We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Legendary Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

On an average area of 40,000 Mt sq, Trou aux Biches keeping the name of the village is a 5 star Hotel Spa of the leading Beachcomber Group since years has been reinovated last year to keep up the high class service. At the main entrance, you have to push a deep breath admiring the decorations of this period of evolution..The rooms better say are displayed to meet the classy guest's expectations. A huge Garden with exotic plants, flowers, A professional charming welcome that makes you dream for a lifetime stay. Unfortunately every stay has an end but surely this complex has known an incomparable amount of Repeated Guests. I know some who were there 21 years before..Even in this competitive no need to compare the price for your stay. The challenge does not exist..Don't lose time. Enjoy your stay, We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy new year 2014..SJ

Room Tip: The choice is yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    419
    113
    38
    22
See reviews for
694
1,093
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The upgraded hotel is incredible. We stayed in a family suite and it was spacious and luxurious. Outdoor showers etc...Beach is the best on the island by far, and after staying at a few other hotels on the island, this is the best i've been at. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and the kids club and "Teens club" did a great job with our little ones.
The gym and sports facilities are 5 star! I enjoy working out wherever i travel and for a holiday resort, you won't find any better. And with a golf course being built just 5km away (ready by 2015) it gonna be even better.
Food was solid, and good variety (6 restaurants.) I did get let the beach vendors know that i didn't wanna be buying anything, but unfortunately the hotel cannot prevent the locals selling stuff, its politics... Water sports were well run and well organised and skiing for the little kids was brilliant on a special modified ski so my 6yr old daughter was skiing like a champion!
One of the best pizza places i've ever eaten at was just a short walk from the hotel (Chez Marco) and that was a popular place to grab lunch (since we were on half board.) It was very reasonable and i enjoyed getting out of the resort to explore some local haunts.) Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Family suites are fantastic! Sleeps up to 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good and as is the food. The hotel full of activities on the beach with wonderful service. The Indian and Thai restaurant has a rule that you have to be over 12 years old to be there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Extremely large resort but excellent landscaping meant it never felt big or overcrowded. We stayed 12 nights in a tropical junior suite, the room was more than sufficient and also had an outside shower (although we tended to use the indoor shower most of the time). Cleaning of the room was unfortunately not very good.

There was a choice of 6 restaurants but can only really recommend 3 (le caravelle, the Indian and l'oasis). We decided to book the full board plus package which worked out quite well for us. Had breakfast everyday at le caravelle which was very nice and also had lunch here most days - 2 courses plus drinks were included in our package and the portions were very generous. Tried Le deck for lunch once but that was very disappointing as was the Italian that we tried for dinner on 2 occasions. The staff at Le caravelle and the Indian restaurants were definitely worth 5 stars and were very good at catering for people with food allergies. Note that even though the hotel appeared to have very few guests, we had to book tables for dinner at the non-buffet restaurants at least 2-3 days in advance.

Beach was very nice, but like the rest of Mauritius it was public so open to locals trying to sell their wares - not a big problem and a simple 'no thank you' was sufficient to send them on their way. There was never a problem finding a sun lounger and we also spent quite a bit of time by the pool which we had to ourselves most of the time (apart from the Mosquitos towards the end of the day!). Went snorkelling with one of the hotel boats (free of charge) which was ok but not quite the variety of fish we have seen in other parts of the world.

We booked 2 excursions directly with the hotel, both of which were excellent. The first was with 'doslwim', a combined dolphin and whale watching trip. Dolswim were very respectful to the marine life unlike a lot of the other boats we saw. You are pretty much guaranteed seeing dolphins - we saw at least 100 - and being able to swim alongside them was an amazing experience. We were told we had a 70% chance of seeing whales and were lucky enough to see a number of sperm whales which was fantastic. The other trip we did was quad biking in the south of the island (frederica nature reserve) which was a lot of fun and a good way of seeing a different side of this beautiful island - highly recommended (but not for people suffering with a bad back as the ride is a bit on the bumpy side). Note that the cost of each excursion was approximately 100 pounds per person including private transfer from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife, our 8 years old son and myself spent 4 nights in Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, from 20-24.10.2013. We stayed during the first night in the Beach Front Suite with Pool number 455 (to avoid at all costs !!!) and immediately changed the next night for the Beach Front Suite with Pool number 103 (a much better choice !).
This hotel can give you the Best but also the Worst... Upon arrival, we were waiting, waiting and waiting to be checked in, when finally I decided to go myself to say that we were waiting for a check in process and that nobody was coming to us, very bad start... Finally a woman came from reception and gave us, I should say, the worst possible Suite of the hotel ! Once there, we found out that it looked great inside the Suite, but very dirty outside, close to our private pool. Why ? Because this Suite nbr 455 is located just under a big tree, which gives shadow until 2-3 pm making the pool remaining cold, because leaves from this tree are falling non stop either on the terrace or inside the pool (not being cleaned regularly), because birds are coming on the tree and take our terrace for toilets, making a lot of dirty things all around and last but not least, because there are frogs around the pool, which make a tremendous noisy sound, especially when the night starts, not giving you any chance to sleep, noise being really strong !!! So, unable to fall asleep, we called reception and asked them to do something against those frogs, but of course, nobody came and nothing was done, so the next day we came to reception and gave them 2-3 Suites numbers that we could stay in, as long as no frogs would kill our remaining 3 nights as they did. We received a new Suite but not a single compensation for the nightmare night... Poor Management reaction...
However, if you decide to stay inside this hotel, you must take a Suite with sea view, it definitively worths it fully. Sunset from your terrace on every evening, close to the beach, nice palm trees all around, mini bar service passing in front of your Suite with a little electrical car, etc.
We found out that the hotel was big, really too big ! Even if occupancy was turning around 45-50%, we had the feeling that hotel was full ! People everywhere, kids everywhere, beach over crowded by tourists, locals and worst of all, by many local people trying to sell you their things, which nobody needs or wants. It is now like this in front of almost all hotels in Mauritius, we faced the same problem in Le Paradis and in Le Royal Palm, it's really disturbing clients, who are looking for quiet, peaceful and relaxing holidays. Nobody likes to be disturbed 5-10 times per day by those intrusive sellers.
Last but not least, we found out that the level in the quality of the service provided in Trou aux Biches was much lower than we expected !!! Service in restaurant Oasis was very slow, nobody is picking up your plate once you have finished, your glass of water or wine will also not be filled in, there were almost always something missing on the tables (spoon, sugar, salt, etc.). Same problem in La Caravelle restaurant, for breakfast. As it was a lot of birds dejections on chairs, birds walking on tables and eating in your plate, a lot of flies all around, no ketchup, mustard or nutella available (you had to ask a waiter for this...), and slow service.

Well, to resume our stay, it was a major disapointment for us, coming from Le Paradis where everything was just perfect and going after to Royal Palm where everything was just better. We will not come back to Trou aux Biches, even if the beach is great and the Suites are excellent, the points mentionned earlier are enough for us not to have to support them during our holidays, so let's say that :

Positive Points :
--------------------
1) Beach is very nice, long with many palm trees.
2) The main pool is great, attractive, nice, well almost excellent !
3) Suites are just amazing, large, comfortable and well located.

Points to be improved :
-----------------------------
1) Poor Management attitude, we never saw neither the Director, nor his assistant. Not a single compensation for the loss of our 1st night due to frog. Nothing was done in the next days to catch the frogs by the way...
2) Very slow service inside the restaurant Oasis and Caravelle during breakfast an dinner.
3) Lack of follow up when problems arise, frogs are still around Suite nbr 455...
4) Too big hotel with too many people around, you miss privacy.
5) Locals selling their thing all along the beach, disturbing the clients.
6) Very agressive mosquitos in the area, it was not like this in Le Paradis or Royal Palm. Not enough anti-mosquitos treatments are done.

Well, that's it. I will soon add some photos and videos which you will see either on this site or on internet.

So, good luck if you want to stay in this hotel, avoid Suite nbr 455 and avoid high season ;-). Please also note that the Manager is the same guy since 30 years, so if he lost somehow his motivation, it seems his staff also lost their motivation, maybe to change the Manager to improve the service ???

Room Tip: Take a Suite with pool, located just in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Me and my wife came here for our honeymoon. We had such a good time and it really was heaven. I'm a hard guy to please but this place met all expectations and more. The food is fantastic and can not be be faulted. A pricey holiday but a once in a life time experience .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizzy123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at this property with my wife and child, and it was very pleasant. the service is extremely wonderful and the property is beautiful. I was extremely pleased with the food quality there, as it exceeded my expectations.

the hagglers at the beach were annoying though, which made me spend more time at the villa pool.

Room Tip: Sr. Beach front suite is the best choice of room at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,234 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing