We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding of my dreams”
Review of LUX* Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LUX* Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding of my dreams”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Got married at Lux le Morne, they made my dream come true.

Not only the hotel is just magnificent but Mandy (the wedding coordinator) made it even better.

We organized our wedding from back home (in France) and once arrived everything was smooth and easy to finalize. The wedding ceremony was just perfect with no flaws, the diner menu, the wedding cake, my flowers, my hair, my make up, even the wedding rise thrown at us was organized.

With no hesitation would I recommend to anyone to get married at the Lux Le Morne.

Room Tip: Everything is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX* Le Morne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Laura N,

We are so happy that your wedding was amazing: Manie will be very proud to know that you have loved her services; she does put her heart in it as we know how important it is for you to go back with wonderful memories.

We wish you all the best in your new life as a couple,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,961
    465
    103
    31
    5
See reviews for
1,038
2,874
64
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have spent every Easter here since 2010. The resort is gorgeous, with beautiful birds, flowers and plants everywhere. Peaceful and quiet, you relax while listening to the birds and the breeze in the palm trees. The beach is lovely, the pools beautiful. The staff is professional, kind, efficient and always friendly and calm. The food is delicious. The restaurants (especially the Beach) are romantic. This is a perfect place for anyone looking to relax, and to really feel like you are in a tropical paradise. Also great for well- behaved children who will find that the Kids club (The Play) is full of very caring staff, even the youngest guest seem eager to go and stay at the club. The Spa is 5 Star, with terrific staff able to adapt to your every need and even kindly work around your last minute requests. Highly recommend that you pre-serve for a massage on the morning of your arrival; trust me after 90 minutes on your morning of arrival, you go to lunch feeling like you have been on vacation already a few days. The Fitness very good as well. If you need any advice, Vicky at the reception is the best! The management is ever present and always there to assist as well; we made the mistake of trying another hotel for the second half of our 2 week vacation this year… we stayed one hour at the other hotel and then called them for help. Within the next hour they had organized everything and we were back in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our 4th holiday in Mauritius and it was definitely the best yet.

The resort is beautifully maintained and the service we received was fantastic. In fact this is what makes it better than our last trip, to Le Touessrok, - the personal service we received.

Many times we'd be welcomed into the restaurant by name and in this respect, Alain, the restaurant manager deserves great praise. He'd keep the same table for us in the buffet restaurant every day, he'd ask us in the morning if our children would like something special cooked for them instead of that evening's buffet (they had steak and chips and pizza while we enjoyed the lovely Asian buffet).

Nothing seemed too much trouble and the really lovely thing is that this sort of service was offered without us having to ask.

Another example of this was on our day of departure. We had a very early start (3am) and, before leaving, the staff asked if we would like breakfast. Expecting just a croissant, we walked into the restaurant to see almost the entire buffet ready for us and the chef waiting just in case we wanted some eggs!

There are 3 restaurants and they are all very good. The only gripe we had was as all inclusive we would have to pay extra in the Thai restaurant for seafood dishes. It made no sense as the same massive prawns were part of the seafood buffet later in the week (no extra charge). Overall, the food we had was excellent.

The beach and grounds are beautiful and our kids loved the pools.

If, like me, you are a windsurf/ kitesurf nut, then some of the best conditions in the world are just a 10 minute walk away. I windsurfed at Club Mistral every day and having this sort of luxury so close to my favourite sport was very special.

The only bit of advice I would give the hotel is this - make the movie night a bit better! They do a movie on the beach where a cinema screen is installed and people sit on the beach loungers and beanbags. We saw this in the brochure before going and thought it'd be perfect as it mentioned "kids classics". Well it was only once a week (maybe more often please!) and there were no movies suitable for our kids to watch so they were a bit disappointed.

Overall, we had a great holiday and will definitely be returning to Lux Le Morne

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent many hours researching the perfect location for our first visit to Mauritius and having just returned, I think i got it right.
I'll keep the review short as so much has already been said by others.
First the good points:
The hotel is in a gorgeous place with a magnificent beach that's sheltered by a reef for great swimming.
It's fairly small(less than 200 rooms) and was only 2/3 occupied during our stay.
The beach staff were great( particulatly Anjesh, Vishan and Bertie) as were the restaraunt staff.
Food was really good particularly in the main restaraunt(the kitchen), but also in Nipa and the Beach -loads of choice and as a vegetarian, I was well catered for.
The Gym was good and Oliver the personal trainer is fantastic and a really nice guy.
My wife thought her spa treatments were excellent.
The all inclusive was easy to understand and reasoably comprehensive - most drinks and all ice creams included.
It's the first holiday we've had where my wife has been prepared to go back there again!
Lots of computers with free internet access.
Free phone calls home!

The negatives:
Yes the prices in the hotel are very expensive-cheese and tomato panini and chips £15!
You really should take the all inclusive option and then the costs become irrelevant.
There was no reductions made for any non included items (eg the price for the Party Night dinner was the same whatever board basis you were on)
No rowing machine in the gym

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stitchWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Mine and my partners first time anywhere like this and it was a memory that will stay with us forever. The thing with places like this is that they really do justice to the way you imagine them to be. Couldn't fault the appearance and maintenace of the resort. Absolutely wonderful scenery and if you are looking for somewhere to relax and forget everything this is the place for you. The food was wonderful, we were all inclusive and never failed to find something we wanted, breakfast was wonderful. There was plenty of choice at lunch and dinner too. The drinks list as part of the all inclusive is very extensive and you would not need to spend anything extra if you took that option.

On the whole the staff were good, there is a fault that does need to be addressed though. At times the service can be agonisingly slow. It is however on the whole very very good, it's also possibly a way of life and the hot climate, everyone seems to take it that step slower and I do not blame them for that. The best tip that I could give would be to make sure you get someones attention as soon as you think you need some service because you will often be left waiting for a little longer than ideal if you dont do this. The manners and service were very good though despite this so get to know the people who serve you and you will be well looked after rather than frustrated.

The room we stayed in was the basic room and it was more than comfortable. The rooms were always clean and the whole place is spotless. This resort is very well catered for activities but it is worth mentioning that if you are hoping to see something of local life this is a remote location that doesnt have a lot else going on around the resort. I would happily return one day for a relaxing holiday. I would recommend this to someone wanting a remote peaceful holiday where they wanted to feel luxury also. There are plug sockets on the beach and wifi was getting picked up in the sea for example, but it never felt like I was somewhere other than a peaceful retreat. Ideal for honey mooners, great for people wanting to relax and unwind. Kids would be happy with the pools and very safe. On the whole a wonderful experience and after flying for around about 12 hours plus transfers etc walking through the foyer and out onto the resort felt like it was more than worth the journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels that we have ever had the opportunity to stay in. We visited in April, 2013 and had a very relaxing honeymoon experience. The food in terms of both quality and choice is excellent with the executive chefs on hand at all times to rustle up anything extra which you may require. The hotel organised Creole and Seafood evenings which whilst we paid extra for, are both thoroughly recommended. The whole complex has a very relaxed feel and the location on the beach is simply WOW. The staff were very user friendly and they couldn't have done anything more to make out stay more perfect. We stayed in a junior prestige suite which was very luxurious and decorated with a colonial feel. The gardens and grounds were immaculate. Our suite was located just a step away from the beach with plenty of available loungers including our own personal double sun lounger located on our patio. The sea is crystal clear and very warm which makes it ideal for snorkelling within the lagoon. Kayaking, sailing, windsurfing, tennis, gym, spa, steam room, sauna, infinity pools and a jacuzzi are all available to keep you fully occupied. We also hired a car to visit the capital Port Luis and returned via the picturesque national park. We cannot wait to return to paradise!

Room Tip: Room 263 was ideally located for the beach restaurant and the watersports booth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorsfordAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have, as a family of five, stayed many times in Mauritius, but this was our first visit to the south west and the Lux le Morne. It certainly will not be our last. As a family of grandparents, parents and 1 child all our requirements were catered for. The beach and surrounding scenery are spectacular. The hotel itself has everything you could ask for, friendly and attentive staff, always ready with a smile.
Although the hotel was 95% full at the time of our stay, over Easter, you never had to fight for a seat anywhere. One small complaint there were not enough bean bags on the beach, but I understand that more have been ordered so this should not be an issue in the future.
We had a tropical storm during our stay and even this was catered for by the huge umbrellas in each dressing room.......yes there is a dressing room, not just a wardrobe, heaven for any woman! Haveing a separate toilet in the bathroom was another bonus and the bathroom itself was very large.The rooms and veranda are very comfortable if you have time to be in them! Food was excellent and each night you will be spoiled for choice. Thank you to Lux le Morne for a lot of happy memories, even my granddaughter dancing the in ocean with her pale blue umberella.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb, all beach facing and if you have to walk a little way, it is through palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX* Le Morne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Nancy S,

Thank you so much for your review; I did not realize how popular will be those bean bags ! They are indeed and more are on the way.
Helping people to celebrate life is our purpose: The vision of your granddaughter dancing in the ocean under her pale blue umbrella will probably remain forever as a unique moment in your heart; we feel proud and honoured to have contributed.
We wish you and your family all the best, and shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
35.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,245 reviews
29.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,437 reviews
33.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Le Morne

Property: LUX* Le Morne
Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your LUX* Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX* Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing