We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent celebration of our birthdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
LUX* Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent celebration of our birthdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

excelent hotel and personal, super nice and cosy rooms,beach and service at the beach, very rich choose of beverages in all inclusive packet, for example good rhums and armagnac, gin and various coctails, also very good wines from south africa and also france,chile and other wine region.One disadvantage is, when you have all inclusive packet and you want to dine some special offer, you must pay extra the whole price of dinner, without any reduction, for example 50% .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frantisek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,798
    459
    98
    30
    5
See reviews for
992
2,775
62
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at the LUX Le Morne resort recently before flying back home.
The beach is truly beautiful; it has clear waters, room to paddle in, and is endless. There are lots of loungers available. The Le Morne Mountain adjacent to the resort adds to the beauty of the beach.

With it being a UNESCO heritage site, the natural fauna and flora in the resort has been preserved and you can hear the night-time chorus of the animals as you drift to sleep. The sunset is the most beautiful on the entire island.

This is a place to do nothing and relax. It is quiet and private and has no disco – night entertainment; hence it lends itself to the discerning guest. Our accommodation was an all-inclusive Prestige Ocean Suite. The room was luxurious, with an extra outdoor rock shower, and a sea-facing double sun lounger and terrace. The amenities were ample. The bed with its special Sleeptight mattress unique to LUX Island Resorts is incomparable. We had the best night’s sleep during our stay. The housekeeping was excellent; rooms were made up twice a day. At night, the bed is turned down and an oil lamp is lit filling the room with an exotic fragrance.

The food at the restaurants was of high calibre; however service at the restaurants is relaxed. On average it takes one hour for lunch (a Panini at the Kitchen) and two hours for a three course meal (at the Beach Restaurant.)

We had treatments at the Spa. I highly recommend their Signature Island Style massage. Also we had a short free fitness session with the fitness coach, we found it rewarding. If we were staying longer we would definitely have booked more sessions with the excellent fitness trainer.

The hotel has all the great facilities that it has inherited from Les Pavillions and the Le Morne landscape. However at times the service lacked warmth, particularly at Front Office. I would like to mention a special thank you to Abhi at the Beach Restaurant, who was always efficient & cheerful.

A gorgeous hotel, but your experience will depend on the consistency of the service received.

Room Tip: Prestige Ocean Suite #271 is located at furthest end of hotel, next to the Children’s Play area. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BohemianDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lux Le Morne offered us a real dream holiday! The hotel is fabulous in every kind of way: the rooms offer a spacious place to relax, a nice terrace, a big bathroom with tub and big shower, etc. The beachside is cosy and the service from the bar personnel is excellent. At the beach you can enjoy a tour with the cano, do some waterskiïng, etc. The food is excellent and offers a good variety, definitely try the tiramisu! Go all inclusive, because the all inclusive package is heaven: all drinks are included, even for example a good Schotch or Gin, & then you can also enjoy the food at lunch time in restaurant the Beach! As for excursions we can really recommend Eric from Philo Boat to go and swim with the dolphins, he really is the best of all the present boats. Thanks again to my husband for this lovely vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 05111985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I came on holiday for a 10 day break with my mum and my brother. Although it is mostly couples enjoying their honey moon, I felt we were treated even better than the rest. The staff make you feel as though you're the only people on the island. We'd get up in the morning and go down to the beach where the waiters would make us the fruit cocktails we liked and bring them to the sun loungers. The food was amazing and we attended a Mauritian cooking class which was so great. The chef was hilarious and made everyone laugh and the food tasted amazing. We had a wonderful holiday here, learning to sail, getting treated to local dances.
The only negative was that we came in August and even though it was hot, it was quite windy and overcast in the afternoon. The mornings were clear blue sky and sea, white sand and surrounded in gorgeous scenery. I would recommend to anyone! We also went on a day trip to watch dolphins where we were treated to a cooked meal on the boat with fresh sea food and emerged ourselves in the local culture. One thing I would remember was to take money out with us because we didn't realise the local etiquette and would have felt they deserved a more than generous tip however we didn't have any cash on us. Amazing holiday which will never be forgotten!

Room Tip: Every room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a vacation to remember, we wanted to get away from it all... stay at a nice place and eat good food. This hotel ticked all the boxes in our vacation plans. We stayed at in an ocean view room on the ground floor and were rewarded with beautiful sunsets, views of kite surfers on an adrenalin rush ... lovely evenings out on the deck. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

A few things for people to make a note when they come here... this hotel is located at the near southern tip of the island and far away from most civilization (the key appeal) so either make sure you have your travel planned out in case you are doing the tourist thing else the staff can help with renting a car/ bike depending on your needs.

Second, please take a meal plan in case you aren't going to travel much... we only had the breakfast in our plans and regretted it later as lunch / dinner work out to 1500 MUR each mean in case you eat at the hotel. There is a small alternative restaurant that is run by the hotel itself at one end on the outside near the public beach which has very reasonably priced meals like fried rice etc ... but it closes at 4pm. There are 3 different restaurants in the hotel apart form a bar for those looking to indulge.

The beach at the hotel is very nice with the swimmable portion outlined clearly with buoys. Water sports are part of the hotel package but you need to book in advance at the boathouse. The pools are lovely and the hotel itself is quite beautiful...

Overall, very worth the money .. a most relaxing experience

Room Tip: There are rooms which face the pools and those that have a deck out to the beach or are on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderin_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lux* Le Morne enjoys a good position on the quieter side of the island, which is one of the most prominent reasons I would recommend my friends to stay at this resort. You don’t see much development in the area but locals who would spend time by the roadside, with suburban neighborhood and people are simple yet happy. It’s definitely a scene of authentic Mauritian lifestyle that you’re about to experience. Another thing worth mention is the sunset at the hotel. As it is west facing, you are sure to catch a glimpse of the most beautiful sunset on the island. True enough, my best sunset view throughout the days I spent in Mauritius was exactly at Lux* Le Morne.

The choice of restaurants offer delicious island-inspired dishes, ranging from Mauritian, Mediterranean, Italian to Thai. Do also try the delicious South African Wines produced by Scrucap specially selected by the wine expert, Kent Scheermeyer.

-Dorothy Jen
12fly Travel Host& Writer
Malaysia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A last minute decision to go to Mauritius I decided to try the Lux Le Morne, I was so pleasantly surprise to experience 3 great days at this resort which i find to be in one of the best part of this beautiful Island. The service was excellent , the Staff very welcoming just like only Mauritius can do, the food very pleasant but could be improved on with more selection, the beach beautiful white sand and well kept and clean, the room i stayed in was absolutely perfect with a fair view of the beach.

Room Tip: Please make sure to request a room on the ground floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
35.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
29.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
38.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
33.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Le Morne

Property: LUX* Le Morne
Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX* Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing