We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUXurious !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LUX* Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LUXurious !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our main purpose for this type of holiday is for a good beach, good swimming, quality clean room in a good location and this is what we got.

The grounds were immaculate and even though we only used one pool a few times, they were fabulous. We managed to do some snorkelling which was quite good from the beach. As many people have already said, the dolphin trip is a must and definitley a highlight, which we booked directly with The Boat House next to the Beach Restaurant.
The staff were friendly, the food was very good with an excellent choice, the Thai restaurant was excellent, you need to pre book your table as the restaurant is very popluar, we ate there three times and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We had some lovely long walks along the beach, past the new Regis Hotel and keep walking, round the bay until you see hardly anyone with a spectacular view of the mountains. It usually took us just less than 2 hours (there and back) so take a bottle of water and a hat if its hot. You will also need beach shoes as it can be a bit rough under foot, and I also wore my swim shoes in the sea which I would recommend.

We arrived at the tail end of the cyclone Imelda so our first 4 days were cloud and some rain, but still warm and once the sun came out it was glorious.

There were a lot of children, even though it was out of the school holidays, quite a few children of school age plus babies and toddlers, so ideal of families.

One negative for me personally, I did not like the cats that wandered around the restaurant area begging for food - never had anything like this before from our many visits to 5* hotels around the world.

Having said that, we felt we were in the best location on the island and its also worth noting you should do the south island inland trip to see the natural beauty of the interior.

Room Tip: We were in a Prestige Junior suite at midpoint to the south of the resort - excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blu-iTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX* Le Morne, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Blu-iTT,

Thank you so much for your review; as the General Manager of the resort it is really pleasing to read that: a - you enjoyed the resort (most important) , b- your perception is totally in line with our strategy and the image we want to project.
We are working with the "société protectrice des animaux" to control our cats, and I can assure you it is on top of our agenda list. Too many guests yet do not respect our instructions not to feed them unfortunately, so they enjoy the company.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,701
    452
    98
    30
    5
See reviews for
968
2,717
62
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were part of a large wedding group (30 odd people) and the staff could not have done more to accommodate us. They really were very flexible and thoughtful with such a big group and made everything very easy. The staff are very friendly with good humour and were the key to such an enjoyable stay. We stayed in an Ocean Suite which was lovely at the front over looking the beach, ideal for sunsets and convenient for one of the pools and the main reception area. The room was very comfortable and offered everything we needed.
Lux is not trying to be the best hotel in the world so your expectations are not as high but they did a superb job and made for a brilliant holiday. Sadly I cannot remember all the staff names but there were key staff in each department. The guys at the boat house were really great (Dylan I do remember), many of the restaurant staff and pool staff and always friendly when you walked past them. There is plenty to do in and out of the hotel and I would highly recommend the sunset cruise & swimming with Dolphins (one of the best things I have ever done). Judging by friends who stayed in other hotels, I get the impression Le Morne is one of the best beaches and the mountain makes for a beautiful setting. It also protects the hotel from the wind. A great hotel and congratulations to the manager and the staff.

Room Tip: If you can get Ocean Suite 114, it has the best position for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX* Le Morne, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear RMHH,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that such an important moment for you, your family and friends has been really enjoyable. I congratulate you for having done the sunset cruise and the swimming with the dolphins; both activities are really unique at Le Morne.
I can anticipate a surge in requests for Ocean Suite 114 :), thankfully we have 15 Ocean Suites with equally good position.
I will certainly pass on your compliments to Dylan, the Boat House and the hotel Team
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed at the lux for one week at the at the end of April to attend our friends wedding and had a fabulous time there from start to finish.the hotel itself was set in wonderful grounds which were kept immaculate by the gardening staff .we upgraded are room and went for the all inclusive package which i would recommend as it was well worth the money.the rooms are excellent cleaned daily and the beds turned down every night ,there is also a chap that comes and restocks the mini bar daily .the food served at the lux is excellent a buffet style breakfast is available and has a huge selection of hot and cold breakfast options.we had traveled as a group of eight so there was something to suit everyones taste.at lunch time we ate at the main restaurant , at the beach restaurant and also had snacks round the pool again the food really good but you may have a little wait at the beach as it gets quite busy.in the evening the main restaurant offered a buffet style main meal which was themed a few nights a week , again very good and plentiful ,we used the beach and nippa restaurants a couple of times but you have to book in advance but again definitely worth trying.
The pool and beach areas are amazing during are stay there ,though the lux was full it never felt like it was that busy in these areas, pool towels are laid out on the sun loungers every morning and the waiters are never to far away if you require a drink. snorkeling around the beach is good but it is worth wearing beach shoes as there is quite a bit of corral about.
As i said earlier the reason we were at the lux was are friends wedding , this was handled by the hotels wedding coordinator Manie who was an absolute credit to the lux .we met her the morning we arrived and straight away we knew that everything would run smoothly for the wedding, nothing was a problem for her .
the actual wedding itself was great ,my friends opted to get married on the beach which was a beautiful setting with the mountain in the background and then in the evening have a bbq on the beach which again was amazing and would definitley recommend it if you are thinking of getting married over there
I do not know the percentage of guests that return to the lux after there first visit but we are all in agreement that it is the only hotel we would consider for are next trip to mauritius
I would like to end this review by thanking a few people that helped our holiday run so smoothly,firstly the staff of summertime especially danni you sorted out are friends paper work for there wedding with the offcials in port louis and the chap who drove us there both a credit to there company,berti and his team of waiters from the pool bar who made us feel very welcome, during are stay ,bali and his staff in the main bar who again made us feel right at home ,Manie who did such a wonderful job of my friends wedding and to all the other hard working staff that we met while we were there who always had a smile on there faces they are all a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

my husband and i stayed here in March 2012. absolutely fabulous! we paid extra to upgrade to a beach front room. was worth every penny in my view (it made a great holiday a brilliant one!) it is paradise and more. The only problem is....it sets a high standard for future hotels.
the minibar in the room is well stocked up twice daily with an assortment of wine and drinks! plus crisps,chocolate, nuts, sweets....
we found it definitely worth going all inclusive also as food and drink are not cheap and there is nowhere easily accessible to go out and eat or drink as it is tucked away which helps with the tranquility it projects.
staff were fantastic and overall everywhere was spotless!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaS1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

March 2012 what a fantastic hotel and rooms on to beach best ever.A really 5star hotel all staff could not do enough for you to make stay very special. Food was fantastic from ever restaurant day and nite. Spa treatments best ever. We stayed ten nites most woundful place ever to stay. Horse riding down beach is a must to do its bookable just down road from hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade for beach room well worth money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get married in Lux Le Morne over the Easter and quite literally had the time of our lives! The hotel is beautiful and the service and kindness of the staff is exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. Our wedding coordinator Manni was fantastic - she ensured that our special day was as perfect as possible! We stayed in the honeymoon suite which we found very comfortable, the food was good and the beach and water sports on offer were ideal for a romantic get away. We cannot recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough and would love to return asap. We would like to thank Vic, Vishan, Rocco, Deepa and Akshay for making it such an amazing experience for us. We hope to see you all very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyandAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The moment your arrive the Staff are there to welcome you, they make you feel very Special. Our room perfect straight onto the beach, it was clean and tidy and spacious. In the Kitchen Restaurant was a Buffet with themed nights and the food was most enjoyable
We had some trips around Mauritius Black River Gorge etc and Rum Factory most enjoyable, catamaran to see Dolphins, The highlight was Casella Safari Park (walking with Lions what an experience) 10 days comes to and end too quickly. Looking forward to coming back.
Rick & Jen

Room Tip: Room 163 straight onto the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardandJenny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
35.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
28.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
38.5 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
32.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Le Morne

Property: LUX* Le Morne
Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your LUX* Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX* Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing