We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This used to be my favourite restaurant in the whole world. Now it's not the same.”
Review of Le Pescatore

Le Pescatore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This used to be my favourite restaurant in the whole world. Now it's not the same.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Under the previous owners this restaurant was a gem unmatched in charm, decor and food and a world class experience and no other restaurant in the world has charmed me like the experience I had here.

I made the big mistake of going back. It was NOTHING like the restaurant I knew. The decor had been changed to a bland red and it was no longer the fantastic exclusive old-worlde high-class tropical gem I knew.

We did not even eat there I was so upset. I wish I never went back because then I would have thought my spectacular little restaurant still existed. Heartbroken!!!!

ps the setting of this little restaurant is on the beach and still special. Perhaps the food is still good so maybe give it a try. Not easy to find this little restaurant, tucked away behind the boats.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    71
    36
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite food in an exceptional setting”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a fixed price menu which was more than adequate because of the generous portions. The food was delicious. The dishes did not rely on presentation alone but on flavours and sauces that were subtle and distinctive . The octopus and swordfish were perfectly cooked . A highlight was a pre-starter of beetroot sorbet and some wonderful pickles and dips. This was cooking of a very high standard.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fine Dining Experience!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Got engaged there yesterday!

Everything was perfect; the atmosphere was very cosy and the staff well mannered. We were warmly welcomed by the owner as well.

The food and the wine were excellent, nothing to complain about!

I highly recommend this venue, it was an unforgettable experience :)

Keep it up Le Pescatore!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fine dinning in great setting”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

A truly fine dinning experience . Each and every course was a treat , and what was most surprising was the size of the portions. For mains , our family enjoyed beef, line fish and tune, all prepared to specifications , presented as one would expect from a quality restaurant. Deserts included a creme brûlée as well as pineapple and ice cream special -

The service levels were equally of top quality with frequent light touch attention and care.

The final cherry on the cake was the view of the beach and harbor.

This was a fine dinning experience and therefore attracts the appropriate price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great quality but at a huge cost”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Fantastic restaurant with amazing views but at a huge cost to South African travelers. If you prepared to pay the high cost, it is recommended by us.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pescatore also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing