We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to be...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ippocampo Resto Bar

Ippocampo Resto Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ippocampo restaurant newly opened a Mauritian French couple since May 21st, 2016, proposes dishes typically Mauritian with 2 tropical cocktail bars, homemade french fries & wedges, Kid's corner, free WiFi, live Music every Friday evening and sega (typical dance) 2-3 saturday a month ...
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went there for a drink after work a Friday night and since then, Ippocampo became our favourite place. The staffs are very friendly and are always at your service. There is a wide choice of Mauritian and international Cuisine You even get complimentary snacks with your drinks and food is amazing!
Iven, the restaurant owner, is always present, and he makes sure that everyone is having a great time.
The rooms are very comfortable and are all equipped with MiniBar, TV and AC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank nsmits2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iven v, General Manager at Ippocampo Resto Bar, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your positive comments hope to see very soon, Eric and his team will be please to welcome you back for new variesties of excellent food and cocktails.

Kind Regards
Ippocampo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PORT LOUIS
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best & simply restaurant of mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff are proffessional, the food was excelllent. I propose those of you to come and have a nice moment with your family and to taste the local rhum and also the famous <RHUM ARRANGE> who is prepare by ERIC.I promise to ERIC & his staff that I will come very soon, and I wish the best for the staff and for IPPOCAMPO in the future from ANDY family

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank ANDYPortLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iven v, General Manager at Ippocampo Resto Bar, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your positive comments,Eric and his team had the best satisfaction of your feedbacks.
Hope will you very soon at the Ippocampo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great People Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was on a recent visit to the Trou aux biche area of Mauritius staying at an all inclusive hotel.
Two of our group were interested in watching Manchester United play and were advised to try this bar.
Now dont get the wrong idea,I'm not a football fan myself, but was expecting some large screen rowdy pub. Ippocampo is infact a family owned bar restaurant. On arrival the staff stated that their TV had just broken and they had a tiny 10inch screen TV. Iven the owner then drove to his home address and picked up his own TV so the guys could watch the football.
During this process his served us with an array of delicious started (complimentary) and the girls say the best cocktails they have ever had.

we were so impressed with the food and hospitallity that we returned with 8 of us for a meal.
Not only had Iven and his nephew eric set up a beautiful table he had laid on some live music. The food is fantastic and i cant even begin to describe the hospitality and friendship that these two guys offered us. I wish them the best of luck in the future. and i recommend that if you are in this part of the world even in an all inclusive ,you give these guys your custom for one night, as i'm sure you wont be dissappointed.

Ian from Lincolnshire England

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank millsyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iven v, General Manager at Ippocampo Resto Bar, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
We Thank you very much for your comment,it has been a pleasure for the team having you amoung us at the Ippocampo ,Eric and his team was very happy to served you,and just to let you that we have got a big screen for the football match hope to see you back .

Thank you very much for your visits at the Ippocampo

Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippocampo Resto Bar also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Ippocampo Resto Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing