We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trou aux Biches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Trou aux Biches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at TAB for a week as a big '0' birthday celebration for my husband - they provided a complimentary cake for him, which was really nice. The hotel grounds and pools are beautiful and the accommodation is comfortable and spacious (massive bed!). The restaurants all serve really good food but our favourite was the Indian - the staff in there couldn't do enough for us and the food was absolutely delicious. The one thing that I think they could improve on is to offer complimentary water in the rooms - in a 5*, one would surely expect water to be included. The staff were all very courteous and helpful, especially Sophie who initially greeted us and looked after us during our stay.Overall, I would recommend the TAB for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseoxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    419
    113
    38
    21
See reviews for
693
1,093
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with well trained staff. They have a long, beautiful beach and a few restaurants with really good food. We had a cottage with the sea view and a small pool, but if you want to enjoy the view you need to demand for the cushy sunbed mattresses which are currently only used at the beach, but not on your private balcony. What you get are the plastic loungers, so uncomfortable to rest on. Very odd but we are told the hotel is changing this policy.

They also have tennis courts but you need to buy your own balls.

The spa suffers from the common problem of poor massage technique. We tried several therapists but their massage is more ceremonial rubbing than what you might expect if you call for deeper and stronger massage. Apart from the male therapist with artsy beard, I forget his name, all others are lucky to have jobs at that hotel. Especially the hair stylist. If you are getting married here and are fussy about hair and make up, you better do your research and find proper stylists as they commonly resort to curling irons and tight buns.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this resort...from the restaurants, to the room, to the staff! The pictures on the hotel's website are exactly the paradise you will arrive to. All of the staff remembered us by name and were so pleasant...even so to give us our favorite papaya vanilla jelly to take home! The food was unbelievable...from buffet breakfast to lunch to dinner by piano music. A few staff members that stick out in our mind...Fatima, the hotel manager, went out of her way to say hello to us by name and take time out of her day to talk to us. Jerome and Vishnu...restaurant managers who were so friendly and even concocted a special Mauritian tanning lotion for us! Devon and Sanjeev...bartenders at La Caravelle...who became great friends and we will never forget! We felt like we knew them forever and wish to visit Trou Aux Biches just to spend time with 'our friends' there. Thanks to all who made our honeymoon perfect...from the United States to Mauritius...the 20 hour flight was well worth every minute we soaked up in the sand to our conversations with the Mauritians! The hotel was in the best location...10 days of sun and no rain!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room, however it was nice because we were close to our private pool and only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our first time in Mauritius and our overall experience could be summed up as 'pleasing'.

We had a family (two room) downstairs villa set back from the beach, but in close reach to one of the fantastic swimming pools. The villa was spacious and very modern. Housekeeping ensured that cleanliness was always maintained and they always were very friendly.

The beach is well renowned for being clean, safe and well maintained and didn't let us down. Sand was soft & white and there was an army of people 'combing' the sand at night ready for its use by guests the very next day. Hawkers (like other reviewers will testify), are such a nuisance. You are left with the feeling that the security who patrol the beach must get some kind of financial kick-back as they never seem to intervene.
Top Tip: If you really don't want to get bothered, I came up with this idea: Just write out a sign in bold "Ne me dérange pas!", leave it on the side beach table next to you - and you'll be left in peace.

We mainly found ourselves situated around the communal villa pool. This has the opposite problem - if you want any kind of service, you won't get anything around the pools. We found this to be strange as the margin this hotel makes on drinks can be classed by some to be astronomical, whilst others would class it as obscene. 4 glasses of coke cost me £20!
Be under no illusion - this is not because Mauritius is expensive - it's the hotel who has a captive audience.

Any 5* hotel must pride itself on good food and good service. Trou aux Biches is in this category.
The problem is that, once the mask slips for one moment, there is no other place to go than downwards, which equals customer dissatisfaction regardless of how trivial the issue is.

In the main, service was impeccable, staff were attentive and friendly, food was of good standard.
L'Oasis bar however, must be run by another consortium! Trying to get the attention of any waiter for a drink is near impossible, made more of a mystery since there seems to be so many of them - perhaps it's because they are more intrigued in each other's conversations which leads to them forgetting why they are there.
There are no signs suggesting what cocktails are on offer, or what the 'special' of the day is.
Indeed, you are hard pressed to see any bar menus. (In general, there's a lot of guess work at this hotel. You have to do a lot of guess work from the food that is on offer through to times of meals, and 'where DO those kids get those scooters from?').
Once you have the attention of a waiter, his main mission in life is to ensure that you are shown the bar menu in as little time as is possible, before whisking it away from you - obviously, as your only reason for attending the bar is to steal the menu!

One reviewer summed up the hotel as 'stiff' and I think this is a true and accurate description.
Don't get me wrong; some people/social groups do like formal/stiff.

However, most hotels you go to have a central 'watering hole' where people meet, relax and enjoy the entertainment. We humans have simple needs and sometimes, want to be part of a wider, collective social group.
The only place that this can happen is in L'Oasis bar.
Given the lack of information on offer, disinterested bar staff and over-priced bar menu, most people walk straight on bye the bar and decide to turn in for the night - every night.
Holidays shouldn't be like this....

Room Tip: Don't bother to book a beach front villa. Over-priced and over-looked. Try asking for a villa n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Trou aux Biches in May this year for a friend's wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect for them. It was all beautifully planned with both ceremony and reception taking place on the beach, the surrounding scenery was stunning! With regards our stay at the hotel, I can only say that it was excellent. The selection of restaurants and variety and quality of food was outstanding (although bar prices very expensive). Service everywhere in the hotel was to a very high standard.The beach was lovely too and most watersports are free which is a bonus, as was the gym and some classes. The only negative I will say however, is that Trou aux Biches is in a rather isolated area of the island and there's not much in the way of Mauritian culture to be viewed here. The area is obviously catered more for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Five people in adjoining beach front villas with the surf only 30 yards form your plunge pool, idyllic sunsets, dive centre two minutes from your room, and unmatchable service then it makes a superb holiday!
Quite one of the best holidays I have had.
The hotel was fantastic.
The service second to none
Wonderfully arranged by Beachcomer in the UK.
Best restaurant was Blue Ginger. They found out it was my daughters 20th birthday and made her feel extra special if not a little embarrassed with a cake . This was done without any prompting.
The resort is very special but this is also supplemented by a quite superb island with lots to see and do. It really has something for all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We will apologise now for the long review however to cut it short would do it an injustice.

We stayed at the resort in August 2012 and we were there for 2 weeks. We celebrated our wedding day mid-way through our stay. It was a holiday, wedding and it then made up part of our honeymoon before heading on to Dubai. We were at the resort with friends and family.

My wife and I enjoy holidays and are fortunate enough to be able to stay in some of the best hotels around the world. We always depend on Trip Advisor as a good benchmarking tool prior to booking a hotel but to our embarrassment always come back from a holiday with every intention of writing a review but never get around to it! I guess this is a good place to start and the Trou Aux Biches deserves all the praise it can get. It is one of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. I think it’s fair to say our “vision” hasn’t been blurred by the fact it was our wedding and these were the sentiments also echoed by our friends and family that stayed at the resort. We have high standards, more so as it was our wedding. Anyone who finds fault in this hotel has serious issues. The biggest test of a good hotel is would you go back? Our answer and friends and families answer was a resounding YES!

If you haven’t been to Mauritius, it’s a beautiful island and well worth a visit. We short listed the Island as a wedding destination and were very impressed with Beachcomber as a company. With that in mind and prior to taking our friends and family half way round the world, we thought it best to do a “site visit”. My brother and I headed out to Mauritius in March 2011 and spent a week on the Island visiting various hotels (It was tough!!). We arrived at a the Trou Aux Biches and whilst it was still in the final stages of completion (soft opening) we were blown away by the hotel, its location, beach and facilities and in general just how stunning it was. It was an easy decision and after one quick call to the other half we stopped looking and it was decided!

We stayed in a beachfront junior pool suite for the duration of our stay. We decided on Villa 401 as it was well situated in the middle. These are beach facing villas with a large open area with their own splash pool . Friends and family stayed in a variety of rooms and all were lovely. Very well equipped, modern and immaculately clean. If you look at the hotel plan, you will see the hotel is situated on a 2km stretch of the most beautiful beach. One of the things that is most attractive about the hotel is how much space it has. The hotel has been there for the past 20 years so it is very well established but was demolished and rebuilt over a 3 year period re-opening in 2011. What this gives you is the best of both worlds, a very modern hotel with an amazing layout and facilities but grounds and gardens that reflect what you would expect from a tropical climate like Mauritius. The hotel has a main entrance that is stunning. The hotel is made up of 6 crescents. In our opinion crescents 5 and 6 were the nicest. Each crescent has its own pool and is a short walk to the beach. The hotel is very well laid out and everything is just a short walk. Walking around the resort is a pleasure as the grounds are so well kept. It really is picture perfect.

I think it’s fair to say anyone can build a nice looking hotel and spend lots of money on it but without the staff it will not function. Whilst the hotel is amazing for me the key ingredient that makes the Trou Aux Biches so special is the staff. It’s a pleasure to stay in a resort where the people who work within it are local people who have knowledge of their island and are proud to be Mauritian! A lot of the staff members have been there since the original opening (20+ years). To them they are proud of their hotel and want it to succeed. This has a direct reflection on the highest and most friendly service levels we have ever experienced. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was sublime.

There are a range of restaurants to choose from and the selection these restaurants has is nothing short of amazing. They have a buffet which is stunning, a sea food restaurant (The Deck), a Thai restaurant, an Indian restaurant, Italian and La Caravelle which is their Al la carte signature French contemporary restaurant. The quality of food in any one of these restaurants is superb and the attention to detail and quality of produce is so high. Our favourite was La Caravelle. The food at this restaurant was nothing short of spectacular! The waiters and chefs were all so friendly, helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. A big thank you to Randhir, Alan, Chef Paul and Chef Ashley along with all La Caravelle team for all your help in the lead up to the wedding and the day itself. Our guests have said that it was the best meal they have ever had! Also, a big thank you to Jerome and Fatima for your help and effort during our stay. We booked full board plus. In our opinion this was well worth it. They have a lovely selection of wines that cater for the various restaurants and menus.

Great GYM facilities (Which you need after all the good food & wine!) and a lovely spa with great Steam and Sauna and excellent treatments on offer.

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The facilities are wonderful, the restaurants are some of the best we've ever eaten at, the grounds are so beautiful, the beach is stunning and the atmosphere is sophisticated, sleek yet relaxed. The Trou aux Biches staff made our wedding/honeymoon so so special and it is certain to say that we will definitely be returning. Thank you TAB!

We attached some pictures which show just how beautiful a place it is. This Hotel is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you can, stay in a beachfront suite. The extra you pay for the room is well worth it. All the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claudia_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,234 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing