We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed 10 nights mid to end of march and found the Hotel and accommodation all very good. Cold drink on arrival, check in very easy, staff friendly and room clean with air con, nice balcony with sea view (slightly hid by trees) but mini bar extra, which is a shame. The food was excellent with lots of different choices and Steve the main man in the dinning room is a great host. The beach is across a main road (about 80mtrs from the hotel) but it has only light traffic, so it is not a problem and there are plenty of sun shades and sun beds. TAKE BEACH SHOES as there is some coral in cordoned off swimming area. Used the spa and steam room and was really impressed with the facility. The hotel has two decent size pools, both with sun loungers. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 141 & 142 do just get a sea view through the trees without paying a priemum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    563
    191
    81
    37
See reviews for
303
721
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Happened to stay for a week for honeymoon.

Pros:

-Good ambience.
-Great food taste.
-Easily acceasible via local transport.
-Daily cleaning.
-Beautiful pools.
-Nice cottage rooms.

Cons:

-Lack of coordination among staff at the reception and sundry arrangements.
-Welcome formalities are too time consuming.
-Lizards / snakes / spiders can be seen in rooms.
-Has tie up with a very costly tour services provider. Go to nearby market and adventure options are available at half price.
-Same breakfast everyday which makes feel bore.
-I wanted room decoration and the staff places all in all 12 flowers after plucking from garden outside, this is funny.
-Cheap sparkling wine offered that too on 3rd day instead of day 1.
-Information Kiosk is unattended most of the times. Refer to reception for towels help.
-tour provider 'seaside' is among worst. No time management, courtsey and while on tour, will take you to the shops for shopping which are among costliest. Sounded as if the operator has commission agreed.

Was given a disturbing bill at checkout which was corrected with no courteous apology.

Overall experience is not good considering I was on honeymoon and mood entirely spoiled. Planning another holiday in April to cover my agony somehow.

For sure not going to return. Honeymoon ended on a bad note.

Have left a feedback form at the reception. Don't know if anybody will read. Fingers crosses.

Suggestion - if happen to be in Casuarina, don't meet Mr. Saif, the tour advisor. He will take your fortunes against the adventures he will offer.

Thank you for reading
Rohit Nischal

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitNischal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following for our readers.

First of all, in my capacity as General Manager, I wish to point out that all the Casuarina team was at your disposal during your stay to meet your request. Furthermore, you forgot to mention that you were upgraded to a bungalow upon arrival.

Your honeymoon package is subject to an agreement between the Tour Operator and the hotel and being based on a defined budget. It is absolutely necessary that you are aware of the contents of this package so as to avoid any misunderstanding.

Your room package included drinks during dinner which are for your sole consumption. Nevertheless, you took the liberty to offer drinks from your package to other guests who were not entitled to this package.

You met the person responsible of the Indian market for the hotel upon your arrival; he clearly explained the amenities to which you are entitled for your honeymoon package. You cannot, in any case, find fault with the capabilities of the Management which has done the needful, with due courtesy.

Welcome formalities are as per hotel procedures, i.e, mandatory filling up of the registration form with all the necessary guest information and explanatory details about the hotel facilities. These formalities can be shortened upon request.

Alcoholic drinks and snacks in the mini bar are not included in your honeymoon package; neither is floral decoration.
Our Front Office staff suggested organizing chargeable floral decoration which you declined. The Housekeeping Department thus did its utmost to decorate your room free of charge. The picture which you posted does not reflect at all the room decoration which we provided, again, without any supplement.

The bottle of sparkling wine which was put in your room upon arrival forms part of your honeymoon amenities in accordance with your Tour Operator. In case you wish to have a bottle of champagne instead, this is at extra cost.

Our Information Kiosk is open from 08.00 to 6.00 p.m. everyday for any information and free beach towel service! It can happen, however, that the Kiosk remains unattended when the Kiosk staff goes to fetch clean beach towels once or twice daily and not “most of the time”. It is clearly mentioned that guests have to contact the Reception Desk who will follow up with the service.

During your stay, our breakfast consisted of: 3varieties of fruit juices, 2 varieties of milk, 5 varieties of jam, an assortment of fresh fruits, yoghurts, pancakes, 2 varieties of dried fruits, 2 varieties of cake, 2 varieties of sandwich loaf and Vienna loaf, viennoiseries, muffins, brioches, 2 varieties of delicatessen, omelets, eggs, bacon, sausages, sautéed vegetables, baked beans and garnish of the day.
The other guests which were staying at the same time were fully satisfied of the breakfast.

Our property is situated within a huge garden acreage. We were very surprised to read your comments about insects and reptiles in your room. Our maid and Housekeeping Department confirm that there was not any problem in this respect during your stay.

Your ground handler’s representative as well as sight-seeing or other packages sold by them do not fall under our responsibility; we will, therefore, not comment on this subject.

We acknowledge receipt of your “Guest Satisfaction Questionnaire” which you left at the Reception Desk upon departure; rest assured that we have already informed your Tour Operator of the matter.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

stayed 10 nights, rooms very spacious and clean, facilities good ,plenty of choice in the restaurant and Steve the manager was always chatting to the guests. The beach is across a road but traffic is very light so no danger to access. Pleanty of sun beds and free activities including water skiing. If planning trips out Vijay on the beach is the man to see and car hire is also relatively cheap
There are downsides like the wi fi and mini bar but they were really minor gripes.
Highly recommend this hotel for a great stay in Mauritius

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garry1955_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have worked in a lot of hotels over 35 years this one was very good. Contrary to other reviews the food was excellent. Plenty of choice and if you didn't like that, then the staff would get something you did like.For those who like Chips. The curries were the best i have ever tasted anywhere and that includes India. Plenty of fish dishes, and I thought i didn't like Tuna but ate it every other day in different dishes, Roast meats, kebab sticks, Beef,Pork everything you can think of. The Coconut ice cream delicious. Thank you Danielle, he is the most fabulous waiter, always smiling and happy if he is not there the atmosphere is not the same, a delightful young man. As for having a bar on the beach it would not be practical just take some water with you. Alcohol and the sea does not mix.
I loved the qwerkiness of the hotel and the gardens are lovely and well maintained. If you want to go on any trips see Vijay on the beach and Elvis for sarongs,baskets and jewelry. Go to the Botanic gardens well worth the visit. Make sure you drink lots of water it is very hot.
The bar staff are wonderful Nishum is the best waiter i have ever met, courteous, always smiling, attentive, i don't know the young man's name behind the bar but he did the best cocktails,and other guests agreed, the other staff behind the bar were older.

I was so glad i stayed in this hotel and not Trau au Biches resort(further up the beach) We met some lovely people and i doubt we would have had the same interaction in a larger hotel. The entertainment was excellent and very good singers in the bands they had in the hotel. To me a very good holiday you don't get bothered at all by anyone. On the day you leave you can store your luggage, put your valuables in a safe locker, they have showers and hairdryers, etc, so you can check out on time without the worry of getting cleaned up before you leave. The only thing i would say and i mentioned it on the guest questionnaire the bath towels are quite rough and need to be replaced the beach towels are thicker.
Overall thank you Casuarina Hotel I had a fantastic stay and will definitely recommend your hotel and Mauritius.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We thank you for your positive feedback.

We wish to inform you that we are already aware of the drawback with the bath towels and have requested our suppliers to remedy the situation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at our property.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 14 nights. Resort needs a touch of modernization and certainly better wi-fi and internet facilities. Rooms clean and comfortable; bar service excellent; facilities good. The staff were welcoming and friendly throughout the establishment. There were three downsides. First, there was no bar facilities on the beach - even a small facility would be welcome given the heat and distance from hotel. Secondly and more importantly, the food preparation and presentaqtion was poor. Much was heated for long periods in closed containers and came out stewed; and in addition the variety was too narrow. If you did not fancy indian food every mealtime you were a little stymied. Thirdly some petty serives - e.g. pay for tea,coffee and water from the mini bar!
But the bar facilities were excellent. Get the food sorted and its a recommendable place.

Room Tip: Good alround
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and would like to comment on the following:-

1.Our beach is situated across a secondary road; our guests can relax under our 21 straw-huts as from 8.00 a.m. This is clearly mentioned to our Tour Operators.

2.During your stay, our breakfast consisted of: 3varieties of fruit juices, 2 varieties of milk, 5 varieties of jam, an assortment of fresh fruits, yoghurts, pancakes, 2 varieties of dried fruits, 2 varieties of cake, 2 varieties of sandwich loaf and Vienna loaf, .viennoiseries, muffins, brioches, 2 varieties of delicatessen, omelets, eggs, bacon, sausages and garnish of the day.
As for dinner, you could choose between: 6 mixed salads, green salads + raw vegetables, condiments, salad dressings, selection of bread, 2 hot dishes (meat or fish or chicken grilled or cooked in sauce), 4 varieties of garnish (fresh vegetables), 8 varieties of desserts and fresh fruits.
3.We cater food in buffet style which is being kept in chaffing dishes. These food items are being refilled 3 or 4 times during dinner service, depending on the number of guests in-house. In addition, we have 3 live cooking stations everyday, with fish either cooked on the grill or stewed in a sauce, plus either chicken, beef, pork, lamb or duck
As we have a considerable number of Indian guests, we have a separate corner with Mauritian-Indian dishes and we give the opportunity to our European guests to discover this specific cuisine with a very spicy taste.
Our “A-la-carte” restaurants, Tree Top and Fingers, are open every day and our guests can eat there with supplement.

4.Wi Fi is available in our sea-facing rooms as well as in the hotel lobby, where it is free of charge. Internet is available in the other room categories at extra cost.

5.Your All Inclusive package is subject to a mutual agreement between the Tour Operator and the Hotel being based on a defined budget. Tea/coffee as well as water from the mini bar is not included in this package.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Casuarina hotel in the first week of December. Below are the pros and cons -

Pros -

Spacious Room - The rooms are designed like cottages, with king size bed, nice and clean bathrooms and spacious balcony and the room is cleaned once every day.
Friendly Staff - The staff is pretty friendly and helpful.
Nice Pool and Spa - There are two pools and both are pretty good. Spa is excellent.
Good Variety of Food - Food available is sea food, continental and indian. My wife is a vegetarian and she had good options available. I specially liked the fish that was prepared there and every day had a different variety of fish prepared. Beakfast was complimentary and nutritious.

Cons -
The beach is cross the road, so it depends on your choice. we didn't get sea facing room. In fact there are not many rooms there that are sea facing.
Complimentary wine was not good.
Room Service was pretty expensive and there were not many options available anyway in the menu.

We definitely had a very good stay and have fond memories of the place and Mauritius in whole. Would definitely like to go back to Mauritius as it was whole lot of fun roaming around the island and doing various sea activities like parasailing, under water sea walk etc. Perfect place for a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ritz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Positives : v. Good bar staff, rooms good and cleaned daily. Two pools with warmish water very clean. Food good on the whole.
Great deal of rehashed stuff, pick carefully, choose the fresh cooked meats and fish. Salads contain re presented meat and fish. STEVE ( one of the catering area supervisors), absolutely on the ball. Keeps things moving and very helpful to table location,which can be a contentious issue with other dining staff, especially one or two of the more arrogant waiters. Majority were fine, but we found them lacking in being polite or showing good manners around the dining experience.
We arrived in time for evening meal, where men have to wear FULL length trousers..... No exemptions! I only had one pair, which I used to travel in and had to wear them all week. This was not mentioned in the Mercury Direct brochure, nor was the fact that all inclusive does not mean what it says and it depends what arrangement your tour operator has with the hotel, CHECK THIS OUT before going. We found that there is also an all inclusive PRIVILEGE. You have to pay for the mini bar contents and tea or coffee in your room on just all inclusive. Bit of a 'con' really and you should get a list of your entitlements, we didn't and it caused a bit of hassle to establish this.
The beach over the road is not the best, in terms of crossing a formula 1 speed track, on a bend, only to find 'hawkers' selling DODOS, jewellery etc. all day long and various trips in competition with your travel rep.
We will not return, mainly, the whole thing is surrounded by hassle and if we had not met up with two super couples to share our experiences with, the holiday would have been poor. I have only told it as it is, I am afraid, but do check what you are getting from your tour operator, BEFORE you go. John, Thirsk.

Room Tip: Book or upgrade to a sea view room, whereupon you get wifi free, access to mini bar free, free tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lagoon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following:-

In general, your package is subject to a mutual agreement between the hotel and the Tour Operator and being based on a defined budget. The beneficiary (guest) must be advised of the contents of his package so as to avoid any misinformation.

Upon check-in at the hotel, you are remitted a document (in accordance with our Tour Operator) mentioning clearly to which package you are entitled (beverages list, opening and closing hours and other useful information).

All throughout your stay, your table had been set as per your requirements (first 2 persons, then 4 persons and finally a table for 6). All our F&B team (supervisors, head waiters and waiters) at the Boucanier and Tree Top Restaurants provide the best possible service to all our hotel guests as per the Mauritian hospitality.

As per our contractual agreement with all our Tour Operators, the dress code for men is long trousers compulsory at dinner time.

We have invested a huge amount of money on the Casuarina Resort & Spa beach which has been reprofiled recently further to an EIA (Environmental Impact Assessment). Our guests can relax, as from 08h00, under the 21 straw-huts on one of the most beautiful beaches of the North of the island, Trou-aux-Biches.

The pedestrian crossing which guests use to access the beach is a very secure one and up to international standards; we have not encountered any problem to date and children even use the crossing safely to go to the beach.

I met you personally at the swimming pool. We exchanged a few words and you seemed fully satisfied, as well as your wife of your stay at the Casuarina Resort & Spa.

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
2.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Resort & Spa

Property: Casuarina Resort & Spa
Address: 18 km from Port Louis, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casuarina Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Casuarina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing