We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream accommodation”
Review of Le Sakoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Sakoa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dream accommodation”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

if you do not like large hotel complexes, this hotel is ideal for you. Wonderful accommodation, great location, friendly staff ... everything is within reach, market, organized excursions by boat (diving ...), rent a car or motorcycle, even a bus stop ... All that you can a bit more authentically discover the country. You will not forget this holliday..

Room Tip: honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraKranjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    68
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
125
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Right on the beach front we stayed in one of the upstairs thatched villas on the front with a view of the pool and pristine white sand beach. Service was excellent from the reception to breakfast. Didn't stay long enough to experience dinner but Breakfast served was of the highest quality. Very boutique like hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a very good time, the service is excelent (except the restaurant, it depend who will attend you, some bad faces when we said that we won't had dinner).
To resume, you'II enjoy Mauritius as a paradisiac destination.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElJulito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We've spent seven nights there and were a bit disappointed about the price Performance ratio. The breakfast is very disappointing, only a few things and every day almost the same. We saw the menu for the cooked breakfast on the last day, we had breakfast.

On our arrival - we were late due to our flight - it was not possible to get anything to eat, because the reception told us, the kitchen is already closed. Then we had been told, that we need a reservation for dinner, when we like to eat at Sakoa, they are very busy every evening. In fact, most of the time, only a few guests were at dinner in Sakoa (we had a car to go out).

On our first day, we had some laundryto do, we were told that we can put the clothes in a wooden box in the bathroom. The staff would take them and bring it washed back. So we did, but after two days, the clothes still remained in this box, even when we left open the box. After we went to the reception, the clothes have been removed to wash the next (!!) day. This was on wednesday. On sunday, we did not had back the washed clothes, after our remark at the reception, we have been told, the clothes will be brought in a few minutes. The clothes came in the late evening. All this for a 'good' price!

The security staff was very helpful and friendly, the beach is really nice and clean. The possibility of pedalos and kayaks is great. The room was clean and the kitchenette useful.

We would recommend to rent a car, when you want to see something on the island.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. It's pretty nice with thatched bungalows and right on the beach. Perhaps the rooms are due soon for renovation as the bathroom of the beachside villa where we stayed- although fully functional-is looking rather tired. But really good find on a lovely stretch of beach. We actually preferred this to the much pricier Tamassa where we later stayed in the South. Staff were friendly, wifi was a bit shaky, restaurant food about average, but somehow our overall impression was a nice and overwhelmingly positive one.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chinagirlrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a much-overdue rating about one of my personal favorite places to stay: Le Sakoa in Trou aux Biches, Mauritius. We have stayed here several times over the past 10 years. We have seen the hotel change and grow, and despite Le Sakoa's increasing popularity, we still love it. The personnel is attentive and friendly. They will go out of their way to serve your needs and requests. The rooms are clean and large in size. The restaurant is a bit slow, but ok. The beach is probably the best one I have ever seen! Although there is no kids club, our children have always managed to make friends with other travelers (as have we) and enjoyed themselves playing on the beach or in the water swimming/kayaking etc.... Local Mauritians are extremely friendly. All in all, Le Sakoa is one of those places you would rather not tell too many people about for fear that it will lose its charm.... Well, it's too late now!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice Boutique hotel, beachside villas are excellent.....limited menu but quiet, relaxing and friendly. Good facilities and excellent atmosphere......watch out for chancers on the beach though pretending to be linked to the hotel, who then try and engage you in conversations and get invited in as "your guest"......more an annoyance than anything else and the staff are very hot on it anyway.....

Room Tip: Go for beachside Villas, but make sure things like scuba gear are inside the rooms at night as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
#2 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sakoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sakoa Hotel

Property: Le Sakoa Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sakoa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and for the family, THE SAKOA comprises 7 one-storeyed bungalows (each with 2 units). Public spaces are warm and provide a reception, a restaurant, a bar and a swimming pool. The hotel offers direct access to the beach of Trou aux Biches, characterised by its whiteness and offers one of the best baths of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Sakoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sakoa Trou Aux Biches
Le Sakoa Hotel Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing