We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinarobin- Things to Remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Hi Everyone.

We recently returned from Mauritius, where we split our stay between The Dinarobin and Shandrani Resort, both were first class. ( I have posted a review on Shandrani as well.)

We flew out with Air Mauritius which I pleased to say were pretty good, we were going to upgrade the flights to Business Class with BA, however being a last minute trip the only fares left with BA were sky high! So we opted for the cheaper economy seats with Air Mauritius.

We had a Junior Suite and upgraded the room to a Club Junior Suite, its the same room as far as I’m aware, but we got access to the club lounge, which I must admit, we visited quite frequently, they have a great selection of complimentary drinks and snacks through the day, I like a wine or two when on holiday, so that was a worthwhile upgrade.

Rooms are well furnished, beds were a little too soft for me, but my partner was raving about how well she was sleeping, so I guess I’m just a little picky! :)

They have quite an amazing golf course here too, I brought my clubs along, but didnt get round to having a game.

We ended up booking with littleluxuryislands.co.uk as they were quite a bit cheaper than Beachcomber Tours.

We spent all of our time in the resort, however I would probably pay a visit to Gran Bay next time, as that sounded like a good day out.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaldivesSUNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

My partner and I were originally booked into Trou Aux Biches for 10 nights, another Beachcomber hotel in Mauritius, but our travel agent advised that as the TAB had only had a "soft" opening following a refurb of the hotel, we would be better off staying somewhere else, so he arranged for us to stay at the Dinarobin. What an amazing holiday it turned out to be.

The Dinarobin is adjacent to the Paradis hotel (another Beachcomber hotel), which has an 18-hole golf course on site. We walked around the grounds of both hotels and felt that Dinarobin was the more spacious and upmarket hotel of the two, although the individual villas at the Paradis looked impressive as well. The beach at Paradis was more populated, with the sun loungers being quite close to each other (nowhere near the scale of the Costa del Sol though!). We did notice, however, that the average age of the guests in the Dinarobin was quite high (most guests were over 65 - we're in our early/mid 40's); the Paradis seemed to have a lot more children.

Our room, a junior suite, was very spacious, the extra kingsize bed was enormous and so comfortable. We were on the ground floor; with hindsight we would've booked a first floor room to gain a seaview, but the view of the garden was lovely as well. The bathroom was huge, with a large jacuzzi tub and a shower easily big enough for two.

The suites are grouped into horseshoes, and in the centre of each horseshoe is a beautiful, warm, salt-water pool. In the background is the tall, black Le Morne mountain which, following heavy rain, develops waterfalls - quite stunning.

The food in the restaurants is excellent - even the buffet isn't bad. Our favourite restaurant was Saveurs des Iles, followed by La Ravanne. We found it was better to make reservations a day or two (or three!) in advance, to make sure we got into the restaurants we wanted.

We used the facilities in The Club every day, usually having a couple(!) of pre-dinner drinks, and the service there is superb. In fact the service is superb throughout the hotel, nothing is ever too much trouble, although getting coffee in the morning at breakfast could sometimes be a little slow. Drinks in The Club were included with our tariff; drinks at the bar and in the room were what you would expect from any large hotel - about 3-4 times the price you pay off-site.

My partner played the golf course once (plays off 15) and he commented that the course is quite tight but he enjoyed it more than he thought he would and he would recommend it. Tip: take your own golf balls, tees and glove - quite expensive to purchase in the golf shop there.

The beaches are stunning, and it felt like we had it all to ourselves some days, it was so quiet and well laid-out. We were able to walk out into the water up to our thighs and watch the tropical fish swimming between our legs - no need for snorkels!

We booked a 2.5hr boat trip to see/swim with the dolphins and visit Coconut Island and were assured that we needed to book it up early because if the weather was poor, the trip would be postponed. As it turned out, the weather was pretty poor, but the trip went ahead. We did see the dolphins but couldn't swim with them (the water was too rough), and we didn't get to Coconut Island (again, weather too poor). This trip wasn't arranged through the hotel, but we eventually negotiated a heavy discount with the beach vendor, and I did get some very cool photos of the squall we went through and the dolphins. Tip: if you book a boat trip with one of the beach vendors, insist on postponing it if the weather isn't good. They will oblige, athough you might have to dig your heels in a bit!

One of the best things that happened was on the last day; we received a phone call to say that we could keep our room until the taxi picked us up (6.30pm), which gave us a full day on the beach and the chance to have a shower just before we left - the perfect end to a perfect holiday, and we would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBurnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the Dinarobin for 2 1/2 weeks and really enjoyed it. We had a senior beachfront suit and a club junior suit. The Club is defiantly worth the additional cost and the service they provide is outstanding. Particularly Clifford is always on top of things.
The location of the property is nice and rather wide spread so even if the hotel is full you never get the impression of being squished in and standing in line to get a decent beach chair. The rooms were clean but rather dark (beachcomber style) but well equipped and the extras for our 13 months old son were really over the top! We had a wonderful babysitter and the nursery w/ all the different toys and programs and well educated staff was excellent!
SPA: General areas around the pool are beautiful but not 6 *. The changing rooms definitely need to be renovated very badly. The staff and the treatments are very good and value for money was outstanding.
Food: The variety (w/ Hotel Paradis over 11 restaurants for Half board) was grand. The quality, particularly of meat, varied very much though. Service at Harmonie during breakfast was regular chaos and one would usually wait for up to 30 Minutes to get a Cappuccino. The managers did, what they could but the staff was just badly trained. Also the service around the main pool was next to non existing! That is a shame, because the hotel could make a lot of money on it and the clients would be a lot happier. Service at the other restaurants (exept "La Ravanne" - Paradis, which was horrible) was good and friendly.
GYM: Very nice, clean and great program
All in all we were happy and would always recommend this property, particularly in comparison to the "Paradis" which has partly nice restaurants and shops, but holds twice the number of guests on the same amount of m2 property.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We are a Mauritian couple (living in the UK) and stayed there for 9 nights. We are well travelled but have to admit that this is the best we have ever been to. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The views surrounding our suite were stunning. There are multiple pools and at most times they seemed empty which meant that we could indulge ourselves as much as possible. The place never seemed busy but actually had a high occupancy rate. The food was top quality and contained a variety of international dishes on a daily basis. The staff always go out of their way to help you and are genuinely friendly. We went for deep sea fishing which was a memorable experience. The fact that you also get access to the neighbouring Le Paradis hotel's facilities makes you spoilt for choice. Our only gripe was the DAMN NOISY LIZARDS! but the staff immediately changed us to another room and there were no further problems. The Clarins spa was a good experience also. We had a couple's massage which left us feeling totally relaxed. The stunning location and almost serene isolation at times made it feel as if we were in heaven. This is the best holiday we have ever had and we will definitely return. Many thanks to Berti, Nash and Blondie and Chloe for making this an unforgettable experience. Sadly UK hotels are lightyears behind this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBlue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel and an amazing location - really amazing with the unique 'montaine de monde' overlooking you with awe and beauty everytime you look to the rear of the Hotel.

Find it hard to see anyone would be disgruntled here. Have to say it was wonderful and I am picky, especially as it was for honeymoon.

Three restaurants with a la carte food from around the world - buffett fit for a king if you wanted. The wine and service was second to none and impressive to find my favourite wines available.

As for the room or should I say apartment like accomodation with plasma and sea views you can have a lovely time and then make use of the private dipping pools.

I loved it so much I have to share this enclave of paradise that we found. I suggest you visit. Special memories without a doubt and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We consider oursleves to be well travelled, but this hotel exceeded all of our expectations and was the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

We got married at the Dinarobin in November 2010. Everything was organised and put in place by the staff and wedding co-ordinator, Sarah, without any fuss and nothing was too much hassle for them to arrange. We met with Sarah on the day we arrived and all arrangements were made that day which left us more time to relax and spend with our family until the wedding 4 days later. The wedding day was perfect, everything we asked for and more. We had chosen our own menu for the meal after the wedding, which was served to us at a private table in the Martello tower in the Club, and I have to say it was the best meal any of us have ever eaten! We really were treated very special both on the day and throughout our stay.

The hotel itself was beautiful and was extremely tranquil, we felt relaxed from the minute we arrived! The hotel grounds are very well kept and, as other reviewers have said, it never felt busy (although apparently they were at 95% capacity whilst we were there). The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for you and that applied to every single one of them. The food was lovely, we ate at the buffet apart from two nights where we ate at other restaurants in the hotel, and the food throughout was very high quality. One of us had a nut allergy and on the Indian buffet night the chef actually cooked us our own curry to ensure there were no allergy issues! If you do want to eat at restaurants other than the buffet I would recommend booking early in your stay as we did struggle later in the week, it appeared that everyone else seemed to know to do this and had got in first!

We had booked a club junior suite, although we were upgraded to a beachfront club junior suite on arrival, which was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were of a very high specification, they were very spacious and the bathroom was huge! It was beneficial to pay that bit extra for a club room however as we also received free lunches for being on our honeymoon we probably didn't get the full benefit.

Given we were getting married we had spent a lot of time researching hotels and resorts in Mauritius looking for somewhere that is beautiful and high quality but is welcoming, relaxing and without any pretention. We found exactly that at the Dinarobin. I would recommend it to anyone and we are already looking forward to a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

My family and I had experienced a traumatic year and dinorobin is just what the doctor oirdered. Peaceful, picturesque and as regulars to Mauritius it was the best hotel we'd been to EXCEPT for rodents. I have a fear of mice and rats and from the first night at supper saw a rat and then everyday since then. There were mice running past my room and I honestly couldn't sleep was petrified. Everything ekse was heaven but I woukd be scared to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
0.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
32.5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
7.3 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
34.7 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius 91202 (Formerly Beachcomber Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Business Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range: $317 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbol of tropical elegance An elegant five-star resort in Mauritius, Dinarobin Hotel Golf & Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility - the ideal setting for your luxury holiday in Mauritius and the perfect sanctuary to renew your body and soul. Cascading pools dotted with islets bright with flowers, spacious wooden decks, terraces designed with sea views and tropical gardens planted with exotic trees make Dinarobin the symbol of tropical elegance in Mauritius. Located on the most scenic shoreline in Mauritius with the spectacular Le Morne mountain acting as a dramatic backdrop, Dinarobin offers an intimate village setting. The resort features luxurious all-suite accommodation that blends harmoniously into the lush tropical gardens. Dinarobin and Paradis, an adjacent Beachcomber resort of the same category, share facilities. Guests of Dinarobin have access to the 18-hole Par 72 golf course at Paradis and to eight inviting restaurants, four at each hotel. Dinarobin also offers a range of complimentary land and water sports and access to two additional championship golf courses in the vicinity. The Spa is without a doubt the most beautiful spa in Mauritius and the ideal place to relax and be pampered. The resort's fabulous setting is complemented by world-class service. The ever-attentive staff attends to your every whim in the restaurants, in your suite or on the beach as you relax in the shade under your straw parasol. For absolute indulgence during your holiday in Mauritius, choose Dinarobin, a resort that offers new standards in luxury, a place of calm and beauty that will soothe your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinarobin Hotel Golf Le Morne
Dinarobin Hotel Golf And Spa
Dinarobin Hotel Le Morne
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing