We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wish the Dream never ends when you are at Lux Morne”
Review of LUX Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LUX Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at Lux Morne for 2 nights, on an all inclusive package.
The backdrop, the scenery is stunning.
Food and service outstanding.
The quality of the bedroom is clean and 5*.
We went for lunch at the Beach restaurant, we were greeted by Abiraj an employee at the hotel. He was very friendly and made our lunch experience something to remember.
We thank the friendly staff for their welcome, specially Abiraj.
We will highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: All inclusive package is quite a bargain. Pick a room close to the pool, beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjyoung2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear mjyoung 2501,

Thank you very much for your review; we are very pleased that you enjoyed the experience at LUX* Le Morne. I will certainly congratulate Abiraj on your behalf.

We hope to welcome you again in the future

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 5,156 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Its been a few days since we have been back from a 10night stay at LUX Le Morne and i thought i would write a review to give other Honeymoon couples an idea of our experience. I have broken it down into catagories below to digest much easier....

**ROOMS**

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suit (upgraded for free on arrival from Junior Honeymoon Suit as a surprise from the Hotel). The room was on the 1st floor of a bungalo looking structure...i think the Prestiuge and Junior Suites were located on the ground floor and then Honeymoon Suit upstairs. Anyways, the room wasnt massive by any means...but cute sized. Lots of wooden texture furniture and feel to make you feel closer to nature....lighting very dim and limited to create a relaxed atmosphere i guess...which is nice. The room has a massive bed, big walk in wardrobe, air con, fan, sliding shutters 2 access balcony which was a good size with a ncie view of the beach. nice sofas on balcony and every evening they light a candel out there creating a nice feel. The TV also has a flat screen TV with dvd player which came in VERY handy...as we watched a lot of films which the hotel give free in reception...big library of DVD's they rent for free to guests. Bathroom was more impressive, his/her basin, jacuzzi bath tub and a seperate shower with a nice big showerhead rite overhead. toilet had a seperate closing door so plenty of space for 2ppl to be in at the same time. All in all the room was fine, nothing amazing to be honest...but cute. Dont expect modern flashy furniture and latest gadgets....


**Food**

Ok this review is biased towards vegetarian food so if you eat meat...may want to ignore this part. The first few days we struggled in the otel badly because some veg dish's contained egg and fish sauce/oyster sauce....therefore limiting our options even more. However once the hotel knew we wernt happy....the staff spread the world amongst almost all staff there to look after us in every way possible. We were asked to speak to the chef each morning and tell what we wanted (...litrally anything) and they would make it pure vegetarian for us by dinner time...amazing service! Chef RAVI was superb and very respectful/helpful. They made us Thai, Indian, Italian, English, Chineese food all on request...litrally any dish you can think of they made for us!!! and it was to a high standard...and they also made any dipping sauces for us aswell...very nice touch! we felt really looked after by the hotel after that.

The hotel has x3 restairents (Nipa = Thai, The Beach = Italian/Med & The main Buffet restaurent)

Location of the Thai and Italian is perfectly outdoors under the stars on a nice terrace outside. Service is amazing, nicly light candles...smooth operation of the restaurent...nice feel to it.

In the main Buffet restaurent...they hotel does a different cuisine each day...Mauritian night (saturday with a local dance & song performance), oriental buffet, medetarian buffet and a few others. As always, plenty of options i.e. salads, fruits, desserts,...quite standard for most top hotels.

B'fast wasnt that amazing if im honest....food was very standard. Iv had better b'fast at a Premier Inn hotel in Heathrow. But they do give fresh coconut water and fresh juice....so worth having that.

**Beach**

Amazing long beach this hotel has to offer....not quite white powder sand..but close enough. Lots of nice palm trees on the beach providing perfect shade and giving you the island experience. Hotel offers comfertable sun-beds with head rest and towels on the side so no need to carry a towel card or bring your own...its all set and ready. Only hotel guests can use sun-beds...making it feel private...but any1 is allowed to walk past beach and sit on it....although mainly guests there.

You get few appointed local ppl selling gifts/local crafts on the beach...saving you the journey of buying it from shops 1hr away...price is very good...but still need to haggle. the sea was cold in July but not so bad you cant go in. Nice calm waters as the island is protected by coral reef whihc keeps the deep waves at bay.

The boat house offers activities which are free and few you have to pay for. Free = glass bottom boat, peddle boats, canoes, JET SKI'ing...which i didnt do but wish i did!!! cant believe it was free! Paid = swimming with dolphine...(AMAZING..cost £60pp for 2hrs...but worth it) and few other diving type ones.

**Pools**

The hotel has x3 pools. all were freezing cold and hardly saw any1 use them. the main pool is part of the reception area...some ppl didnt know it was a pool until few kinds jumped in...looks more like a feature of the hotel. the other 2pools are small-ish...have pool bars next to them (..not swimm up to the pool type bars style tho). Wasnt blown away by the pools to be honest...more for kids i guess...who needs a pool when you got the indian ocean.

**Activities/Excursions**

So we booked all our activities through Mauritours (..lady called Sunita greeted us at the hotel the next morning). There is lots you can do in Mauritius but they reccomend 2 main trips...tour of the north to see the capital city and the botanical gardens + few other bits....and a tour of the south (better tour)..where u see a nice hindu temple, a volcanic creater, viewing platform, highest point in mauritius....this tour gives you a good understanding of the country and what it has to offer and its history..worth doing to get a cultural feel of the place). Price was £60 each..8am to 5pm..with lunch...not very steep i guess.

As far as hotel activities go, every morning the "activity team" greet you at breakfast and show you whats on that day. definatly go on a bike tour at 10am...brilliant way to see the local area...tour done by a hotel rep who takes guests out for free on bikes. loved this. They also do yoga, tennis, football...but because we went during low season...these games never happened due to a low head count.

Visit the boat house for all water based activities...as i say...4/5 activities are free for hotel guests...and you HAVE to do the swimming with dolphins trip. Cost £60pp...but WELL WORTH IT! best experience of my life! so close to the hotel...and for 2hrs or so.

**Entertainment**

Each night the hotel lays on entertainment at the main bar area...normally a band or singer. Very good quality performers...shame it was low season and 2/3ppl only watching listening.

Stay near the bar area if you want entertainment...all bar staff are really fun and friendly.

Sat nights in the buffet restaurent they have Mauritian night where they have a "Sega Show" i.e. local dancers perform and sing for about 30mins...quite good for a new experience. Unfortunatly not much else in the way of guest entertainment during evenings...bit of a shame really considering the amazing hotel location on beach.

The hotel in this respect is not for families with kids....its more for ppl who want to get away from busy life and enjoy relaxation and honeymooning :-) There is also nowhere you can go walking distance from hotel for entertainment or food...hotel is isolated on south west coast...hense forcing guests to relax and enjoy their hotel/beach surroundings.


**Grounds**

The hotel is spead accross a long strip of beach in a linear form. all restaurents/main areas easy to access and short walking distances....no buggy required or anything.

Without a shaddow of a doubt...the selling point of this area/hotel is the Le Morne mountain behind the hotel....BREATHTAKING views!!!! if your swimming in the ocean and looking ahead..you see the waves crashing in the indian ocean...and if you turn around....you see this amazing mountain as if its in the garden of the hotel....amazing views! never gets boring looking at it.

**SPA**

The Lux Spa is available on site to use. Depending on your package, you might be entitled to a free massage. We had a 45min free massage...and i swear iv never had a better one in my life. very pricy if you dont have it free....but still worth it. facillities are good...all massage rooms located facing a small water feature to help you relax to the sound of water falling ons tones and a pool area to relax after with extra wide sun loungers and sofas. The steamroom and sauna were free to use...nothing special to be honest...bog standard. Outdoor guest jacuzzi is a bit of a joke! very small and dirty...just thrown in as a selling point but didnt see any1 ever use it...its surrounded by a tall fense so you cant even see anything being outdoors.

**Staff**

Rite so this is where this hotel really excells.....we met some amazing ppl while here and want to give them a special mention as they were so amazing and friendly and amazing human beings. so here goes:

Kavish - Very talented bar-man making great cocktails at the main bar...and kept us entertained the whole time. Even gave us DVD's to watch in our rooms which he burned himself at home especially for us. Very nice and kind guy and great help.

Balee - Also at the main bar...amazing person to talk to...very kind and chatty and full of experience. Makes you feel welcome and good to stay there.

Cindy - The most lovly waitress at the hotel...so kind and professional..she is so polite and fun to talk to...listens to guests and makes good conversation and makes you feel special.

Vic - Great help in our honeymoon...ensured we had good food everyday and that everything was taken care of. A solid member of the hotel staff team and very reliable.

Viccy - Viccy made us feel at ease during our stay, helped us get whatever we want at dinner and a great guy overall. very professional and helpful at all times.

Kiran - kind young barman from South Africa....LOL

Jeetendra - looked after us also at the main bar...really nice guy and very humble. Good barman and very professional and good fun.

Jonathan - this guy is a very talented singer and musican. him and his guitar are going to do big things in the future! sang songs on request...took us on a bike tour....very kind and humble guy...the hotel are lucky to have him..will be famous soon.

Mani - Great help for honeymoon couples...looked after us and talked to us in a nice way...made us feel welcome and catered to all our needs.

Ravi - great chef, very skilled and talented at what he does. can make any dish you want as long as you give enough notice! created a great final mean for us on our last night in a romantic dinner on the beach with a bonfire...loved it!

**Im sorry if i have missed anyone out who we met...me memory is really mad. But all staff were amazing and deserve lots of praise/credit for being professional 24/7.

**Prices**

We were half board....so had to pay for lunch/drinks...and can get VERY EXPENCIVE! a standard sandwich cost £13 which is outragous!! drinks are also expencive...£11 cocktails...£4 beers were better value for money...at least u get a full pint.

But having said that....if your on honeymoon money shouldnt be an issue therefore we didnt mind at all and just drank if we wanted to.

**Overall**

This hotel is geared towards honeymooners. The hotel feels quiet..calm..relaxed...still...and ideal for relaxation. Isolated location and calmind decoration. Very friendly staff...but expencive if not all inclusive!

The geography and the Le Morne definatly sold me this hotel and im glad i went...paradise location!

only reason we went to the South West was because in Winter its the warmest place to go...but i hear North West has more hotels...so your choice depends on time of year aswell.

But i would 100% reccomend this over the St Regis which is next door and looks shabby as hell despite its "recent facelift"...it was empty aswell.

LUX LE MORNE = Paradise experience full of rest and relaxation!!! deffo reccomend it!!!

Room Tip: Lower floors have door entrance straight to the beach...try to be located near the Oasis Pool...very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Amitao,

Unbelievable ! this is top professional report. All readers will love you for it. Its huge ...
Thank you very much for this very comprehensive survey.
I am very happy that Chef Ravi has met with your requirements.
I am also very pleased that you went swimming with the dolphins which is a truly unique experience on this part of the island. Not to be found anywhere else in the world.
I am very proud of your great comments on our people: this is what matters really, and it is good to read how high you think of them.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I cannot sing the praises of the LUX Le Morne resort highly enough, breath-taking views of the Le Morne mountain, a gorgeous beach with a stunning lagoon and above all unbelievably friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I had our honeymoon in the Lux Le Morne resort Mauritius and loved every moment.

Upon arrival we had been allocated the room furthest away from the Le Morne mountain and following a request to move rooms, we were not only accommodated to a room closer to the spectacular view of the mountain but also upgraded to one of the luxury prestige suites (May thanks to the Reception Manager Moonesh).

In terms of the room itself it was absolutely amazing with spectacular views of the Le Morne mountain on one side and doors leading to the beach on the other side. The room was always kept clean (housekeeping cleaned the room twice a day), and there was always a feel of luxury (both an indoor and outdoor shower was a nice touch).

As we were on the all-inclusive package there wasn’t much to complain about regarding food and drink, breakfast/ lunch/ dinner ticked all the boxes; although a greater variety of drinks (particularly cocktails) and food (some sea food particularly Lobster not part of all inclusive package), this is more of a comment than a complaint.

Our favorite aspect of our stay was the interaction and customer service experience with some of the staff at the hotel, we now consider some of the staff at the hotel to be more friends than simply staff.

Moonesh – Reception Manager responsible for our room upgrade and having an overall pleasant stay

Iqbal – Hotel Driver, I cannot praise Iqbals highly enough. Apart from taking us on an excursion to a local market (Quatre Bonne), Iqbal was both our guide and local historian and overall nice guy.

Ruth/ Nicolas – Both Ruth and Nicolas served us at the resort pool/ beach bar and are two of the nicest people you could ever meet. More than just staff these two became our genuine friends

In short we had a wonderful time and would recommend this resort to anyone considering visiting Mauritius on holiday/ honeymoon.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the Le Morne mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBobbLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear C BobbLucas,

Thank you very much for your review.
Thank you for trusting us for your honeymoon, and I am very pleased that we delivered a great experience.
I feel so proud for our Team Members , especially those who have been close to your service. Many organisations claim developping services through their people but for LUX* Resorts we go beyond and MAKE each moment matter. I would say that this is our biggest task as management, and I am pleased that our service culture is real indeed

Wish you a continued very happy life, and hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first trip to Mauritius did not disappoint, staying for two weeks at the Lux Le Morne Hotel was one of the best decisions we have made this year. We had a superior room, which was clean and spacious with an enormous bed and a bathroom that is bigger than my bedroom at home. The food was fabulous but the drinks were really expensive, worth going all inclusive. The staff were exceptional and couldn't be more helpful. We spent a lot of time on the beach and Akshay, one of the beach waiters was amazing, not only did he ensure that we were well stocked with fresh drinks, but he even cleaned my sunglasses.
The spa is well worth a visit, I had two massages with Virginie Magen, it was heaven on earth.
All in all an exceptional hotel in a beautiful location. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Staum P,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy that our Team Members Ashkay and Virginie have given you full satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spent a weekend with my girlfriend at Lux Le Morne. What an hotel and service. Food was great, the charm of the staff, the rooms bedding and beach front access simply amazing. This is an exquisite choice for those who wish to stay in Mauritius. I did not want to leave. Go enjoy for yourself.

Room Tip: Villa on the beach !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SANTOSHAGUIDES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Fantastic and amazing is the way i can descried the wonderful moment at Lux Le Morne. I very appreciate the view from my room. Sham at the Kitchen restaurant welcomed us with his team and even super Prisca at the Beach restaurant is really dynamic. The service and the food was excellent. We really appreciate the visit of the Chef Ravi who came to see us when we were not expecting. Despite his many works he have the time to greet the guest and it was wonderful. The Café Lux team was friendly All went well and it's really unforgettable. We thank every one for this wonderfull day .

Brigitte and Vivien

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Brigitte V

Thank you very much for staying at LUX* Le Morne, and thak you for writing this review.
You are right Prisca is a turbo charged restaurant manager , thank you for honouring our people; Prisca, Sham, Ravi and the others of your recognition.

I am happy they made each moment matter for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 13 amazing nights at this fabulous resort which we chose for our honeymoon on the basis of so many great reviews. We were not disappointed in any way shape or form!

I cannot praise the staff enough. We have both travelled widely and to some lovely places but neither one of us have ever experienced service which was friendly, attentive, yet at the same time entirely unobtrusive. The staff could never do enough for us during our stay. Special mention must go to Jimmy who served us on the beach, Marnie - one of the managers and Teeluck. Our omission of other names is only because we were remiss in writing them down! There was not one member of staff who doesn't deserve such praise.

We upgraded from the superior room to a junior suite and it was beautiful with a fabulous ocean view right by the dive centre (as we are divers, this was a good thing!). Having spoken to others though, the superior rooms are beautiful as well. The ocean view suites are lovely as are the honeymoon suites but I can honestly say that our room was amazing. Only thing I would say is go for a room on the first floor rather than the ground floor as you get lovely views and a little bit more privacy.

We went for the all inclusive option and thank god we did! We worked out our lunch on day one which consisted of a couple of courses and a couple of beers came to over £60. We are also a couple that like a drink or two.... And if you do, it could work out very expensive indeed. Average cost for an alcoholic drink was about £10 and cheapest bottle of wine about £30. There are three restaurant options for dining: The Kitchen (buffet), Nipa (Thai) and The Beach (Italianish!). They are all included on the AI option. You can also have lovely club sandwiches, salads, burgers, sushi etc bout to you but he pool or the beach! Room Service menu is also included on the AI option, you just pay for the tray charge - about £8. It may seem expensive to go AI but it is amazing value for money if you intend having 3 meals a day, soft drinks, coffee, tea, cocktail etc etc!

We booked via Travelbag who gave us a very good deal, far exceeding anything Hayes and Jarvis or other 'reputable' travel agents could offer (over £2000 less).

We dived with easy divers on site and Emmanuel and the team were lovely. This is not the Maldives or the Red Sea though so don't expect it. That doesn't mean the diving isn't lovely though and we came across dolphins, lobsters, turtles and sleeping shark! Diving is very reasonably priced, about £35 per dive if you have all your own kit (which we did).

We hired our own car and did not use the rental car services provided at the hotel (Sixt and Europecar). This saved us a considerable amount of money and was very simple to do. I can recommend Maki Car Rental. Mauritians drive on the same side of the road as us, so there is no need to hire a driver. Just tick the satnav option and go off and explore yourself. Rochester Falls and the zip wire at Casala Park were just two of the highlights!

All in all this was the dream honeymoon we had both dreamed of and even though we were the 'only gays in the village' for the majority of the time, we were treated exactly how we would hope to be - I.e. as any other newly married couple on their honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bluebecks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
38.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,506 reviews
29 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,586 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,431 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,670 reviews
7.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Le Morne

Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range: $275 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX* Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your LUX Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing