We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont do it”

Blue Safari Submarine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There are two submarines in the Blue Safari fleet, and both offer a unique and unforgettable activity in Mauritius. There is only 12 leisure submarine operation in the world, and Blue Safari is the only one, not only in Mauritius but in all Indian Ocean. Blue safari is also the unique leisure submarine operation in the world to operate 2 submarine of small sizes, maximum capacity being 10 seat, offering therefore a real personalized adventure not to be missed while being in Mauritius. Each submarine can dive to 35 metres where the views under the warm Indian Ocean are filled with colourful fish, coral, crab and stingray. Look out of the windows and experience the natural beauty in complete safety while the knowledgeable pilot points out interesting things to see. Choose between the larger BS1100 and the small-party BS600 for the experience to suit you. Both of them will give you a rare life-time adventure not to be missed in Mauritius. Made just for two – sub scooters are a fun and unique way to drive along the sea bed of the the Indian Ocean. Blue Safari provide you and a friend or family member with everything you need to enjoy an unusual activity in Mauritius, which takes place three metres under the sea. You don’t need to be a swimmer or diver to take part, and all instructions are given to you before you set off.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont do it”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

They just make you sit in the submarine and take you supposedly 35 metres down under the sea. We were not able to see any corals or sea life. We just saw a few ordinary fishes and one ship wreck. I dont think its worth spending so much of money for that one ship wreck which itself was nothing extra ordinary. Go for it only if you have a king size budget and you want to experience being in a submarine. The expereince was not great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tushartibrewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We’re sorry that you haven’t appreciated at its good value the trip by 35 meters depth (real 35 meters) on a submarine. It’s almost unique, as there are only 12 spots in the world where you can do that and we are the only one in the indian ocean.
We respect your opinion, but we are also considering the opinions of the majority of our travelers that are delighted by the experience, amazed by the ship wreck and so impressed by all the fishes around the coral that is shown in every visit. And each submarine trip is different of each other …
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    104
    38
    16
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Amazing experience....”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was my first experience ever for riding submarine. Thanks Blue safari Submarine for giving me the opportunity. But they should make a easy system for booking. We had to book it 2 days before of journey. They should make a package for picking passengers from hotel.

By the way, It will take you 35 meters deep in the water which will be delighted. And you can see the view under water. You can see coral reef, fishes, tortoise, if lucky then dolphin, 22 years broken japanese ship etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rupam0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you had a good time with us. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“a-mazing !!! but be wary of booking a taxi to get there”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The actual experience was simply amazing - the sub is quite small but the views of the coral reef and the ship wreck were brilliant. My 6 year old loved it. Im told it is only one of four places in the world where you can dive to 35 metres. Its a must do

the one warning is getting there - the sub goes from the north of the Island and inevitably you will need to get a taxi to get there - the taxi's are expensive. The sub doesnt always go out even when the trip is booked. I rang ahead to check an hour before we were due to go out and were told it was all ok- when we got there it had been cancelled ! some people had travelled from the south of the Island only to find their trip cancelled - I met people who had tried 5 times to go out only to find the sub cancelled at the last minute !!! be warned

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tennyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.
You know, we don’t want to have our clients disappointed because they didn't see a lot of amazing fishes in the depth…so sometimes, because of the weather, we have to cancel our attraction in last minute.
It’s the case for most outdoors attraction in the island. Weather conditions changes several times a day and that’s why we can’t cancel sooner! We are very sorry for inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Submarine trip”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I took the trip in October and it was well worth the effort. the water is crystal clear; there were many fish - large lionfish - 2 sea turtles and the expected coral. They collect you in the village at their office, you take a small boat to a large anchored boat where the submarie is docked. It is a small enclosed space; 10 passengers and the pilot. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank moxieParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Safari Submarine - A "Must Do" Activity!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect with a submarine excursion, however we were very pleasantly surprised once we got on. The services was great, and the ability to be able to go down to 35 metres and see marine life, especially for those of us that would not be able to go down that deep for a dive, was extremely rewarding.
My son is a huge Octonauts fans, and thought the submarine was the best thing since sliced bread.
I would recommend the experience and Blue Safari Submarine to anyone visiting Mauritius.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank kangarudeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendations! We are really happy to know that you loved our attraction and that your son really appreciated it (best thing since Sliced bread? Haha)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Safari Submarine also viewed

Cascavelle, Riviere Noire District
 
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Blue Safari Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing