We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and good food”
Review of Le Pescatore

Le Pescatore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have tried this restaurant in a group of 11, everyone from the group enjoyed the night very much. The french fusion cuisine was top notch, everything was very tasty and good quality. The chef was very innovative with the ingredients and sauces. My wife and I tried 2 different tasting menus and shared the food, so we got to try at least 8 different dishes. The staff and the owner was very attentive and nice. One of the tasting menus we tried has 6 different tapas (small dishes) as main course and every one of them were unique and tasty. The deserts were also very nice and not too sweet. The pineapple tart I had was very memorable. I highly recommend anyone to visit this restaurant.

The location is by the sea and the deco of the restaurant was tastefully comfortable, felt like enjoying a home dinner in a nicely decorated cottage by the sea. I would rate this restaurant at least one Michelin star if they have Michelin in Mauritius. But this restaurant is not cheap in the Mauritius standard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigpadpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    71
    36
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice setting and excellent food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had dinner at Le Pescatore in December 2012. The setting is very nice, especially if u get a front table by the sea. The food is excellent, but it is expensive. But overall it was a very nice experience and I recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand baie mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The place for special occation”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having visited the Le Pescatore for special celebrations and the set 8 dishes dinner is excelent and is our top favorite. We can highly recommend this to you.

Helpful?
1 Thank jsj_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauricup
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the best of the best”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

not afraid to spend some money on GOOD food? then it's the Pescatore. I'm Mauritian, on vacation now in Mauritius....Our table was sea front, really pied dans l'eau; the fish comes right from the big game fishing club next door; Try the palmiste with truffel...UN DELICE ! Great service;
I new the Pescatore from 25 years ago and somehow "forgot" about it , as so many restaurants came out in Mauritius. We keep trying them all out... but now it seems we have found our favoured one back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mauricup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food but expensive”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had dinner here with friends in December 2012. The setting is stunning with great view over the water. I found the service a bit stuffy, the waiter was hovering around our table. Maybe they were bored as it wasn't that busy in the restaurant. The food is expensive, but they do give you value for the money with ample supply of bread rolls and bread sticks, a nice sorbet and chocolates and cookies at the end of the meal. My tuna with risotto was really tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyhcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pescatore also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Le Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing