We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel prefect but didn't like the coral on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hotel prefect but didn't like the coral on the beach”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Came back last week from a fabulous 6 day trip here. This has to be one of the best resort hotels we have ever been to. We have been on several of these types of holidays in various countries. Not sure its very Mauritian though as you could have been anywhere in the tropical world! We opted for the lowest room category and were pleased to get upgraded. Thoroughly enjoyed the tropical shower! The room was huge, exceptionally clean with all the extras you could ever want. The bed was massive and very comfy. The whole resort was in first class condition. We ate in all the restaurants apart from the night buffet. Every meal was excellent. We made reservations one day in advance as we wanted to make sure we could try all the restaurants. Each night we ate at 7.30pm because you choose your table on arrival at the restaurants so being one of the first to arrive meant we got the best table every night. Ended up eating in the most amazing locations. Found virtually all of the staff to be very efficient and friendly. We chose the full plus package and think we did it justice. Ate so much and the wines on offer were very pleasant. Had been concerned about weather forecast before we went but we had one cloudy day though it still was a beach day and the rest were fine. Had a few showers but they only lasted about 5 minutes and it was really refreshing to have some rain fall on you. The hotel only own the beach to high water mark so it's a public beach. It was good to see local people also getting to use their own beach and not just tourists who can afford to pay. It was brilliant for people watching. Unfortunately whilst we were staying there was a group of at least 60 Italians at the hotel being SO loud joining together in large groups, totally spoiling the calm ambience of the beach. The top part of the beach where the sun loungers are placed was perfect but it is a narrow strip. This then gives way to rougher sand with loads of dead coral which extends right into the sea. Once in the sea there are patches of softer sand but still lots of coral and some small rocks. I cut my feet several times. The hotel staff did rake the beach daily to remove some of the coral but being a natural phenomenem there is little that can be done. It is a shame because we came across some much better stretches of beach on our morning walks up the coast. You can walk for several miles. Having a perfect beach is really important to me and this would be the only reason that I probably wouldn't return. Everything else really was first class. The hotel was so lovely that we didn't want to take too much time away but we did take a trip to Grand Baie using the taxi organised by the hotel. We felt the taxi was extremely overpriced. The driver waited in Grand Baie for us even though it was only about 10 minutes away which is why it cost 1000 rupees.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SlummyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    474
    132
    44
    23
See reviews for
826
1,215
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I traveled here in February 2013 with my girlfriend. Since this was our first "big" trip together, we wanted to book something special and perhaps a little nicer that what we usually do. Therefore, our expectations where definitely a little higher as this hotel is slightly on the pricey side (however, still not bad considering what you get). Based on experience, the pictures the hotel show on their website are normally photoshoped and not representative. This is not the case for Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa. It is even better that the photos. The standard of the hotel was way better that we could have imagined. The staff were as friendly as they get. The beach is superb. The food is to die for. Overall, this hotel surpassed any of our expectations by a looong mile. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outdoor shower, they are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feigum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location-beautiful rooms-huge outdoor shower
Our room had its own swimming pool which we loved
Beach is fabulous-towels are not great though-
Restaurants are good-but buffet can be improved
Overall we had fabulous holiday but next time we will go out of season as this was very expensive

Room Tip: Best to have room right on beach-the villas are beautiful but not on sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isavW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a great 8 days at this resort in late february. Our large beachfront junior suite was superb with its incredible bathroom, outdoor shower and private plunge pool. The resort was about 50 percent full so no problem ever getting a beach lying chair or pool lying chair. The pool is very large, a joy to swim in and was never very full. Our junior beachfront suite was located in a wonderful position as we were close to main pool and facilities but not too close. The resort is very large and it woud make a difference where your room is located. Would not want to be too far away from main pool area. The resort was kept in excellent condition and is almost new anyway so beautiful facilities and ambience. The service throughout the resort was excellent. One suggestion that we kept wishing for .... Why not have a pool/beach towel hut located near the main pool area for guests to get fresh beach/pool towels? We felt this was needed. We had half board; breakfast and dinner and the selection of food was vast so although the majority of dishes included seafood which we do not eat there was always something for us to choose. However we did think that some of the supplements for some items on the menu at the various restaurants seemed unfairly high. Overall this was minor and we had a spectacular holiday and cant wait to return. Thanks for a magical week.

Room Tip: we loved the location of our room 347. It wa a junior suite not too far from main pool and facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I returned to this lovely resort, first visited in June 2001, for our honeymoon. The accommodation, food, beach facilities, but above all the professional service by the waiters/waitresses was outstanding!! The cleanliness, the attention to detail and the presentation of the food in the restaurants was superb!! These names must be mentioned...... reception Armand, Fatima, Vanisha.... restaurants Kevin, Jay, Nishan, Sanjeev, Gunshee, etc. Extended thanks must go to Ravee, thanks Ravee for all you did for us. Not forgetting Lindsay in entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel overall! There is a amazing swimming pool. The beach is great, and the sea incredible. The only thing is public who are not staying in the hotel are not allowed on the beach, but they come anyway and they are not strictly forbidden. So they block the view of the sea and talk a lot. There is an amazing range of activities on the beach including water skiing, parasailing, tubing, pedal boating and much more. The restaurant la deck is really good but quite simple. The bar is very nice at night as there is live music and cocktails. The buffet restaurant is incredible as the food is based on a different country every day. And then there is a really good Italian restaurant which is perfect for children or lunchtime. The Indian restaurant is not great as it was quite disappointing. However the Thai restaurant is amazing, but it is annoying having a set menu. The rooms are amazing and the tropical shower is magical. The mini club for kids is great and the kids love it and don't want to leave. The teens club is run by a really nice lady who connects with the teens, but it is not as fun, the hotel are improving this so it will be sorted. Overall an amazing holiday recommended for couples and families.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffin1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turku
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Quolity had lowered from year 2012:

- hotel is almoust empty
- the beach is full of outsiders and unfortunately the hotel security dont do anyting to prove hotel customers privacy.
- value/cost do not reply

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,712 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,556 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing