We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUX* Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
“Great relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a very nice and relaxing holiday. The surroundings are beautiful!
The room was spotless clean and the property is very well maintained.
The staff was amazing. Always smiling faces, a kind word, very helpful and devoted.
A special thanks to Vishan and Nicholas from the pool bar. They really made our holidays special. Every day again, they were welcoming us at the beach with a big smile. Their service was more than excellent! Also Ajay Annunto gave us this warm welcome feeling every single day, from breakfast till diner, always present with a smile and looking after us, making sure everything was perfect.
I don’t know if they will read this review, but if they do “THANKS AGAIN!”

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,803
    459
    98
    30
    5
See reviews for
995
2,777
62
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had 8 days at this hotel on the All-Inclusive package. Our room ... a honeymoon junior suite ...was very nice, with the servicing of the room done impeccably (though we were missed on two evenings). The patio area and the outside shower were particularly nice. Air conditioning worked well as did the WiFi. The common areas and the grounds were all well-kept, and the coffee bar a nice addition. Beach beds and shades were just the job, and the beach grooming very well done. The location is spectacular with Le Morne as a background (the climb up is well worth the effort) and the west-facing lagoon is great for bathing and watching the sunset. The phone box for brief free international calls is a nice touch. Service generally is good, though with a large staff there were some ups and downs in attitude. Beach service is friendly enough but very slow. The bar staff made good cocktails.
Our disappointment was the food. The main restaurant was themed buffet on all evenings but one. The buffets were OK, but lacked any finesse in presentation or flavour. We had stayed at Legends in the north of the island previously, which has the same management, and the buffet food was far superior. Here it was generally not appetising, and often lukewarm. Breakfast was better as more was cooked fresh. The Thai restaurant was good on one occasion, but a return visit less enjoyable as the menu is very limited. We enjoyed the Beach restaurant more as the food was freshly cooked and they had some good dishes on the menu. We had all our lunches and one evening there, and ate our way through the menu at least twice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX* Le Morne, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Retired_engineer_58,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your experience but we are also sorry that you did not find the food aspect up to your expectations.
I will certainly address your criticism with Thomas our Chef; he has a fine experience in top dining places such as Alain Ducasse and should therefore be able to make the necessary corrections. As we speak we are sampling today the Nipa new menu that will be implemented November 1st, and believe me we will be very serious about the critic.
I have also noted that we should speed up our Beach service and to this effect have reviewed our process. Some remote ordering devices are on order which will help reducing the waiting time, but in the meantime we shall focus on a faster service delivery from the pool bars.
Thank you again for helping us improving our guests' experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My friend and I had a 10 night stay here , all inclusive and were not dissapointed. We were met on our arrival by Pierre the manager and shown to our room by Madi . Rooms, service , food and staff were what we now expect from a 5 star resort. The free 15m massage was most welcome to destress after a long journey from England. Although all staff were friendly and helpful we did receive exceptional service from Nicholas and Akshay kept us supplied with , drinks and food and a possible disaster was averted by the resident manager Rocco , who , when they changed the night of the Saga Show without informing us arranged for us to see it at another hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are easy access to pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I see a couple of people say they didn't expect it to be so good....and looking at the photos you'd think 'of course it's going to be good'. But it still manages to surprise. The breakfasts are the best I've ever had, in fact the dinners are up there. The views and the activities brilliant, and we had a free upgrade which made the stay all the better. Not a bad word to say.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madagnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 9 night stay at Lux Le Morne. We had the most wonderful, relaxing time celebrating our honeymoon and the hotel provided the perfect setting and service for our very special holiday.

We arrived early (8am), and despite being told we probably wouldn't be able to check in until after 12pm, we were greeted warmly by the staff who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room. We opted for the cheapest rooms which were more than adequate with the biggest bed we have ever seen!! The bathroom was huge too, with large double ended bath, grand walk in shower, double sinks and walk in wardrobe. The balcony had views over one of the pools and the beach.

The staff knew we were celebrating our honeymoon and made sure we had a special time. The first night we had flowers decorating the bed and we were booked in for a private meal on the beach, as well as lots of other special little extras which popped up during the week. It made our stay really romantic and personal and was a great touch by the hotel.

The grounds are beautiful and worked on daily, with an army of staff assigned to clean the rooms twice a day and wait on you hand and foot. Nothing is too much trouble. I am suprised by the review below about the service at the hotel as they couldn't have done anything more. They all spoke perfect English, as well as French, German, Swedish and loads of other languages!

My wife and I are vegetarian and were worried about the type and amount of food that was on offer, but we needn't had worried. The buffets in the main restaurant were superb with loads of variety and choice. The Mauritian night was excellent with lots of vegi curries which were really tasty! We had lunch pretty much everyday in the beach restaurant eating fresh cooked pastas and wood fired pizzas. We tried the Thai Nipa restaurant only once, but didn't find the food too great there. Maybe that was due to only having a limited amount of vegi options at this venue but that was too be expected. It wasn't bad at all, but wasn't great!
In the Beach restaurant we sometimes asked for things off the menu and the chefs happily cooked them which was brilliant, so if you are vegi, then this place is perfect! Breakfasts were brilliant and would recommend the pancakes!

I would recommend going all inclusive as otherwise the cost would mount up. £3 for a coke, £9 for a cocktail, £4 for a beer etc. Going AI allows you to do whatever you like.

The beach and sea are lovely and were never busy. All the pools we clean and perfect!

We ended up hiring a car and I would recommend visting the Black River Gorge and Bois Cheri tea plantation which are both within an hour from the resort. We took advantage of the free picnic baskets provided by the hotel for these trips too!

There is not much more to say really! If we had the money again, we would happily spend it at this resort!

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room which has good views over the pools and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatmeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay at lux le morne was more than we ever could have hoped. The height of luxury combined with the stunning location that Mauritius and le morne bring, we had the most lovely time. My only complaint is we couldn't stay longer! Paradise! (I also highly recommend all inclusive, it was fabulous, I returned home very well fed!)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Atomikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose hotel Lux Le Morne for our wedding in paradise. We stayed 10 days here. Invitation was very friendly. All staff was very friendly and smily. We would like to thank our wedding coordinator Manie and young boy (his name is Vegen) with who we spent our wedding dinner. He was very funny and friendly.
Food was excellent. Accomodation was clean and comfortable. Beach and ocean were very close to room. Water in ocean was crystal clear with many fishes. Location is very calm. We heard only birds. There is beautiful view on the mountain Le Morne and on the other side to ocean.
Our wedding and honeymoon at hotel and travelling throught the island Mauricius we enjoyed very much.

Slovakia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
35.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
29.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
38.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
33.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Le Morne

Property: LUX* Le Morne
Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX* Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing