pharmacy and other restaurants in the area.

All in all, it was an excellent choice to stay there for a quiet week on the beach.

Point for improvement: When we arrived, we tried to arrange a taxi pick up through the hotel. Unfortunately, we had an overnight flight and there was a mix up, so when we arrived there was no taxi waiting for us. Thankfully, there is a taxi stand just in front of the airport, so we quickly found an alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DigitalMHP, Communication Team at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Margarita,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience. There is no better satisfaction than reading you have enjoyed your stay at Le Sakoa and the cosy rooms with the terrace. Indeed, we feel amazing with the ocean view especially in the morning. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your arrival. We do look forward to welcome you back soon in Mauritius.
With warm regards,
Le Sakoa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Mauritius is a mix of multiple cultures and people from a lot of regions,so it was quite an interesting experience for us to visit the island.

We stayed at le Sakoa for 5 nights.
Initially we booked a garden room,and after the first night we decided we wanted to move to a seaview one. We were lucky because the honeymoon suite was available during our stay and for an extra charge we were able to change the room.

So,if you stay at le Sakoa definitely book a room with seaview. The feeling is totally different and it was worth it.
They have 16 rooms,it’s a small quaint hotel,but the staff is super friendly and they will always try to make you feel comfortable.

It’s never crowded at breakfast since they don’t have so many rooms,so we always had the sensation that the entire staff knew us.

We ran out of water one morning,and after the staff fixed the issue we were offered champagne and fruits as an apology.

So if you prefer a smaller, more intimate experience, I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Oana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DigitalMHP, Communication Team at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear Oana,
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed the magnificent ocean view. We have shared your lovely words with our team and they are delighted to read that the service provided was up to the level expected. We would love to welcome you back soon.
With warm regards,
Le Sakoa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Weather
Stayed between May 20 - 27, which is the start of the Winter in the southern hemisphere and also the dry season in Mauritius. Although most weather forecast (weather channel, accuweather etc.) showed rain and thunderstorms for the whole week, weather was almost always sunny, pleasant warm 26-28 during day, 22-24 (Celcius) during night. Sunshine, clouds and rain change significantly between different parts of the island. In the northwest where Le Sakoa is located, rains and clouds seem to happen in very short bursts, sunshine is plenty.

Beach
The beach in front of Le Sakoa is the description of a tropical paradise; white sand beach with surrounding palms, very calm ice blue sea in the morning turning to a brilliant turqoiuse in the afternoon and finally golden during the sunset. The white sand is silky soft, never gets hot, it’s actually a pleasure to walk barefeet. Trou aux Biches in general is a very nice beach but the white sand is at it’s best in front of Le Sakoa. There are multiple small boats anchored along the coast, while the bay would have looked better with less of them, the sea never got busy, so it was never a problem.

Location
We had a car and Le Sakoa offers parking just in front of the main gate, access is easy and quick. Driving around is easy, roads are in very good shape, high quality asphalts with almost no potholes. You can reach farthest part of the island in less than 2 hours, most destinations are much closer. Only Avoid Port Louis rush hour and drive around, not through. The hotel is close (5 min walk) to a supermarket, some shops, post office etc, so while you are secluded you are not isolated.

Rooms
We stayed in 2 rooms over 7 days, in a sea view and the honeymoon suite. Rooms are big with large beds and they have a large balcony or porch. Especially after we moved to the Honeymoon suit, we spend most of our time in the porch which happens to be just in front of the beach with direct views towards the sea. 24h security guarding the beach front area also made us feel so very secure, we became careless enough to leave stuff out at night on our easily accesible porch.

Restaurant
We like seafood and staying in a tropical island one of our main expectations were good seafood and I am glad to say these expectations was met. While I enjoyed all the food, some require special mention;

Seafood Tempura, We ordered this about 5 times on different days, mixture of fresh fried calamari, prawn, fish, oyster, all delicious.
Lobster and the sauce, The sauce was birilliant, made the lobster even better, we should have learned what it was
Prawn Cappucino: Brilliant seafood ‘drink’ / soup.
Fish and Eggplant Curry
Prawn & Coconut Curry
Heart of Palm salad

Staff
People are actually the most important factor in the hospitality sector, no matter how beatifuul your surroundings are, people are the main factor that make it a heaven. Luckily Le Sakoa is very good in this. The staff is most polite, friendly and helpful, going the extra mile where they can. 7+ days in such a boutique hotel, the experience gets very personal, you meet the same people every day, talk to them, they take a break for a couple of days and come back, it’s very important to enjoy being around them, and this was the case during our stay.

I would like to extend my personal thanks to all staff that we have met, and not met because they were working in the background i.e kitchen, cleaning, for making this stay one of the most wonderful ever. Also special thanks for Resident Manager Olivier Cerdor for personally taking care of us and converting our stay to a very good personal experience.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emir_taner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DigitalMHP, Communication Team at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Emir,
What a wonderful review to read! We truly appreciate your compliments and are absolutely delighted to read that you loved all the aspects of your stay. We have shared your kind words with our team, they are more than happy to learn that they have made your holidays a fabulous one. We would love to welcome you back soon.
With Warm regards,
Le Sakoa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

My partner and I , stayed at " Le Sakoa Hotel " for our honeymoon , I command the Hotel for its excellent customer service which was spot on from the Front office to the Food and Beverage staff. The rooms are spacious and its perfect place to enjoy a Mauritian Sunset

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jgazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DigitalMHP, Communication Team at Le Sakoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Dear Jgazelle,
Thank you so much for choosing our property to celebrate your honeymoon. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the personalised service provided by our team members. We are also glad to read that the comfort of our rooms pleased you. We would love to welcoming you back soon.
With warm regards,
Le Sakoa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews