We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casuarina Resort & Spa(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Grand Bleu Hotel(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
Tarisa Resort & Spa(Mont Choisy)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sannyasa Villa(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sakoa Hotel(Trou aux Biches)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
275
34
9
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
34
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall number of roomsbeach barhalf boardsister hotelsmall hotelper daytwin basinswater sportsa la carte menuon arrivalturn down serviceour honeymooncoffee tablesmall sofalocal mauritian dishesthe glass bottomed boatjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 328 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel for honeymoon after reading the reviews, and we were so glad we made the right choice! Friendly and caring staff, top-quality food luxury setting, beautiful beach with crystal-clear sea waves - they all made our 5-day stay absolutely joyful and memorable. The relatively small number of rooms enables this hotel to focus on as many details as possible to make our stay special and comfortable. We loved it! Thank you Le Cardinal!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CandyGuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to stay in some pretty fabulous hotels around the world and Le Cardinal would now be right up there near the top of the list.

If you're looking for a luxury, quiet, kids free, boutique hotel in a beautiful location with amazing food and wonderfully attentive and friendly staff, then The Cardinal is perfect.

With only 13 rooms, all with beach views, you really do feel special as you get to know all the staff and they get to know you. The wonderful general manager, Jean-Laurent, personally greeted us on arrival and then made a point of greeting us every day and checking we were enjoying our time at the hotel. This single minded focus cascaded all the way through the team at the hotel as every one of them were terrific, deftly judging the right balance of formality with casual friendliness as appropriate to the various nationalities of the guests.

We had their basic level room but it was large and beautifully kitted out, had a circular bath nicely positioned in between the bedroom and the bathroom; there were flowers scattered all over the bed for our arrival and candles and incense left by the bath should the mood take us.

The hotel has a beach bar and piano bar, together with an indoor/outdoor restaurant. And that's about it. But if you want a relaxing break then there can't be many better places.
The Cardinal's (more down-market and much larger) sister hotel across the road also has a terrific spa and a rough'n'ready gym room that we used three or four times during our visit. The latter could do with some investment but was adequate for our holiday needs.

The view from the beach is spectacular and everything that you could want from a paradise holiday, although the first steps into the water from the beach are onto gravelly coral remnants and so you do need to be careful.

It's definitely worth going half-board as there really isn't much else around to eat in, unless you go to some of the other hotels and pay their a-la-carte rates. And why would you? The dinners at the hotel are fabulous. The chef is very creative and tries combinations that you wouldn't expect, some that work better than others, but the food is a feast for the eyes and the taste buds. Every day there are some local Mauritian dishes, so you can experience the local food too. Wine is expensive, as the import taxes are high, but this is an island off the coast of Africa so a ugh cost for alcohol is to be expected.

The food experience continued throughout the day with complementary fruit skewers offered to guests on the (essentially private) beach in the early afternoon, hors d'oeuvres delivered to your room early evening, and then further hors d'oeuvres offered again with pre-dinner drinks and pre-meal. You won't go home weighing less than you arrived, that's for certain.

As you can tell, we throughly enjoyed our totally relaxing time at The Cardinal. If that's what your looking for then I can highly recommend it.

And furthermore, despite Mauritius not being a legally/culturally gay-friendly nation, the hotel staff didn't even blink when two guys arrived together and they could not have been more welcoming.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SamQ_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just finished a ten night half-board stay at Le Cardinal. Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay and one of our favourites (along with Club Villa in Sri Lanka and Andronis Boutique in Santorini). We travelled to various other parts of the island - Belle Mare, Flic-en-Flac, Trou d'eau Douce, Port Louis, Ile aux Cerfs - and this particular spot was our favourite. The hotel is right on the beach and gives you the option to do plenty (notably water sports) or just relax. Complimentary use of the sister hotel's water sports facilities (from snorkel gear to laser boats and daily boat trips) is an added bonus. We were upgraded to a two-storey 'duplex' room, with great views of the beach (as have all the rooms) and enough room for a family of four (though no children stayed here during our stay and it is definitely more of a couples resort). The bed is enormous and comfy, pillows are plentiful and the bathroom is huge and well equipped.

The hotel itself is very sleek and modern. The food is of an excellent standard (and plentiful) - though by the end of our stay we were starting to feel the effects of the rich and generous portions (including pre-dinner canapés served in your room you could have 9 courses - every night!). The pool is lovely, though the sea is so close it seems to barely get used. Communal areas are all spotless. Service was generally excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive. Reception staff helped organise a local hire car (1200 rupees/day) and a golf trip and were courteous and helpful throughout.

There were a few minor things that would have helped elevate this hotel into the 'deserves more than 5 stars' category. The lunch menu has lighter and more straightforward options than the a la carte menu and it would have been nice to have similar options in the evening (though to be fair, we didn't ask). Although the service was excellent overall, it was a little inconsistent - e.g. turn-down service not taking dirty plates or glasses more than once, used beach towels left by the door not taken, wet towels being folded and some not being replaced, a twenty minute wait for drinks in the Piano Bar one night (when the Piano bar was open drinks were generally prepared at the downstairs beach bar). A bit more flexibility would also be good - e.g. the bar closes for a period before dinner and although fruit is supposed to be served on the beach every day at around 3ish, it seems that if you miss the window by even a few minutes, your chance is gone (and on at least two days, it never arrived at all). And bottled water is free on your first day but not after that - which for the price of the hotel seems like unnecessary penny (or rupee)-pinching (a walk/drive to the supermarket in Trou aux Biches will save you a lot of rupees versus the minibar price).

Despite that last paragraph - would we stay here again? Definitely. In the whole scheme of things they are minor gripes that barely detracted from our stay - fixing them would just make a very good hotel that tiny bit better.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We would, first of all, like to thank you for your very positive comments and wish to clarify the following points:-

Our lunch Carte at the Beach Restaurant offers a wide variety of light meals (salads, sandwiches, pizza, burgers, …) with the appropriate service. On the contrary, the dinner menu is gastronomical with more sophisticated dishes served within a hushed atmosphere.
However, should you have preferences as regards to the dishes served at dinner time, you just have to inform us so that we can take the necessary measures to give you satisfaction.

Our turn-down service takes place once during the day and as from 18h00 in the evening. Our Housekeeping Department is at your disposal in case you may have specific requirements.

“Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort” is deeply involved in an information program for the protection of the environment. Water is indeed a precious natural resource becoming rare.
It is clearly mentioned on the relevant document in your room: “Please leave in the bathtub the towels that you would like to change”. Our Housekeeping remains at your disposal for any complementary service.

We have taken good note of your remarks concerning the Piano Bar. The Head of Department concerned has been informed of the matter.
The Piano Bar is open for appetizers in the evening; during this period on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays. Otherwise they are served at the Beach Bar.
You can view the program which is displayed in the hotel lobby.

Fruit skewers, as well as a cold towel, are provided every day, at around 15h00, at the beach at no extra cost to our guests. In case you miss the slot, you can notify our team so that you can enjoy this benefit.

Two bottles of water are available free of charge in your room on your arrival date. You can consume from the mini bar for the rest of your stay.
Tea ,coffee and decaffeinated coffee are also included in your room package.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, once again, at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort.

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Le Cardinal provided us with the perfect setting to enjoy our Honeymoon.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome, smiles and hello's from all staff, who could not do enough to make our stay as memorable and relaxing as possible, and this level of service was upheld for the duration of our stay.
The Room was of an extremely high standard both cleanliness and decor, with an amazing view of the beach. (we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a penthouse/duplex room).
We were half board and enjoy our food, and were both amazed at the extremely high standard of meals, and service we received, especially during the evening meal. An excellent Menu, with a great variety of dishes to select, including fantastic local dishes to try which we were most pleased with and enjoyed again and again. The level of service provided by the Restaurant Team was first class, always courteous, friendly and helpful, and would always accommodate any individual requirements, this was highlighted on our last evening with a special menu provided specifcally for us as a present for our Honeymoon, a treasured memory for us both. On a Friday Saturday and Monday we were treated to Cocktails and Music in the Piano Bar, and was a pleasant way to begin the evening.
We were lucky enough to be treated to a Massage which was a Wedding Present to us both, which was conducted on the Rooftop overlooking the Beach, a beautiful and tranquil setting. My Wife also took advantage of a great offer which was provided for further Massage at Le Cardinal's Sister Hotel accross the Road, which she enjoyed very much.
The Hotel's location is Beachfront and is a quiet, romantic setting, perfect for relaxing, however if you do feel like a more active day then you can take advantage of the 'Free' Water sports available ranging from Water Skiing to Kayaking, Glass Bottom Boat Trips to Wakeboarding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I guess Trip advisor does not allow enough space for comments to praise Le Cardinal to the extend it deserves.... From the arrival until the time we checked out, we felt the whole staff is there to make our stay the best experience of our lifetime. Everyone from the doorman to the room service staff was incredible. The hotel, it's grounds and the beach are great - excellent location, well designed, provide privacy and extremely comfortable stay but the real secret of Le Cardinal is the staff - we loved all of them and will always compare other hotels to the team that we get to know in Le Cardinal. Thank you guys for the wonderful experience.
My review would not be complete though if I did not mention one more differentiator of Le Cardinal - THE FOOD. It is like going to Michelin star restaurant every night ! Hats off !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Family S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews