We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enough fish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Safari Submarine

Blue Safari Submarine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There are two submarines in the Blue Safari fleet, and both offer a unique and unforgettable activity in Mauritius. There is only 12 leisure submarine operation in the world, and Blue Safari is the only one, not only in Mauritius but in all Indian Ocean. Blue safari is also the unique leisure submarine operation in the world to operate 2 submarine of small sizes, maximum capacity being 10 seat, offering therefore a real personalized adventure not to be missed while being in Mauritius. Each submarine can dive to 35 metres where the views under the warm Indian Ocean are filled with colourful fish, coral, crab and stingray. Look out of the windows and experience the natural beauty in complete safety while the knowledgeable pilot points out interesting things to see. Choose between the larger BS1100 and the small-party BS600 for the experience to suit you. Both of them will give you a rare life-time adventure not to be missed in Mauritius. Made just for two – sub scooters are a fun and unique way to drive along the sea bed of the the Indian Ocean. Blue Safari provide you and a friend or family member with everything you need to enjoy an unusual activity in Mauritius, which takes place three metres under the sea. You don’t need to be a swimmer or diver to take part, and all instructions are given to you before you set off.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not enough fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked the submarine trip, although the trip itself is good you spend an hour at 30 metres in a submarine, you visit a natural reef and a sunken wreck, and the pilot gives a great acount of what is happening, I was personally dissapointed with the quantity of fish that we saw.
However it is a well organised trip, and if the purpose is just to go in a submarine then try it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comment. As you know our trip is the ocean so sometimes we have a lot of fish near our submarine and sometimes less… it’s a real life, fish live theirs lives…
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    95
    33
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for families and couples!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was not looking forward to the submarine trip having been on one in Barbados many years ago which I did not enjoy. However, this was very different! Well explained before the trip out to the sub and a great experience on board. Loads of fish to see on the natural reef and the ship wreck. Ideal trip for families with children perhaps too young to snorkel etc. Definitely recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Underwater world is amazing. We are happy that you had a good experience with us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lifetime experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was one of the best part of my trip to Mauritius. I could experience the world underwater. There were beautiful fishes,corals,drowned ships etc. I highly recommend this superb journey to all as this experience is unforgettable

Helpful?
1 Thank giagrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your testimonial. We agree with you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great experience to see coral reefs and fish if like me you dont like snorkeling.We enjoyed the experience of being in the submarine and the guide was very good .All the staff were very profesional great trip well worth the money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank annie973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peine, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Submarine experience on Mauritius with three little kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I took the Submarine Safari with my two boys (4 and 9) and my girl (7). They did like the trip. We did see some old ships at the ground, the coral reefs and a lot of colorful fishes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorsten3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna B, Social Media Manager at Blue Safari Submarine, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you. We love to have the kids in our submarine, they appreciate every moment !
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Safari Submarine also viewed

Cascavelle, Riviere Noire District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Blue Safari Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing