We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few hidden extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A few hidden extras”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have recently returned from 2 wonderful weeks at Casuarina. All staff were helpful with nothing too much trouble. We used the laundry service, as we have previously in Sri Lanka and the Maldives, so didn't look too closely at the prices - imagine our shock when at the end of the holiday the laundry bill came in at over 5,000 rupees - £115 !! Beware this is an extortionate service way over-priced in comparison with other countries.
The dive centre was excellent, the staff do everything there for you so you really are on holiday, and the dive sites are interesting.
Room was comfortable, spotlessly clean but beware even with all-inclusive you have to pay for tea and coffee in your room!
All in all an excellent holiday but with a few hidden extra costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We wish to extend our deepest thanks to you for your positive comments following your stay of two weeks at the Casuarina Resort & Spa.
However , we would like to bring about the following remarks :

Our Laundry Service is inclusive of dry cleaning and ironing which forms part of a supplementary service available in your room together with a bag dedicated for that particular service with a well detailed price list in the cupboard. Each and every guest is requested to sign the attached document before processing; everythings looks so obvious and we were available for any queries .

Your All inclusive package is subjected to an agreement between the Tour Operator and the Hotel Management as regards to a defined budget and agreed service.The mini- bar contents as well as the coffee/tea service are not included in your package . For your kind information a document with necessary details of different services available was remitted to you on the very first day of your arrival .

In view of the above , we believe that everything was clear and straight forward

Thank you again for your positive comments .

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    550
    187
    76
    36
See reviews for
289
706
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are not staying at half-board or all inclusive basis - it's better to cook yourself. Mauritius itself is not expensive, but food and drinks in the hotel are mad expensive compare to the shops and the restaurants outside! First night we paid approximately €60 for carvery food for two! It was first and last time we ate in the hotel. 1l bottle of mineral water in the bar in the hotel is 90 mauritian rupees when in the supermarket 6 bottles of 1.5l bottles cost 99 mauritian rupees. Totally rip off - even though it is still cheap for i.e. Irish citizens.

However hotel itself is very nice, clean with few problems like ants in the kitchen area (but that's understandable as Mauritius is full of sugar cane), small orange lizards - permanet guests in the room, and rats (I've seen one in our kitchen!).

The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful. There are two swimmingpools - spotless clean, with plenty of sunbeds. Hotel also has private, lovely beach, with plenty of sunbets. They have as well free water kayaks, water bikes, and few other including glassbottom boat to watch coral reef and snorkelling. Good experience and included in the price of stay.

I would recommend this hotel, but only on half-board or all inclusive basis. It's not worth to pay for everything separately.

Room Tip: bungalows are bigger and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarzenaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments as regards to our hotel, however we wish to bring about our personal views as representative of the hotel management:-

In the first instance, you came as “Walking Guests” from a different hotel and we were very pleased to host you in a self-catering bungalow equipped with a kitchen.

It is normal that hotel prices for foods and drinks are not comparable to those of restaurants in the vicinity.

You paid the right price for the buffets as that charged for outside guests on self-catering. We offer a wide variety of dishes at dinner time; you could choose between 6 mixed salads, green salads + raw vegetables, condiments, salad dressings, selection of bread, 2 hot dishes (meat or fish or chicken either grilled or cooked in sauce), 4 varieties of garnish (fresh vegetables), 1speciallity of our french chef, 8 varieties of desserts and fresh fruits. Our prices are benchmarked with other hotels of the same category.

Our property adheres strictly to the Pest Control policy which is contracted to an external well-known company. The same property is part of a six-hectare tropical luxurious, exotical garden.

You mistook the hedgehog which is very inoffensive to a rat in the garden.

You were explained in details your concern of the pests by our management team before your departure from the hotel. We had the feeling that you had understood what was explained to you.

As regards to the ripping contention, we are a very honest and trustworthy company who looks after the well-being of all our guests from their arrival to their departure. However, we wish to remind you that, being in the hospitality business, we are a profit-making enterprise.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is situated right next to the sea with its own beach... the breakfast / dinner buffet were awesome. the best part was the room we stayed in. a first floor room with a small balcony that provided a view of the garden below. There is a bus stop at 2 mins walk where buses ply at an interval of 15 mins.. overall it was a very cozy experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sivani_Nanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Like most folk from UK we arrived travel weary for our all-inclusive 2 week stay, but I must say that the Casuarina staff were always very helpful and kind, particularly as I am Disabled, they were very kind indeed. This was my husband's 70th birthday present but we both enjoyed it so much that we would like to go back. No complaints about the food, breakfast was good with eggs cooked freshly however you wished. Lunch and Dinner choices were many and if by some chance there was nothing to your taste, then something was cooked for you. Our room was spotless as was the whole complex in fact, with linen changed daily including the beach towels if you so wished. The Spa was lovely, spotless again and the staff were so very helpful there also. I had the coconut milk and oil massage and it was soooooo relaxing, lovely, highly recommended. The beach was across the road, true, but even Disabled as I am, I managed it easily by the traffic light crossing just outside the complex. Perhaps for some the beach was small (it is shown in the Casuarina gallery), but we understand that a 10 minute walk away (not my best past-time) there was a larger beach. Perhaps the thing which most impressed us, was that without exception, everyone, from the gardening Ladies right up to the complex Manager, was poilte, friendly and very helpful they could not do enough for us. Positively the only thing that I found hard was the fact that, no matter what time you were departing to come home, except for those who left very early, the package stopped at 11am. No drinks, nothing, unless of course you purchased it. In truth, it was the best holiday that we have had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jensmum355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel shattered after a 12 hour flight and were given a run-down on what all-inclusive actually meant at this hotel. Too much to remember. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast , lunch and evening dinner were good, too good in fact. Although a couple of lunchtimes we came out of the restaurant with bird poo on us due to lots of birds fying around. The gardens were lovely and colourful, we saw some apartments overlooking a pond andcommented what a lovely outlook until a couple of nights later when walking back to our apartment and heard strange noises. The pond was full of VERY loud frogs. It seems there was a ringleader and the others followed. Amazing, but how anyone managed to sleep through the noise deserves a medal. We had a cleaner called Leena who was great and left flowers alternate days in the bathroom. We also booked some trips through Veejay who works on the beach. Very helpful and knowledgeable, we went to Paradise island and " walking with lions" at Cassella. Brilliant, well worth it. We had a mini bus for our group of 5 which was driven by Kevin. He was at our disposal for the day. Not only did he show us the places that we wanted to see but also went to places we did not know about.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room near the ponds as sometimes you will not be able to sleep. It might just be a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pattiann139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

6th visit to Mauritius and we decided to try the self catering route. Our tour operator recommended Casuarina above other self catering options. The little 'flatlets' are pretty nicely laid out with 2 bedrooms upstairs and a little kitchen/dining area and lounge downstairs. The space was nice, we weren't in each others space all the time as can be the case in a hotel room. The kitchenette was fairly equipped however, sadly lacking was a microwave for quick easy meals and no toaster. Beds really hard....

Food from room service was good value for money even though there was a surcharge to it being brought to the rooms but every time we did order this, they made sure to ask if we were aware of the surcharge. We bought food from the local supermarket about 15 to 20 mins walk away and from Super U in Grand Baie.

The beach, situated across the road from the hotel and a bit toward the right was okay, only problem, we got a bit worried every time the kids (13 and 14) went over without us as the traffic is a bit hectic and fast down this road (especially the local busses). Vijay, who sells excursions on the beach, is extremely helpful. Even dropped us off at the supermarket on day 1 so we only had to walk one way! We bought a 'Swimming with Dolphins" excursion with him - he was there when we left and got back to find out how it was. An excursion well worth doing. Ask Vijay about the flea markets, he will recommend some good value for money ones.

We rented a Suzuki Jeep from Ebrahim's Tour Op and Car Rental on Beach Road in Grand Baie. The other car rental companies in Grand Baie we found sadly lacking in service and as always go back to Ebrahim's. Our favourite spot to eat in Grand Baie - Cocoloco.

Nightly entertainment we felt was a bit lacking when comparing with other hotels we had stayed at previously in Mauritius. Staff in the hotel pretty friendly, Emily at reception had the best attitude by far! Snorkelling from the hotel in the glass bottom boat is a must.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schavefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We thank you for your comments and would like to point out the following:-

Toasters and microwaves can be provided in the bungalows upon request at the Housekeeping Department.

The pedestrian crossing leading to the beach is a very secure one with street lights in accordance with the international standards of road safety. We have not met with any problems up to date!

During your stay, the entertainment program was: Live music with hotel band on Monday, Saturday and Sunday, Musical trio at the Boucanier Restaurant on Tuesday & Thursday, Oriental Show at Oasis Bar and live music on Wednesday, Sega show and live music at Oasis Bar on Friday

~ The Management ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at Casuarina Hotel for two weeks from 25th August until 8th Sept 2012. I was holidaying with a friend rather than my partner and we had a fabulous time. All the staff (including Management) at the hotel were very friendly and always helpful to us and the other guests who were at the hotel at the same time as us. The food at the hotel was lovely. Breakfast catered for all, you could help yourself to pastries, pancakes, bread, cheeses, hams, cereal and fresh fruit etc. There was some of the best bacon that we have had at any hotel (between us we have stayed in hotels around the world at much higher star ratings) and you could have eggs cooked any way you pleased (and as much as you wanted if you were feeling particularly peakish!). Lunches and dinners consisted of a range of self-service buffets to served at the table meals, if there was nothing that suited your tastes then the waiting staff and managers were quick to point out they can cook you something else - we didn't need to use this facility. We tried lots of dishes that we wouldn't normally eat (we are abroad afterall!!) but as we are well travelled and tend to 'go with the flow' we always found delicious food to eat. Bar staff do serve drinks up until 11 (for all inclusive) and did serve people afterwards if they are willing to pay (sign for at the time, pay on leaving). The spa was also wonderful (perhaps the best massage that we'd ever had!). Getting to the beach is really no issue, you literally just cross the road, and as it is a road we followed the 'green cross code' (as taught to us as children!!) and there was even a crossing to use if you thought you couldn't manage the task all by yourself... If you didn't want to go to the beach (which was lovely and had it's own great beach staff and brilliant free watersports) you could sit around the two pools near the bar! We left the hotel on numerous occasions using local transport - not for the fainthearted ;0) and explored - we felt very safe as two females travelling alone all the time, just use commonsense, same as you would in your home city. We loved Mauritius and this hotel and staff. I would have no worries about my friends or family going here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hking_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
545 reviews
2.3 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Resort & Spa

Property: Casuarina Resort & Spa
Address: 18 km from Port Louis, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casuarina Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casuarina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing