We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel...good value for money”
Review of Indian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel...good value for money”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

NIce hotel with nice people...wide variety of buffet occidental and local food...the animation team is very good...however plenty of waves in the lagoon and difficult to do canoeing or pedalo...however ideal for kite surfing etc...very relaxing atmosphere...To my surprise, I did not meet any indians there. I think the hotel should change name...lol!!! Plenty of tourists from Europe specially France...A trip at the hotel is great value for money!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armoogum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    258
    108
    98
    118
See reviews for
174
431
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is one of the recommended hotel by many Indian travel sites and agents for honeymooners. The name "Indian Resort" also echoes sense of closeness amongst Indians when the know they are going far form their country. However, opting this hotel for honeymoon could a huge spoiler for overall honeymoon experience (which many would have only once in their lifetime ;). Right from rooms to cleanliness to feed to check-in and checkout- everything is pretty average or below and you won't feel anything special.Its a big property managed by few staffs and hence they lack good service.

Room Tip: Ask rooms with beach view. Don't forget to be clear about their complimentary service or else yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Morne hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

And again the same, a Strict No for this hotel coz of following reasons:
1. Very poor hospitality and terrible communication skills of the staff
2. Food was tasteless, especially for Indians and Vegetarians. Even people were found complaining about the non-veg cuisines.
3. The key to the door kept on getting non-functional and every time you have to get irritated for it.
4. Room AC often breaks down. We had to change room thrice, once in the middle of the night.
5. Doctor at the hotel's dispensary does not want to be bothered, for anything even as little as a minor cut.
6. Most importantly, this hotel is to the extreme south and very far from any other local attractions. Travelling time seems like ages and is minimum 2 hours each one way.
7. There is nothing significant included in their so called "All-inclusive package". You have to carry everyday bottle of drinking water from restaurant to your room.
8. The management staff (one was Mr. Danny) at the hotel seems incompetent for managing this hotel, with "Oooh, I'm so sorry... " attitude.

All in all, this is a hotel which requires drastic changes, and should till then be strictly avoided. People reaching for leisure, honeymoon etc. should search for something in the North or West of Mauritius.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warriorlords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear warriorlords ,

Following your remarks concerning the negative points, We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, and promise you that if you favour us with a further visit everything will be done for you to have a most enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Fond regards,
Indian Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

After a long flight (with a changeover at Charles de Galle) we arrived in Mauritius early in the morning, but straight away realised that it was different from any other place we had been to.
Quite a long transfer from the airport to hotel, but our driver was most Knowledgable and pointed out attractions/ places of interest along the way.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a woman dressed in traditional dress and a number of porters who gathered our luggage. We were led into the reception and given refreshments. We were then given a brief introduction to the hotel and it's amenities. It was at this point that the woman who first greeted us mentioned that it was our anniversary during our stay and made a note of the date.
There are a number of different restaurants in the resort, Indian, French, Italian and the main restaurant. The restaurants operated on a booking system, so that if you wished to book into the French restaurant you would do this the day before for example. The food is all of a very high standard and with lots of variety.
The resort is ideally situated on the beach as are most of the hotels and the beach is golden sand. The rooms are large,spacious, and comfortable.
During our stay we hired a car and travelled extensively around the island. The local people were friendly and always helpful. Port Louis (being the capital) is definitely worth a visit, the market was really busy and it was nice just to walk around the harbour area.
On the day of our anniversary the hotel put on various treats for us, but the highlight was in the evening when unexpectedly following our Italian meal a cake with candles was brought out and a trio came to the table and sang to us with a guitar playing in the background.
Couldn't fault the whole experience and had a wonderful time. Will have to go back someday if it's the last thing I do!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments.

It is a great pleasure to read your encouraging words. Rest assured that we will pass on the comments to our staff. We sincerely believe that this will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the standards.

We are glad that you had a nice anniversary at the hotel and we do want our guests to feel special.

We look forward to welcoming you at Indian Resort & Spa in a near future.

Sincerely
Indian Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the hotel over Christmas 2013. The hotel staff went out of their way to assist us and were friendly and extremely helpful. The sea is not really for swimming, but if you are into Kite surfing this is ideal spot. On days that wind did not blow the sea current ok for swimming. The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool. On arrival Henry helped us with our luggage and he was friendly. Steve at reception was extremely helpful as well. We received good service at the pool with guys like JP and others bringing drinks and snacks. Overall a nice holiday. The food was not the best, but after some days we knew what to pick and eat. I can recommend this to others

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor close to the reception and it was perfect for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear mstruwig,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments.

We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Cheers,
Indian Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Even though we was a little sceptic in the beginning going to Indian Resort, we have to say we did not have to be a bit sceptic. We read some really bad reviews about the resort, but have to say they are not true anymore. The resorts standard apparently changed since those reviews!
The location of this resort is fantastic, you can choose to hangout at the pool all day or just walk directly to the beach area from the pool. The beach in front of the resort can be a little windy with small waves, but is a excellent place for Kitesurfers and Windsurfers. On the other hand the wind was only to strong one day out of our 14 day stay, to lie on the sun beds at the beach. The wind was actually okay, because then you did not feel that there was around 30 degrees celcius all day. If preferred you can walk around the corner in front of the St. Regis or Lux Resort to get calm water and no wind because of the direction of the wind.
There has been a lot of bad reviews of this place but i have to say that the staff was absolutely fantastic and friendly. They did all they could to make our stay pleasant, and was really helpful if we needed some assistance. The buffet was great and really tasteful, but do not expect gourmet food with expensive french wine. During the our stay, there was enough variation in the food to try something new every day. In the beginning of our stay there was always a waiter/waitress available all the the time, but in the end the resort was fully booked so it took a little bit longer to get their attention. We were still really satisfied with the service in the restaurant even after it got busy. We saw a couple of people complaining regarding the service in the restaurant, but I have to say that it was the guests that was a bit to uptight, and not the staff!
You can see that the resort is not a 5 star resort, but it was absolutely up to the standard of what they promised.
The location of the resort is definitely one of the best in Mauritius, it´s not overcrowded at all in we were staying during the high season.
There are lots of activities around to keep everybody satisfied, if you just don´t want to lie on the beach or by the pool. We tried the Spa that was relocated while the were renovating the real place. It was ok, but not fantastic.
The resort is really children friendly, and there are lots of stuff to do for the whole family.

If we have to come with some negative feedback, it would be that the internet was way to slow and almost impossible to use if you have to work a little bit while staying there. It was only available in the reception area, but we spoke to the manager that told us they will get wifi all over the resort, and in the rooms this year.

We can recommend to go Dolphin watching, or just rent a boat with a captain to sail around the Le Morne. We got in contact with a man called Carlos in front of the Hotel on the beach, and we can absolutely recommend him for the Dolphin watching trips. There are two places to watch Dolphins in Le Morne, you can sail to Tamarin Bay and watch Spinner Dolphins or sail out side of the reef if the weather is calm and watch Bottlenosed or Spinner Dolphins. We did both and have to say that the trip to Tamarin Bay we did not like so much because when we arrived, there were 30 boats in a really small area and to many people snorkeling at the same time trying to swim with the Dolphins. It was a bit to hectic for our temperament to swim between boats and so many people, and seemed a bit to stressful. The trip outside the reef was much better, we were swimming with Bottlenosed and were watching Spinner Dolphins, and there were only two other boats than ours. The trip outside the reef, you have to be used to the sea and a good swimmer, because there are some waves out there.
If you want to learn Kitesurfing or Windsurfing the location is one of the best in the world, shallow water and super warm.
The nearest supermarket is 10 km away, but you can get a taxi really cheap to take you there and wait while you shop. If you just want to buy panini, water, sodas, etc. during the day, there is a public beach 500 meters to the right of the resort where you can buy from local mobile shops.

All together this is not the last time i have visited Indian Resort in Le Morne, we absolutely loved it...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar if you do not want to hear music from the entertainment during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent a couple of nights there in Dec.Firstly staffs are very nice but they were overloaded with work which makes the service appalling not to say very bad.On arrival there was no one to take our luggage to our rooms, or we would have had to wait for a couple of hours before getting someone so we carried our stuff to the rooms situated on the second floor and of course the elevator does not work.Then we looked for beach towel to use in the pool and there was none that was clean so we had to use the towel in the room.The ac leaked water in the room I was in.The tv in our room did not work and I called reception to inform them.yet no one ever came.The spa was out of service.
I think Indian resort badly needs a good renovation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padmini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shad K, ECommerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Padmini,

We regret to hear that certain flaws in our service have given you any cause to complain.

The delay for getting your luggage to the room is due to the fact that we have a high occupancy rate lately.

We have informed the maintenance about the TV and the leakage and you had in your room and they have fixed the issue.

With regards to the spa, it was closed because we need to repair an hydrotherapy pool pump and the parts is currently not available in Mauritius.

We wish to reassure you that your complaint is being considered with utmost seriousness and all possible remedial actions will be taken.

Regards,
Indian Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Morne hotels
0.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
2.2 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Resort

Property: Indian Resort
Address: Pointe Sud Ouest Le Morne 1 Le Morne Road, Le Morne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#7 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Indian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Le Morne
Indian Resort Mauritius/Le Morne
Indian Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing