We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Just returned from a 3 week holiday to Le Palmiste which was booked at the last minute after getting good information from Prestontraveller who had stayed there in August.

In fact Prestontravellers review is a very accurate summary of our stay there although a few changes were taking place.

A new Marketing Director has been appointed and started at the beginning of September and is very keen to raise the standards in all the areas of the hotel.He spent a lot of time in the restaurant checking that the temperature of the food was right and that enough food was available for people who ate after 8,00pm.

The food was good and we never had the same food over our 3 week stay.We did ask the chef to add just a liitle salt in our omelettes in a morning which were fine - otherwise they would have been over seasoned looking at how much they used for other peoples omelettes.

A notice board is positioned outside the restaurant showing activities for the evening and a notice asking people to respect the dress code for the evening meal.

A good number of British guests were there during our stay together with French,German and Indian guests and on one weekend a group of Mauritians arrived for a weekend stay.

The staff are brilliant - Sarah kept our room immaculate and Vanessa,Babita,Anousha,Suren and Prakesh looked after us in the restaurant.

The Marketing Director was keen to get our views and as he said that the honeymoon period was nowhere near over so my feeling is that this hotel is only going to get better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew1Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    235
    114
    35
    18
See reviews for
104
333
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,737 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

TThis is a 3 star hotel based in Trou aux Biches in the north west of Mauritius, a few miles from Grand Baie and not Mahebourg as listed by TA. We booked a family room through Mercury Direct on an all-inclusive basis.

We expected a tiny hotel, with a small pool, hardly any other guests and bad food based on previous reviews on TA. In fact the hotel is well laid out and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were greeted as we arrived, check in was easy and we had to wait just a few minutes for our room to be ready

The family room was a fair sized main room. A small separate bedroom with 2 single beds for our children. Another room with wardrobes, safe, fridge and a small kitchen. There was a large bathroom but with only a shower.

The room was clean and disinfected. Important in Mauritius where ants can quickly invade and mosquitoes can be a nuisance. There was a problem with some loose fittings and the bathroom tap was a bit forceful but they were rectified.

There are 3 pools and a small kid’s pool. There are plenty of sun beds and beach towels are available from reception. There is a games room in the basement attached to the disco and there is a gravel area to play boules.

The hotel seemed empty when we arrived and there were more staff about than guests in that first afternoon. Maybe some of the reviews were true we thought. It is the Mauritian winter and therefore the low season but we hoped things would get livelier.

Thankfully it did. The hotel ran a special winter promotion at the weekends for locals so it was busy then. They also had two waves of tourists from Reunion. In fact by the time we left the hotel was full with holidaymakers from Reunion who turned up with a film crew making some sort of a commercial.

Mainly most of the visitors from Europe are French with some Germans. We only saw a few Brits during our stay but we were told that they normally get 70 rooms occupied by UK visitors in a month.

There is one main, large restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. As it’s a 3 star hotel, we expected a small range of food available in the buffet and that’s what we got.

At breakfast, you have a range of a few cereals, croissants, Danish pastry, cake, a few fresh fruit and juices. There is a made to order egg station with accompaniments such as potatoes, sausage, beans etc.

Evening buffet is of a nightly themed variety. A starter consisting of soup, range of vegetables, about half a dozen main dishes consisting of a chicken dish, meat dish, vegetable, fish and some specialist Indian food.

There were a range of desserts, mainly consisting of gateau, pie, and mousse cake. Some days there would be ice cream and desserts linked with an ethnic theme. So on the Indian night there was Gulab Jamun available.

In the two weeks we were there, there was variety and the menu was not always the same so the two French nights were in fact different. If you did not like the themed food on offer, you can choose from the menu.

At lunch we picked from the menu. If you are on AI you can choose food and drink accompanied by a palm logo. I tended to go for the grilled chicken or the chicken cubes with fries.

On the first morning, I felt my omelette was salty. My wife told me that they added salt on the omelette, so in the future I requested that it was with no salt. I noticed that there was tendency to add a bit too much salt.

The croissants were a story of two halves. When cold there were rather bready and salty and I felt obviously purchased from a shop. The next day when they had none, I joked to the chef that they needed to send a cab to Super U to get some more. Oh no, they will be ready in a few minutes he said. True to his word the hot croissants promptly arrived and they tasted a lot better. The trick was to warm the croissants up in the toaster when they were cold as it tasted much better then.

As for the nightly buffet, I ate from the menu a few times, I have never been a fan of Italian and on the first Italian themed night there was nothing I liked. Usually I found something I liked, it was mainly chicken or lamb for me especially grilled or roasted. But we felt that in some cases it was more suited for Mauritian tastes than our liking. There were a few disappointments, some nights the food could be bland or the choice uninspiring. I think the night they did the freshly grilled lamb; we felt that the lamb was tough and rather full of fat.

The French onion soup on the first night we arrived was fantastic and the dessert of chocolate cream was one of the best we tasted. But sometimes we found a cake a bit frosty, probably as they kept it in the fridge so the cream became a bit icy. It would also help if they described the food a bit more. It was a nice touch to see the Executive chef mingling about with the diners asking for opinions. Sometimes he got it as well.

The hotel is a two minutes walk to the public beach. There are bus stops where you can take the bus north to Grand Baie or to Port Louis, Pamplemousse or Pointe aux Piment. There are taxis outside the hotel with a few regular drivers always there in the morning.

The hotel offers regular entertainment. During the buffet nights you will get some sort of singing usually tunes in French and English (although I have only recovered from the mangling of the Beatles song, Yesterday. When the first wave of (older) Reunion visitors arrived there was also a lot of dancing. The entertainment was only on 5 nights of the week with the DJ having 2 nights off, although it was puzzling why one of the nights was a Friday when UK people expect entertainment for the weekend. On a Saturday night there is a Sega/dance show. Again there is a variance so if you stay for a fortnight you will not see the same show.

There is also a disco which they hold on a few nights. I found it was more popular with kids. I felt that the DJ and hotel could have done to promote the disco a bit more and have more variety in the music. For example one Saturday night, there seemed to be 5 people who were celebrating a birthday including on of the older Reunion group who already showed a liking for a dance in previous nights. Yet at the disco, the DJ played techno tunes out of synch with the age of the people in the disco. Surely when the dance floor was packed when he played a Michael Jackson track would have given him a clue as to what his audience wanted.

The hotel has a relatively small group of staff. They are hard working, like most Mauritius hotels, positive feedback from customers is important to them. You can quickly get to know staff here, and of course they soon get to know what you like. During our last days at the hotel, the owner turned up who we found out spends most of his time abroad. He soon inspected every bit of the hotel glancing a critical eye at everything and informing the staff what needed shaping up.

Overall the hotel offers great value for money especially as we were AI. We have stayed at hotels in Mauritius that have larger rooms, bigger gardens, pools and more staff but we also paid a steeper price. It’s a little bit rough here and there and it could do more to promote itself and its services such as the almost nightly entertainment, the disco, the spa, the games on offer even its website but that is up to the management.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

hi i have stay in few hotel from mauritius merville hotel,plantation hotel,veranda hotel,royal palms hotel for me stay at the palmiste hotel was good
value for money everyone was very friendly and some people comment don't make any
sense if you are paying only 1000 pounds for all inclusive you get the service what you have pay if you want better service stay in the other hotel i have stay where it will cost you 1800 to 3000 pounds and all some people think because they have pay all inclusive mean all the they are god i go to mauritius every year i have a business over i known the local people is very friendly

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddiecougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I have just got back from 2 weeks at Le Palmiste Hotel in Mahebourg Mauritius. When we arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour flight and an hour drive from the airport the welcome we got was very dissapointing. The reception staff did not seem pleased to see us, just gave us our key and we were sent on our way. I was very tired but there wasn't a sole in the pool or by the bar or even in the restaurant. We went to the room and then got ready to go down to the pool. By this time it ws about 11am and still the hotel was empty. I was slightly worried by this but thought that people must be at the beach or on trips or something. We sat by the pool most of the day on our own and there was no music, no staff came round to ask if we wanted a drink or anything. At lunch we were the only two sat in the restaurant.

In the evening there were a few people in for dinner but not many. As soon as they had eaten they all disapeared again which meant we were sat at the bar on our own.

For the rest of the holiday the story is the same no-one in the hotel in the day eat at night an bed - not what English people usually do!!

The only interaction i had with the reception staff after my arrival was the night before i left and the day of my departure. Again they didn't seem to care and i became very disgruntled on my last day when i was told my all inclusive package finishe after breakfast. I had my room until 6pm but i couldn't have anything to eat or drink unless i paid for it. I spoke to the reception staff about this and they said that i would have to pay. I explained to them that i had paid for my all inclusive package up until i left the hotel but they would not budge. I showed them my confirmation and everything but they were having none of it. As i was leaving the reception one of the managers started to laugh and he was talking to the two reception staff in French which he didn't realise i understood. I went back in to tell him i didn't find it funny and out of principal i would not eat or drink anything in the hotel i would rather spend my money elsewhere - and i did.

On a positive note the bar staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful - if not a little slow at lunch time when they serve you your meals. (For breakfast and dinner it is a buffet) The food was very good but the choice at the buffet was not great usually rice, potatoe, vegetables one meat dish and one fish.

The rooms were very clean but there seems to be a new part and an old part of the hotel. The new part (that i was in) is a lot better than the old part (so i'm told from another guest).

The beach near tye hotel is literally 2 minutes walk and is beautiful. It is a public beach so at weekends the Mauritian people come and camp out and the children play in the sea etc which is great. The only trouble is there does tend to be a small amount of rubbish left on the beach and also there are always people trying to sell you things. It is not too bad to start with but really gets on your nerves after a while. The trick is to wear head phones or something so they know you can't hear them and they stop bothering you.

Also don't book the trips through the rep at your hotel as they are about double the price of the ones on the beach. We went on catermaran Orange and it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rikilake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Me and my wife went there for two weeks to have a ”late” honeymoon vacation. The actual hotel might not be the ideal spot for spending the first romantic nights, right after the wedding day, but our opinion was that “you don’t spend your holiday in the hotel room”. We sort of picked the location first and then we chose the hotel.
The area of Troux aux Biches is not so over crowded with tourists as for e.g. Flick en Flac. On the nearest supermarket the local people are doing their daily shopping. This is also positive for the price levels. When we were there, a 65 cl local beer cost about 1€/1 USD at the store, same as 1.5 lit water.
The hotel is located less than five minutes walk from “public” and “private” beach of Trou aux Biches, one of the best on the island. You can also go a bit further with the local bus, towards Grand Bay, and perhaps find an empty part of the beach. On the local street, outside the hotel area, you’ll find a supermarket and pharmacy in the direct vicinity. It’s a 20-30 minute walk to an ATM machine.
The hotel facilities are basic but clean. The rooms are pretty spacious and clean as well. There is refrigerator and a small safe. The pool area has what you need and you can also order drinks to be served there.
The buffet breakfast and dinner is OK. The dinner is a bit monotonous for a two week stay. To eat lunch at the hotel restaurant (for e.g. Club sandwich or Fried noodles) cost about 3-5€/USD. This means it’s not worth trying to cook something bought in the supermarket.
We bought a package trip from a big travel agency in Sweden. The package included no-stop flight, transfer, hotel and half board. The Swedish agency also offered a variety of excursions, at decent price levels, together with local agencies. Catamaran sailing is highly recommended! Also visit Ill de deux Coco, Ill aux Cerfs, Casela Park Zoo and Domaine Anna Restaurant, outside Flick en Flac.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank From_SwedenStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
1.1 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palmiste Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palmiste Resort & Spa

Property: Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Address: Rte Cotiere, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palmiste Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Palmiste is situated in the most charming facets of Mauritius, the North West, more precisely in the coastal village of Trou aux Biches. Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reveals itself in a very warm atmosphere surrounded by an exotic garden situated at not more than two minutes from the public beach of Trou aux Biches.Distances: 60 Km from the airportHotel Facilities: • 81 rooms • Restaurant • Wifi facilities• Bar & Pool Bar ( Le Ralph`s Bar )• 3 Swimming pools• Meeting room • 1 Kids Pool • Spa, Esthetique, Hammam, Jacuzzi & Sauna• Hairdressing • Tour desk & transport • Reading lounge • Night club Accommodations 81 rooms in 3 categories of rooms:41 Standard roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.28 Superior roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.12 Family rooms Garden and pool view with one double bed and one adjoining two twin beds for 2 kidsAll rooms are equipped with:Telephone with direct international accessIndividual digital safe LCD TV with local and satellite channelsBathrooms with showers Mini bar (upon request)Tea/Coffee,Hair Dryer,Electricity 220-240VElectric shaver pointRestaurants Le Cateau Vert - offering buffet breakfast, lunch a la carte and dinner theme buffets and menus. SPA Le Lotus center is the wellness lounge for relaxation and enjoying the peacefulness .The wellness lounge provide facilities of Sauna, Jacuzzi, and Steam bath and massage treatments .Using only the finest natural ingredients, our attentive and unassuming therapists will help rejuvenate your body and revitalize your mind to fully appreciate your surroundings vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Palmiste
Le Palmiste Mahebourg
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing